Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 November 2014
Music for insomniacs. 61 minutes of the quietest "plink/plonk music". I use this and THE PEARL and AMBIENT 2 (both HAROLD BUDD & ENO) more than any other music when going off to sleep or when lying awake during the night. Set the cd timer, set the volume to minimal an listen hard. Whilst concentrating on the music I find I do drift off, or at least don't worry about being awake.

Other cds for insomnia I find helpful:

Budd: ABANDONED CITIES; AVALON SUTRA; THE ROOM
Budd / John Foxx: DRIFT MUSIC; TRANSLUCENCE.

Thanx for reading and goodnight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
It is one of the best of Eno's totally ambient records.Never boring,but relaxing at the same time.You can immerse yourself in it,or let it gently influence your mood in the background.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2009
This album has really grown on me over the years.

When I first listened to it, I suppose I was hoping for more sort of 'situational ambient', as in hanging around Terminal 5, or maybe 'elemental ambient' - on land - but instead this is 'temporal ambient'. And, I suppose, at the time I didn't particularly like Thursday afternoons, a sort of in-between time, after mid-week, but before the expectations of Friday.

Maybe my perceptions of Thursday afternoons have changed, but I now love this album.

Unlike the other ambient albums, this is just one lengthy track. This allows you to immerse yourself in it fully, loosing a sense of time, the expectations of 'the next track'. But, and this is the weird and wonderful thing about this album, the music always seems to be just on the edge of change, always about to break into something else. There is a huge sense of expectation all the way through that stops you simply falling asleep but is, at the same time, both relaxing and stimulating.

Thursday Afternoon is not like the (other) ambient albums. Apart from being just one track, it also somehow delivers a different ambience, a refreshing, anticipatory, open sound. And Thursday afternoons have never been quite the same since.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
It's layered, subtle changes in tone seep slowly into the composition, which centres around repeated piano chords.
Thursday afternoon is essentially one song for an hour, so there isn't much that happens here (in an obvious way), but the same could be said for lying in a field and looking at the stars.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2003
When asked why he had produced an uninterrupted 61 minute piece of music Eno replied 'Because I can now!', referring of course to the newly created CD technology that allowed him to record a digitally clean piece with exceptionally low frequency passages without any need for interruption.
Thursday Afternoon represents Eno's first foray into what he terms 'holophonic' music, i.e. any section of the piece is representative of the whole, there is no development as such and the sounds, fragments and tonal structure remain the same throughout. The piece was assembled from a number of loops, each repeating at a different rate so that a near-infinite number of variations are allowed to occur.
This is all well and good and there are sufficient new ideas here to make the exercise worthwhile, and indeed one would rightly expect a master theorist like Eno to pull it off, but sadly there simply isn't enough variety in the loops to sustain the interest for an hour. The piece lacks one of Eno’s key tools which is melody. Like or not Eno is a supreme melodicist and it is this which is sorely missed here.
Ultimately, it works fine at a less than ambient level but sadly it is a case of the concept outweighing the final product.
44 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
a classic Brian Eno album one long track which was perfect for the new cd medium when this music was recorded. Eno is a fav musician of mine and this is one of his best recordings - 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Nothing I can say can add to what has been said about this seminal piece of chill out music. He started this thing so if you are into relaxing ethereal music then this is a masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
This is just a remastered version of the original CD in plain red book format
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
It's Brian Eno... Oh yes and fab service thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2010
This is NOT an SACD - it's an ordinary CD! My CD/SACD player's readout confirms it's a CD - and it sure doesn't sound like an SACD, either.

A remastered CD - actually the same version/package? - is also available on Amazon.co.uk for considerably LESS cost. Also, copy/paste the ASIN - B0007GFFV6 - into Amazon.com's 'search' and it reveals the same product but without mention of SACD in the product description, only 'CD'.

I've informed Amazon.co.uk of its error. And one month later, its only response, thus far, has been to raise the price!!??

Nonetheless, Thursday Afternoon is still a wonderful piece of music.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)