Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, organic, romantic and nostalgic masterpiece
If you have just stumbled across the now classic Eno Ambient series and were wondering which one to try, look no further. I own 10 Eno discs and to me this is the most evocative and engaging. The album created a feeling of growth and emergence right from the opening track, 'Lizard Point'.

Dunwich Beach, Autumn, 1960 is my favourite painting a picture of...
Published on 23 Sept. 2008 by James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
:)
Published 3 months ago by Andrew Ashton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Exploring a desolate landscape., 4 April 2000
By A Customer
Whereas a lot so-called 'ambient' music aspires to inducing a mood of relaxation, this album has an overwhelming atmosphere of brooding menace, as if the listener is in some kind of sonic wasteland. My only disappointment is that the final track sounds so much like an excerpt from a longer piece, with its fades in and out - should have been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars solemn, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
Ok as background music even though I llike Brian Eno. His album Apollo was the first I bought after hearing a vinyl recording at a friends. Worth buying to be played in the background whilst doing other things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 23 July 2013
By 
M. Chapman "Michael Mouse" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
I love this cd and especially appreciate the remaster as it lets the quietest nuances "out" and into the aural space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
I bought it for a friend and she was delighted. Good sound quality, well packaged. Would order similar again without doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gem, 16 April 2015
By 
Cristian (Slobozia, Romania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
What can I say about this gem ??? It inspired me to draw this !!! I strongly recommend this CD to everyone !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of Ambient Music............, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
Like all of Brian Eno's ambient albums, this is pure quality from start to finish, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, ambient and beautiful!, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
Highly evocative and dark music. Eno found his stride with this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little cracker, 27 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
I have only recently found the Eno/ Budd ambient and am busy snapping up this and that by either or both of them. On land's menacing air is great. I don't want a pillow of winds all the time and this isn't exactly a bed of nails anyway. More engine oil than essential oil maybe but marvellous all the same. stay cool won't you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 April 2015
By 
Andrew Ashton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars waste of money!!, 4 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Ambient 4/On Land (Audio CD)
Iam new to brian eno,ive previously bought ambient 2 and apollo both of which are great.Ambient 4 to me is just dull,i know ambient music can be quiet minimal but i felt this was rediculous, no real structure,no nothing. Even on repeated listening it doesnt improve for me. This album has put me off trying any more brian eno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ambient 4/On Land
Ambient 4/On Land by Brian Eno (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews