Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing drift of sound--great for spacing out
Nearly everyone who uses a computer is familiar with at least one piece of Eno's work; he wrote the little 3 second Windows booting-up music for Microsoft.
This album is a perpetual favorite, one of the New Age genre classics. Divided into 4 sections ("1/1," "2/1," "1/2," and "2/2"), it soothes the listener with repetitive piano and synthesizer motifs, and adds the...
Published on 18 Mar 2004 by Joanna Daneman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Music for Airports
Eno's influence on modern music cannot be over-emphasized and this CD was a during move at the time. No serious pop-artistiek had tried this before and he put ambient music in the limelight. Personally, I think this is the kind of music I would not sit down and listen to for, but it's nice background music which it was intended for in the first place anyway.
Published 3 days ago by Hans Westerlaken


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing drift of sound--great for spacing out, 18 Mar 2004
By 
Joanna Daneman (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Music for Airports (Audio CD)
Nearly everyone who uses a computer is familiar with at least one piece of Eno's work; he wrote the little 3 second Windows booting-up music for Microsoft.
This album is a perpetual favorite, one of the New Age genre classics. Divided into 4 sections ("1/1," "2/1," "1/2," and "2/2"), it soothes the listener with repetitive piano and synthesizer motifs, and adds the color of chimes and vocals. This is the "ambient" music style, something to play while you need to concentrate, perhaps, or to relax or go to sleep by. I can also recommend the newer "Glitters is Gold" which also has non-linear music of this type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's AMBIENT. You're not supposed to listen to it!, 30 Oct 2002
By 
You don't go to an airport to listen to music. Don't buy this album to listen to it, or you're missing the point. The point is it's "ambient", in the true and original sense of the word -- it must be allowed to just be there, around you, flowing gently in and out of your consciousness.
Like some of the reviewers here, I am used to music being in the foreground. I used to think "if it's not interesting enough to hold my attention, it's not worth having". Music For Airports changed that view. Truly ambient music serves a different purpose.
It neither wants nor needs your full attention, and if you give your full attention you will be bored and disappointed. If, on the other hand, you put it on and forget about it, you will notice it occasionally and, just maybe, you will fall in love with its beauty and simplicity without ever knowing why. You might even have to fall asleep to appreciate it, but perhaps that's right too. It's music for the unconscious mind, and it remains one of the best, most timeless examples of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal Thunder, 29 Feb 2000
By 
Mr. A. Pomeroy (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A (very) quiet revolution on release, 'Music for Airports' is considered something of an ambient classic nowadays. As such, it's not bad - a neat manifesto that, in forty-five minutes, begats, explores, and exhausts the entire genre. It's hampered by a lack of refinement (the first three songs sound like sub-mixes of a larger piece), and it has a slightly tragic legacy (witness countless subsequent sample-mad musicians trying to mask a lack of effort as 'ambient'). Still, it sounds timeless today. If you like this check out 'Apollo', which is much the same, with the addition of slide guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why don't we play this at airports?, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Deven Gadula (san francisco, ca, united states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Such a great idea, to play this music at airports, bus terminals, train stations. Who knows, perhaps a taxi company playing mellow repetitive music of Brian Eno in their cars would be a success... There was a time in my life when I needed to develop some distance between myself and music. That space was filled by Brian Eno's ambient albums, and Music For Airports is one of my favorite Brian Eno's albums, next to Thursday Afternoon, On Land, Bell Studies For The Clock Of The Long Now, Music For Films, Neroli, Discreet Music and Apollo Atmospheres And Soundtracks. If you like ambient music of this nature here is what else I would recommend; Jean-Michell Jarre -En Attendant Cousteau (title song only); James Johnson & Robert Scott Thompson - Forgotten Places; Kuhlman Rehberg Mense - The Sunken Road; Klaus Schulze - Irrlicht; Labradford - E Luxo So; Dead Texan; James Johnson & Steven Philips - Lost At Dunn's Lake; Pete Namlook & Tetsu Inoue - 2350 Broadway 3; Pete Namlook - Air 2; Recycle Or Die; Labradford - Mi Media Naranja; Klaus Schulze - Body Love; Zoviet France - Shouting At The Ground; Wiese Klaus - El-Hadra; Vidna Obmana & Sal Rosenthal - Terrace Of Memories; Gavin Bryars - Sinking Of Titanic; Alio Die & Mathias Grassow - Expanding Horizon; Popol Vuh - Hosianna Mantra; Harold Budd - Pavilion Of Dreams; Sigur Ros (..); Aphex Twin - Selected Ambient Works Volume 2; David Sylvian - Approaching Silence; Rapoon - The Kirghiz Light; Ultra Milkmaids - V/S Part 1; as well as many other albums where elements of great ambience are just part of equation; Godspeed You Black Emperor - Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven; Harold Budd & Eraldo Bernocchi - Music For Fragments From The Inside; Pieter Nooten & Michael Brook - Sleeps With The Fishes; the music of Craig Armstrong (The Space Between Us and As If To Nothing), John Serrie (Planetary Chronicles and The Stars Go With You); Vangelis (1492, Conquest Of Paradise and The City and many others). Oh well, I guess I have given you a few recommendations. Please return the favor, because you can clearly see what ambient music I like...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds for doing everything and nothing, 3 Aug 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 1: Music for Airports (2009) (Audio CD)
Dull? Possibly- depends at which life stage. If it had been played to me at 16 I may have seen it as dull but then again I enjoyed listening to Neukoln, Weeping wall, Warzawa and Sense of Doubt. This lacks the gravitas of the Bowie collaboration. It is music to mark on an inward retreat as it echoes in the background lluminating worlds of glass, steel, concrete, aluminium and light. Large spacious modernist hauls brimming with tension as the aeroplane waits for no one. Tickets, Passport, luggage and hope in the heart as new continents are traversed. This is music to soothe the stress, copied repeatedly within the new age market, music to soothe a furrowed brow.

It changes atmosphere in the same way light can emotionally colour a room. This enacts the same dynamics with sound- a type of modern classical template. If you want hih energy look elsehwere, this drifts on clouds and saunters in the air an antidote to the radio with its machine production rhythms, this just drifts, perfect for someone who has time to spare rather than be measured
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding music: delicate, subtle and profoundly effective, 2 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This is a colossal achievement; rarely is music so powerfully evocative and at the same time so unobtrusive. It has greater depth than more recent ambient compositions and its structure is reassuringly simple. It can be as important a part of your home as your furniture; leave it on in the background or sit and make an effort to listen to it - in both situations, listening to "Music for Airports" is an incredibly rewarding experience. Whether working, relaxing or socialising, this CD is _the_ essential accompaniment to modern lifestyles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 14 Nov 2004
This is an album of beauty. The sound is simple, something to be put on in the background whilst reading a book or magazine, you let it flow through you without noticing it, then every now and then, maybe a key or rythmic change, you lift your head and realise what great music you're listening to. This is ambient from the old school, one track in particular sounds dated with synths playing a heavy role, but it is no less great than the other 3. Fans of Godspeed you black emperor! or silver mt. zion, tangerine dream and the others will find much to listen to here. I am unsure, however, of the differences between this and the "import" version. They both claim to have the same tracks, yet one is more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallpaper Music, 16 Aug 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A disturbing quiet and reflective calm music album, like wallpaper music .....its there, some will like and some will not. It's a rather uninteresting album and the more so by its absence of beats or attention grabbing instrumentation, but I none the less would not want to be without this album. Its highly original, imaginative, reflective and as interesting as it is obscure. This CD will always be in my top 100 and will always remain at position #100. There are many better titles about now, but this is the 'original'...and who would not want this one in their collection! Munt1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and best ambient album, 24 Nov 2000
This is probably not for everyone, but to me this is hauntingly beautiful music. I read that people didn't like it when it was played in a real airport, but I think it would sound great in those vast spaces, filled with people busying themselves waiting. It's pretty sparse stuff: the tracks contain little more than piano loops, female voices going "aaaaah", or both. You might say it's boring and repetitive. I'd say, "so is a crystal."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different to experience, 24 Jan 2003
By 
fields21 "fields21" (Hoogerheide, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This is music not aimed at singing along, rocking out loud or at headphone listening. (Though the latter is very possible). This is music wih a strong time element: you listen, you carry on , you return and you listen again. You flow in/flow out whilst the music carries on. As such, it is not aimed at suprising you, stimulating or aimed at getting under your skin. On the onset - it sounds extremely boring, so you flow out (exactly the aim of the musician). After, your attention flows back, etc & you're aware that the music is still there & you check: is it still the same? Not really, something has changed a little, but what? You give up, only to return with the same questions. Thus, the music captivates you and yet it doesn't.
It has its own strong mood - it will get to you in the end. Treat it as a piece of furniture - it is in your room but you will fail to notice it untill you sit down. Extraordinary - a great example of what one can do with 'atmosphere' and how music can 'surround' people.
Still, most people will probably not label it as 'music', but more as 'sound'. This technical diffrence is besides the point.
There's an artist, there instruments, there are notes; all out to play you. Interesting, influential (film music, synthesizer music etc). Brian Eno's ability with 'sound' made him a top producer (U2) many years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ambient 1: Music for Airports (2009)
Ambient 1: Music for Airports (2009) by Brian Eno (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews