Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly very useful
Really useful item, and very easy to use. Enables all six out of eight sockets to be switched off at one click; the other two are on permanently. The only weakness is that the earth pins of the sockets face one another and the sockets are a little close together. This means that where there is a power supply built into a plug (eg for an external hard drive or speakers)...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by Pedro1001

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for TV/Hi Fi, hopeless for computer/printer
Agree with Pedro 1001's review. For the television, hi fi, PVR etc this is great as this sort of equipment uses standard sized plugs. If you plan to use it for your computer, printer, PC speakers, external hard drive etc, check first how big the plugs are - I could only use four of the eight plugs due to the sockets facing each other and being too close together.
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by Mr. Simon Minty


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly very useful, 11 Dec 2009
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
Really useful item, and very easy to use. Enables all six out of eight sockets to be switched off at one click; the other two are on permanently. The only weakness is that the earth pins of the sockets face one another and the sockets are a little close together. This means that where there is a power supply built into a plug (eg for an external hard drive or speakers) that some of the sockets are obstructed, and you might not get eight usable sockets. Otherwise a really good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for TV/Hi Fi, hopeless for computer/printer, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Simon Minty "Sminty" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
Agree with Pedro 1001's review. For the television, hi fi, PVR etc this is great as this sort of equipment uses standard sized plugs. If you plan to use it for your computer, printer, PC speakers, external hard drive etc, check first how big the plugs are - I could only use four of the eight plugs due to the sockets facing each other and being too close together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
Had one of these a little over a year, then it stop working on the remote part of it firstly from the remote then the manual button on sockets. It seems reading some of the negative reviews it is a common problem.
Would have saved more money by leaving the equipment on standby and not purchasing this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable product, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
I bought this item (not from Amazon) and only days after the warranty expired the remote control feature stopped working and it had to be controlled manually which for me made it virtually useless as it was in a fairly inaccessible place. Then a few weeks later even the manual feature stopped working so it has been consigned to the bin. No help from Belkin and all round an expensive and unreliable product. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ok while it works, 9 Sep 2012
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
I have 3 of these items. Two are no longer switchable after less than a year of use. It seems to be a common fault.

Poor from Belkin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
I would suggest avoiding this product.

At first it worked fantastically but slowly it would fail more and more often to the point where it no longer works at all via the remote or manually on the outlet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Switch no longer works (remote or on the unit itself), 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
Was very happy with this unit for just over a year, then the remote started becoming problematic - sometimes it'd work, sometimes it wouldn't. A few months later and it just won't turn off the devices, even if I climb behind the TV unit and turn it off on the switch itself... the light goes off to imply that my devices should have their power cut, but they still sit their in standby.

Very disappointing and reading the reviews on here seems to be a common problem that Belkin have no intention of dealing with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The king of plug boards, 1 Nov 2009
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
WE are exhorted on all side to be green and to switch devices off when finished with them and not to leave them on standby but that can be a pain when you have a a lot of devices plugged in and hidden behind the TV or the hi fi - and who wants to have to leave the sofa to switch them off? This is the modern age and Belkin have produced a product to save us from this chore.

This large well designed and sturdily built unit has eight sockets all surge protected and configured to have two in an always on condition and six more that can be turned off and on as a group with the aid of wireless remote control. The remote control, which is radio based and so does not need to be in line of sight to the plugboard itself, is itself large and sturdily built and comes with a wall mount from which it will snap free from it as required. A cheaper solution would to have been to supply a flimsy, lightweight and easily lost remote but Belkin have avoided that route and this remote is designed to do the job properly. To avoid possible conflicts with other wireless devices there is a small switch on the reverse of the unit that allows a choice of frequencies.

There are three status lights on the plugboard: Earthing confirmation, power on indicator for the two always on sockets, Manual overide indicator and power status for the six switchable sockets. The remote also has a battery charge status confirmation LED.

And that's it. The unit works and works well and there is not much more to be said. If you want the Royals Royce of surge protected plugboards and with a unit designed for sustained use in the living room or garage then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the product I've been waiting years for, 26 Feb 2010
By 
B. Kennedy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
Very well made.

Makes it simple to turn off up to six electronic items by pressing a single switch. All those things consuming power can be turned off (and then back on) with a simple remote control.

I'm buying several more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, 27 Oct 2009
By 
J. Sustarich (Richmond, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belkin Energy Saving 8-Outlet Surge Protector with Remote Switch (Accessory)
I have plenty of surge protectors around the house, but this one is so cool w/ the on-off remote control. I don't have to run around the house to turn the power off when I leave on each surge protector or wall outlet, instead I flip the remote leave. Very good idea/product, which *should* reduce the power bills, but only time will tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews