Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drama, top quality tv, 14 Aug. 2009
By 
Jason Barber "jasonpar" (Dunfermline) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Now into the third series, Jimmy McGovern's The Street has kept up the very high standards of the first two.

The cast list alone should give a clue as to the quality on screen, with Anna Friel, Bob Hoskins and UK prime time pulls such as Jonas Armstrong taking up central roles as each episode focusses on "their" character within the eponymous street.

Exactly the same format as the previous series, each one hour episode surrounds one individual house/character within the street.

This is series drama and not kitchen sink/throwaway stuff that usually populates the screens all too often. Not for the faint hearted, the subject matters includes violence/prostitution/alcoholism/war abroad amongst others.

Cannot recommend this enough if you like any of McGovern's previous works, including The Lakes which still ranks as one of the best (underated?) UK tv shows in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Street series 3 - Superb drama on BBC 1, 18 Aug. 2009
By 
P. Burton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Im commenting here on the series that Ive just watched on BBC1. They have only just finished showing it on Monday nights, and the dvd isnt even out yet.

One of the things I enjoyed most about this series is certain characters appeared again in various episodes, and this added to the feel of them all living next to each other.

Episode 1 starred Bob Hoskins as the pub landlord who had a problem with a local Irish bully. It got to the stage where he found out just who his friends were, or rather werent! There was also a short role for Timothy Spall's character and we would see more of their friendship in the last episode.

Episode 2 starred Anna Friel as a young mother struggling to bring her two young sons up. She wanted to put them in a better school so had to take up an extra 'job' to be able to afford it.

Episode 3 starred Jonas Armstrong as a soldier returning from Afghanistan with a disfigured face, after being caught up in a suicide bomb attack. These two characters would also have short roles in each others story.

Episode 4 starred Joseph Mawle as a chef who has a serious chip on his shoulder regarding people of a different race. However an incident with a Polish woman and her daughter makes him change his ways.

Episode 5 starred Stephen Graham as an alcoholic who has to stop drinking when hes told that he has a 16 year old son who wants to meet him. He finds it hard to accept him though when he realises the boy has downs syndrome.

Episode 6 starred Timothy Spall's character who we have seen in previous series of The Street. He makes the mistake of having a one night stand with a work colleague while his wife is away, and things do drastically wrong after that. Bob Hoskins appeared once again as his friend the pub landlord. And there was a role for Ruth Jones (from Little Britain and Gavin & Stacey).

Each of these 6 hour long episodes were first class and had me interested right until the last minute.
Id say although it was a tough choice, my favourite episode was Jonas Armstrong's portrayal of a soldier struggling to settle down at home after his accident in the army.

ps - Im disgusted to see that the BBC arent going to make any more of this series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entirely worthy of all the acclaim, 1 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I had not watched any of the Street until Series Three. My interest was only elicited when I heard an interview with Jimmy McGovern shortly before this series was due to air on BBC1 on the radio. The interviewer asked him if he was surprised by the all the acclaim he had received for the first and second series of The Street. He brazenly replied "No, not at all, we deserve all the commendation we have received as we've worked bloody hard to make a decent series". I thought: "Cheeky bugger, I'm going to watch an episode, and I'll be the judge". Naturally I was expecting the usual tosh that gets served up on TV, but after the first episode of Series 3 (Bob Hoskins as a landlord standing up to the local hard nut's son for smoking in the loos) I was hooked. The cast is outstanding and the material hard hitting and relevant. They are effectively one hour 'Plays for Today'. The reason the format is so effective is that they are both standalone drama - you can get into it very quickly, but there is also cross-referencing between the episodes which just provides additional richness.

It is a terrible shame that the third series of The Street will be the last. UK television needs more of this calibre of drama. As for me, I've already ordered the DVDs of series 1 & 2 to catch up on what I missed first time round on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only cliche you'll encounter with this: "TV doesn't get better" - and it's true, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
Plom de Nume "Rob" (Wolverhampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Superlative. Incredibly, this series sustains and builds on the already unmatchable standards of the previous two series. Six engaging stories - of diverting variety and each with the trademark multiple hooks (from a "High Noon" showdown with a thug barred from Bob Hoskins' local, through the story of a determined single mother (a fabulous Anna Friel) compelled into prostitution , via the tale of a soldier disfigured in a suicide bombing, to alcoholism and reluctant bonding with a Downs Syndrome child) - all of this blessed with utterly authentic dialogue and performances from every single actor on screen that quite simply blow away everything else British TV has shown us since the Boys from the Blackstuff. The whole thing culminates in a heart-stopping, moving turn from Timothy Spall, present throughout as a great linking character but ultimately showing us what an absolutely peerless actor he is. Really magnificent work from all involved: six hours' drama of a quality you wouldn't get elsewhere in several years of TV or a long, long time in the cinema. Some disks are recommended as benchmarks for High Definition; I recommend these as the gold standard for every element that constitutes the true art of television theatre. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Moving, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Ii fully agree with P.Burtons review, for me it was episode five Episode 5 which starred Stephen Graham as an alcoholic who has to stop drinking when he is told that he has a 16 year old son who wants to meet him. He finds it hard to accept him though when he realises the boy has downs syndrome.

The whole series has been absolutly brilliant. i cannot remember being moved so much by a television series.Yes Messiah was outstanding and i eagerly await series 5 coming out in 2010,but this series will always be a stand alone for me. Something to warm your heart something to inspire and that is the genius of mr mcgovern. Why on earth they discontinued this series is totally beyond me.

So in conclusion, buy the lot and take off eighteen nights and enjoy what for me has been a memorable story and probably the best thing to come out of British tv in donkeys years .

Have purchased Moving On and will be interested to see how this compares to the street. Having said that i suppose Mr Mcgovern can do no wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painful Pleasure, 18 Sept. 2009
By 
Miss R. Wood "Roz Wood" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Jimmy McGovern always writes near to the knuckle drama tackling all subjects. Nothing is off limits which is why it never ceases to amaze me that he tells at times, of the most worrying and avoidable issues with such cleverness and sensitivity. Racism, bullying and prostitution are just three examples. The actors are wonderful. McGovern has the amazing ability to draw the viewer into his story, sympathising with the characters. You are shocked, saddened and delighted all in the space of an hour long episode. Great viewing. This DVD like the other two in the series is a collection of modern classics to be prized in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Street - Series 1-3, 8 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
It's not very often a television series comes along and grabs you by the neck and tells you to sit down, shut up and watch.

The street is littered with compelling stories, first class performances, top notch writing, unmistakable realism and an honest truth. There is something for everyone to identify with in this series of quality work.

Jimmy McGovern knows how to drag every part of emotion out of his characters and audiences. He truely is a genius.

It is classic british television at its ultimate best!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, moving and passionate, McGovern does it again, 3 Dec. 2009
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I watch the first to series and loved them but what came in Series 3 blew me away. It moved me in so many way. I laughed, I cried and I got angry. Never has any other series made me bring out such emotions and that is for every episode!! 1 hour is just perfect for Jim McGovern to get his story out, his little glimpse into the lives behind each door. It is a crying shame this has to end but it went out very very well with the last episode. Perfect ending to a perfect series. Yes I will have The street as a permanent part of my DVD collection and yes I watch these again and again.

For those who haven't ever seen this series, don't worry. Each episode can be watch on its own. You don't have to know the characters. You can pick up any of the series and pick any of the episode without ever have to watch it in sequence. Yes there is recurring characters but it doesn't need you to see their episodes to enjoy any of them.

Jim McGovern is a genius. Pay attention people and give us a Jim boxset with his wonderful work (The Street, Cracker, Hillborough etc)!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streets ahead of the rest!!, 30 July 2009
By 
Shilen (Wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Can only rate half of this DVD as we are only half way through the series on BBC but what I have seen so far is perfection, excellent storylines, superb acting - basically more of what we have come to expect from series 1 and 2. Nice to see some big names starring in the series such as Bob Hoskins and Anna Friel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy McGovern's excellent Series, The Street, 11 July 2010
By 
Ms. J. A. Nash (Australia 6152) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion, Jimmy McGovern's Series, The Street, should not have been axed. It's excellent, gritty stand alone stories are of everyday life in Salford, Manchester and are very true to life. I have just seen Seasons 1 and 2 completed in Australia, about to go into what I have long awaited, Season 3 with my very favourite actor, Jonas Armstrong appearing in 2 cameo appearances in Episodes 2 and 5, along with his brilliant performance as Nick Calshaw in Episode 3, a seriously facially disfigured Soldier with all the associated problems as a result of his tour of duty in Afghanistan. This DVD was a must-have to add to my collection of all work completed by Jonas so far and I am looking forward to more brilliant performances by this fantastic young man in future productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD]
The Street: The Complete Series 3 [DVD] by David Blair (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £6.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews