Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series ever created...
To me it's pretty simple. There are three really, really great series: The Sopranos, The Wire ... and Mad Men. It just doesn't get any better. The wonderful thing about series (good series, of course) is that you get to know the characters extremely well - much better than in a movie. You learn their good sides, their bad sides and all in between. This is very true of Mad...
Published on 30 Nov. 2009 by Rasmus Springborg

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Look good TV rather than feelgood TV
Excited by the rave reviews, I was so sure I would love this that I ordered Season 1 and Season 2 at the same time. Basically it is brilliant - beautifully shot, great dialogue, fantastic acting, wonderful period observation BUT there wasn't a single character that I liked. Don is wrestling with some pretty big demons but I felt like it was kind of infectious in that I...
Published on 22 Feb. 2010 by Mrs Doubtfire


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series ever created..., 30 Nov. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
To me it's pretty simple. There are three really, really great series: The Sopranos, The Wire ... and Mad Men. It just doesn't get any better. The wonderful thing about series (good series, of course) is that you get to know the characters extremely well - much better than in a movie. You learn their good sides, their bad sides and all in between. This is very true of Mad Men. All characters are described in amazing detail and you really get involved in their lives. Mad Men gives you an entertaining and emotional look into the advertising world of the 1960s. You will be surprised at all the different layers of the story.

Oh, and by the way: The photography and music of Mad Men will blow you away. A pleasure to look at and listen to.

Can't wait for season 3...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 20 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
People will tell you that The Sopranos is the best television show of the 00s, others will say its The Wire, and yes both of these shows are definitely 5 star but if you want the very best TV show of the 00s and who knows, in time, maybe ever, then you want Mad Men!

It really is the best thing on television right now, and if you asked me to tell you what happens, I couldn't tell you! Its just superb... a slow methodical medatation on the world we live in but set during the early 1960s on the dawn of the new America!

Its drama at its best. Something like Six Feet Under is probably its best bed fellow. There really is nothing around quite like it. It doesn't spoon feed the viewer. You must pay attention and use your own intelligence and you will be greatly rewarded.

Its just quite simply the best!

Do not hesitate, GO BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near perfection, 2 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Being a huge fan of The Sopranos, I came across this show and decided to purchase season 1&2 without even reading into it. A blind purchase which I'm very grateful for!
The show is incredible. Many people say not much happens in the show. I'm convinced that the only people who come to this conclusion are the ones who expect each episode to have a sub-plot which gets resolved (ala Prison Break for example). The show is a complete character study and follows the lives of several people working in the prestigious offices of New York in the late 50s/early 60s.

Admittedly I can see why this show doesn't appeal to many people, but if you enjoy a complex drama of life in the early 60s then sit back relax and put give this a go. If you expect plot holes to be resolved on a weekly basis, for explosions, graphic sex, surreal events, then this show just isn't for you.
If you like to be sucked in to a completely believable world with believable characters and follow their journey, then welcome abroad. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep and Engaging, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series but i find it hard to tell you why... perhaps it's because i am myself in advertising and i feel a certain connection to the deep and complex characters and the challenges they face in their working day. On one level it's easy to love because It's incredibly well filmed and brings the era to life in such a stylish way.

It's hard to describe exactly what happens in Mad Men, because a lot of the time when you reflect back on what you have just watched, it really is nothing at all. However, you are drawn in so deeply to the characters and the overall feel that you really don't care about the plot half of the time. Unlike other series that keep up a continued story line all the way through a series, each episode of Mad Men stands out as a piece on it's own, offering fantastic views and judgements on morality, family values, ethics and beliefs of the time and it can, at times, be punishing to watch. But above all i love it because it never apologieses for being so brash and unforgiving.

In summary, it makes for compulsive viewing and you'll find yourself comming back for more after every single episode, but only really you will know why. Poor a whiskey and let yourself be drawn in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV at its very best, 16 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mad Men is, without doubt, one of the finest dramas ever made for TV. Set in the 60's against the backdrop of the embryonic world of advertising and marketing it follows numerous characters, notably Don Draper, as they live, drink and smoke their way through New York life. Affairs, sexism, racism, psychiatry and cigarettes, lots of cigarettes. The show doesn't really benefit from blu-ray so if you're wavering, buy the dvd box sets.
The performances in this show are stellar, the writing is top notch and the decor on the sets is so detailed you'll hardly credit it. The sequences dealing with brands we all know and love are wonderfully crafted, often cheekily cynical. A show for real TV afficianados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mad, mad world . . . . ., 26 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The feel of this series can be compared to one of the newly laundered white shirts which Don Draper pulls out of his office drawer - fresh, crisp and ever so well ironed by someone anonymous in his life. Having watched all of series 1 on a re run on TV and now trying to piece in the first 3 episodes of the current series 4 is not ideal, so I MIGHT stop watching series 4 and concentrate on series 2 - if I could give up anything of Mad Men at the moment!

It is a very cleverly crafted piece of television - linking historical, political and social changes in the 60's with the lives and loves of the employees of Sterling Cooper advertising agency in New York using every trick in the book to give us a feel of the era. I found I was bought up sharply to be reminded that the women of that era were not as they are now - career women having a nearly equal opinion and lifestyle comparable to men but housewives, secretaries and lovers all pandering to men's ego's in the workplace and in bed.

Don is the kingpin of the series and each episode swirls around him and his deeply, deeply hidden past.

Watch this wonderfully original series and take in the marvellous whiff of the 60's - coughing and choking on the thousands of cigarettes which are lit up and gallons of Canadian Club that is consumed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing fiction, 22 May 2010
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
How could I have missed this!I only fell for Mad Men in Season 3 and have been hooked since. Glorious 60's, gorgeous men and women, gorgeous dresses, non stop smoking, drinking, a world without barriers and fears where everything sounded possible, may be not so if you were a woman, or gay but still. This serie about an ad agency in New-York is such a thrill, colourfull, well written, where heroes are weak and serious cowards but still lovable. Everybody in this serie looks glamourous, Betty Draper is the new Grace Kelly of the suburbs and Don her husband a real Don Juan, do I need to say more, one not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 25 Dec. 2009
By 
Richard N. Jones (Lincoln England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
These 2 series are simply outstanding. John Hamm and January Jones lead a cast who were born to play their roles. The story line is utterly believeable and the characterisation just perfect. I remember the 1960's in New York and the setting in both series (costume, decoration, background and speech) is spot-on and worthy of the highest praise.

Although I would love a third series, I think perhaps it should end on a high and not become (as so many other series have) simply a cash cow for the production company. As Walt Disney so rightly said "Always leave 'em wanting more". Or if you prefer: Bob Black, "Quit while you're ahead".

John and January you have made an marvellous series, I thank you both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, Lavish & Compulsive, 8 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing really happens in Mad Men yet the series is oddly compelling. Most of the characters are disagreeable monsters, but it's so well put together that you simply fall in love with its sumptious look and feel. You find yourself drinking in the detail that lingers over furniture and decor and clothing, as the environment is so lovingly crafted that you are sucked in without even realising it.

It's adult in content at times but never in a way that is gratuitous or OTT. There are sexual themes but never out right nudity and it's generally violence free, so the series can be enjoyed by the most conservative of family members and friends on all sorts of levels. Looking forward to the next and subsequent seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic and this title is a great introduction, 3 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] (DVD)
As many say, there is a distinct lack of 'action' in Mad Men but this is not in any way to the series' detriment. Instead we have complex and interesting characters, beautiful cinematography and a stunning soundtrack, not to mention an extremely covetable set of wardrobes.

I had not watched any Mad Men until about a month ago when I decided to see what all of the fuss and critical acclaim was about and buy series 1 and 2 on DVD and I'm now hugely glad I did.

Set in the early sixties, and framed against significant events of the era such as Nixon v Kennedy and the death or Marilyn Monroe. It's characters are making their first tentative steps from the decade of consumerism into a new and uncertain future - one of divorce, political idealism and sexual equality.

Although much is made of Jon Hamm in the role of Don Draper, it's really Elizabeth Moss' Peggy who really steals the show. I won't give away too much more to any potential new converts but I would thoroughly recommend this box set, especially at Amazon's current bargainous price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD]
Mad Men - Season 1 and 2 [DVD] by Paul Feig (DVD - 2009)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews