Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood - Complete Series
Going back some fifty years since last seeing it, the series is both enjoyable and revealing. All the episodes were recorded between 1955 and 1960. Well known names from British film and TV make appearances, for example Thora Hird and Leslie Phillips, Nicholas Parsons, plus Paul Eddington (Yes Minister / Yes Prime Minister) and Alfie Bass. Many actors appear weekly in...
Published on 10 April 2010 by James Stanton

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood Remembered
Black & white and low-budget, nevertheless the complete Adventures of Robin Hood was far from a disappointment. The sword fights were slow and stagey and the scenery unconvincing, but oh the delight in remembering those Sundays when Vincent Ball would announce " And now,once again, Robin Hood battles against the evil Sheriff of Nottingham." I was very fond of Friar...
Published on 3 Jun 2011 by J. R. Fowler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood - Complete Series, 10 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Going back some fifty years since last seeing it, the series is both enjoyable and revealing. All the episodes were recorded between 1955 and 1960. Well known names from British film and TV make appearances, for example Thora Hird and Leslie Phillips, Nicholas Parsons, plus Paul Eddington (Yes Minister / Yes Prime Minister) and Alfie Bass. Many actors appear weekly in different roles. This is quite amusing, and it must have been fun for the actors themselves. The regulars are Robin, The Sheriff of Nottingham, Little John and Friar Tuck.

The episodes resemble mini feature films rather than a TV series. Some of the actors are obviously from the old Shakespearian school. The stories are well written, well presented and acted. The sets are convincing and evoke the period well. There are occasional instances of anachronism, where a nineteenth century farm cart may appear next to a medieval one, but it all adds to the charm, and given the limits of budget, one is always totally convinced that one has entered the middle ages and the world of Robin Hood.

The picture quality is very acceptable in the main, apart from the first few episodes, and does not interfere with successful viewing.(However, the quality is not up to the standard of the more expensive releases in Britain)

The episodes in this set were presented for the American TV market. Occasionally, one is treated to the name of the sponsor of the show, for example, Wildroot Cream - Oil, either at the start or end but not during the show. One is still treated to the familiar opening music of the show, with Richard Greene aiming his longbow and firing an arrow at a tree. The familiar Robin Hood song features at the end. Some of the episodes have the credits from a different episode at the end, so checking which actor is which can be difficult. The episodes appear to be derived from various sources and they are not always in order of recording or transmission. However, most episodes are stand alone and this is not a problem. Some are entitled 'Adventures in Sherwood Forest', as issued to the American market. Whatever the source, it's totally English with Richard Greene as Robin Hood.

The set is sold as region 1. I took a chance and the set plays well on my region 2 player in the UK. The set appears to be region free. No region code is evident on the box set itself. I ordered from the States, but the postage on the package had a German stamp. I ask no questions.

Overall, this is an excellent TV series from a golden age of pioneering TV. Regulars such as Richard Greene as Robin, Alexander Gauge as Friar Tuck, amongst others, serve to make this a memorable series, even for those too young to recall it.

For the price, it's a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still as good as it ever was, 28 Feb 2012
By 
D. Guenzel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me get this point out of the way immediately. Some reviewers mention the variable quality of the film image on this series and conclude that since the show is 50+ years old that is to be expected. These shows were shot on rich, beautiful 35mm black and white negative film, and I assure you that if this dvd had been mastered from the 35mm ORIGINALS the quality would have knocked your socks off. They would have glistened and gleamed and had razor sharp focus and sound. This dvd set was mastered from copies of copies and much of the image quality was lost. Perhaps one day, if this series once again captures the imagination of viewers some enterprising dvd producer will go to the vaults where the originals are being stored and use them for a new transfer. We can but hope...or dream.

Now, the series itself. It hasn't aged a bit. Frankly, I was not expecting to enjoy it as a mature man, having last seen it when I was nine years old or so. But enjoy it I did, and marvel at it as well. It is excellent in almost every way and if, occasionally, some medieval myth-making is seen here and there I can forgive it in the face of some extraordinary sets, fine photography and music, good writing and always professional acting by good casts.

Richard Greene was born to play this role and he did it so very well. Some reviewers have taken issue with his performance but I couldn't disagree more. Like Basil Rathbone as Sherlock Holmes Richard Greene WAS Robin Hood, so thoroughly did he convince as the titular character. Perhaps only Richard Todd, in the charming Disney film of 1952, was his equal in the part (charity requires we pass over in silence the spectacle of a California beach bum named Kevin Costner failing to even come within striking distance of the character, and that would include all the silly pretty boys with their anachronistic hair-dos trying these days to do it). He was warm, cheerful, quite athletic and even deadly serious when required. He has my respect and admiration for such a kindly portrayal.

The other actors were brilliant. Alan Wheatley was superb and, goodness, did he look great in those costumes. His carriage and bearing are remarkable. A very good actor. Alexander Gauge as Friar Tuck was possibly the best of all Friar Tucks, and despite some of the usual cliches that English writers would imbue their Catholic characters with he comes off as a serious and human Churchman. Compare his take on the character with Eugene Pallette's in the Flynn version and you will see the quality difference immediately.

I can't praise the series enough and continue to be happily surprised that it has stood the test of time so well. But perhaps that was to be expected, since there were British professionals involved up and down the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 18 Jun 2010
By 
D. J. Legge "David Legge" (Hove,East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Robin Hood box set arrived from the U.S in 12 days, which was quicker than I was expecting. The product was sealed & no damage was sustained en route.

Considering this TV series is over 50 years old, the episodes stand the test of time very well & are exciting & entertaining to watch. It's also fun looking out for a host of well-known actors in what must have been very early roles for them. In Series Three, for example, Paul Eddington seems to turn up in nearly every episode, playing a different character every time!

A word of advice for those buying this box set, who haven't seen the series before: the prints used for Series One are very poor quality and not really good enough to release on DVD. Series Two to Four are much more consistent and better in quality, some incredibly good for their age. It might be an idea to start watching from Series Two to the end of the collection and watch Series One last. By then you'll have enjoyed the show so much that you'll forgive the poor visual quality of Series One!

Apart from this aspect, this collection represents such good value for money that you shouldn't let that stop you from buying this release. Overall, a very enjoyable series, even though I'm too young to remember it from the original broadcast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first TV Robin Hood and maybe the best!, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Peter J. Bevis "Maverick" (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I couldn't believe that I could get decent copies of this series for less than 20, and I nearly didn't buy it. However although the series is recorded in Extended Play, the 143 episodes are of good quality, and therefore represent exceptional value.

Furthermore this is a thoroughly delightful series full of charm and warmth. Indeed the archive nature of the episodes make them seem as old as the legend of robin hood itself.

For an enjoyable glimpse into what seemed a gentler, kinder and more tolerant time in the 1950s when it was made, this series is hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Robin Hood of all!, 15 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Today my package of "The Adventures of Robin Hood" arrived! Is is mentioned as code 1 dvd. Due to the customers review of James Stanton I dared to buy the series. And it runs very fine on my Philips dvdplayer that also is a code 2 player! There is nothing metioned about codes on the cover, so I also assume, it's codefree.

It is so great to have the great whole complete show! In Germany, where I live, only 26 episodes were shown and it was 1971, when they were broadcasted! But, despite I'm old and grey now ;-))), whatching them is still as wonderful as it was in my childhood. Alan Wheatley to my opinion is the very best Sheriff of Nottingham of them all! His spot for Lady Marian makes him human despite all necessary meanance against Robin Hood. But we all know the smart outlaw will always find his way out of the trap.

Despite other more famous actors made very good jobs, Richard Greene and his "band" are the all time very best. Perhaps it is, because this was the first Robin Hood I've seen, but the films with Erol Flynn, Kevin Costner and others are good but not better. I'm stuck to this series from the golden times of TV.

The quality of the picture and the sound is very very good. Never forget, is was shot between 1955 and 1960, and filmquality at that time was not what it is today. And, the old black and white movies, like this one, often have more charme than the best coloured film in high definition quality. This also strikes me over and over again with the good old silent movies.

Hope, this short review will encourage other people from code 2 areas to buy the set hopefully with the same great satisfaction.

And the price is a real bargain, nearly a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Robin Hood: The Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC], 15 Dec 2009
By 
Michael Carbery "mikecarbery" (Untied Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A brilliant series from the 50's and 60's. Although they are black & white they were great to watch again. Agreat series in our dvd collection, and they play on PAL as well as NTSC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Unlimited for me, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
As a 58 year old, I really enjoyed these series that brought back memories of myself as a secondary schoolgirl watching this on the old rented black and white TV. My children thinks it is boring, but I loved every minute of this and had a good laugh at the same time, I mean the Sheriff Sheriff of Nottingham's men are so incompetent that I couldn't help feeling sorry for him at times. I also had fun spotting well-known actors such as Harry H Corbett and Paul Eddington (before they got really famous) playing different characters in the series. Although I loved watching Robin Hood and the Sherwood bunch, I got the most laughs from the penurious knight Sir Richard of the Lee and all the scrapes Robin Hood had to get him out of. The end tune is very jaunty and I kept singing along to it, sheer bliss!.

I intend to keep these series and watch again and again and again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 17 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A very watchable print at a fraction of the cost elsewhere: a bargain! The American sponsor endorsements add novelty too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Robin Hood must have collection., 15 May 2013
By 
Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series DVD Region 1 [US Import] NTSC

When I was a child in the 1950's this was my favourite television programme and I can remember even now the disappointment at missing the last two series because I was away at school. I never did catch up on the missing episodes until many years later when a friend from the US sent me a full set on NTSC video tapes that he had recorded from television re-runs. The complete set was never made available in Region 2 to my knowledge and these episodes are from various US television franchises and some are in truth of slightly poorer quality than others, but they are complete if in a somewhat random order, but if you are a really fussy viewer then it is a simple task to obtain the series and episode lists from various online sites.

The series were recorded live between 1955 and 1960 and the observant viewer will be able to pick up the odd instance where members of the cast need to cover for an actor who has forgotten his line and even one who failed to make an entrance on time, but such was live television in the 1950s and most of the actors were veterans of the live theatre. Technically the series was a first for British Television using 35mm film instead of tape as the series had already been sold to the US each episode having a running time of 25 mins.

The cast list now reads like a who's who of British film and theatre such as Richard Greene as Robin, Alexander Gauge as Friar Tuck, Alan Wheatley as the Sheriff of Nottingham, Patricia Driscoll as Marion; with guest stars including Thora Hird, Leslie Phillips, Nicholas Parsons, plus Paul Eddington, Alfie Bass, Archie Duncan, and John Arnatt.

The series has stood the test of time and stands up well despite being a low budget television series now over 50 years old, and the quality of the picture and sound is due to the number of times that the film has been copied before getting to DVD. Regrettably the original 35mm film has long gone... although one can fantasise that perhaps somebody will one day open their late grandfather's shed and.....

Knowing that I am upgrading all of my movie collection to DVD my daughter bought the set for me as a gift I have had a lot of joy from this set which is a must have for any serious Robin Hood fanatic, which I unashamedly am.

The discs appear to be Region 0 as they play well on my region free DVD player and my Region 1 and 2 computer disc players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood - five star outlaw !, 23 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood: Complete Series [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a brilliant series that will take you back to childhood days when you were waiting to watch Robin Hood (Richard Greene) on the telly at weekends.
The quality of these 143 episodes complete on DVD is good considering that they have fitted 13 episodes per disc(a total of 11 discs.
The item was delivered quickly from Germany and these DVD's are region free too.
If you don't have this in your collection, then you are really missing an English treasure of entertainment brought to us by the late Lew Grade.
I rate this collection 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews