Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game
Having read the recent reviews of this game on Amazon I feel that people have been incredibly OTT in their criticisms. I got this game in summer 2010 and the online game is one of the very best xbox live games out there. And not to ignore the single player mode-they are each very good games in their own right. Although individually each game isn't quite as long as GTA 4,...
Published on 27 July 2011 by C. Want

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GTA
The game itself is good and the way the previous story of 4 merges with the two new stories is good and promotes immersion. I was however disappointing to find that some vehicles were online exclusives as i expected the new vehicles all to be in story mode. The game offers much less story time than 4 but the story is fun to play with new weapons and characters. a 4/5...
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by J.G


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 27 July 2011
By 
C. Want "East Clintwood" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having read the recent reviews of this game on Amazon I feel that people have been incredibly OTT in their criticisms. I got this game in summer 2010 and the online game is one of the very best xbox live games out there. And not to ignore the single player mode-they are each very good games in their own right. Although individually each game isn't quite as long as GTA 4, collevtively it makes for a longer game. However, despite not being quite as long as GTA 4 in their own right, the single player is just as good, if not slightly better. Add that to the fact that you get 2 games in 1 then the game makes for very good value.

Just to confirm though, this is not the same game but in 2 different settings. The actual feel of the game, the graphics, the guns, the aiming etc feel slightly different in each game. This is evidenced even more when playing online as TBGOT and TLATD feel like 2 different games entirely. TLATD feels more like GTA 4 than TBOGT.

The single player games are each very good games but it is in multiplayer where this game comes into its own. I prefer to play TLATD online but you tend to get more people playing TBOGT. Ever since first playing this online a year ago I have never gone more than a few days without playing it online. It is a fantastic multiplayer game and the only minor flaw I would say is sometimes struggling to get enough people to start a good match online, although you can usually find more people by clicking on 'instant play' (i.e. non ranked).

To address the other reviewer who said:

`The problem is there is not enough free space. As a fan of the motorbike from other GTAs such as San Andreas, i think there are limited options for transport.

There are other shortcomings too. In San Andreas for example you get: 3 cities; a large countryside; a mountain; an endless desert and rural highlands to explore.
Here it is just a city, however unlike vice city, the streets are too narrow. There are not enough stunts. Your player is limited.'

- I couldn't disagree more. The whole map is HUGE and although it may not encompass 3 cities like you mention in San Andreas, the map is still massive and has more than enough to keep people entertained on single player for months. And as for transport, there are at least as many options as there are in any other GTA game so I'm not sure why you would think that. The streets are normal sized streets and as it is basically NYC the streets will only reflect how big they are in real life NYC, as Vice City did with Miami.

If someone wishes to just navigate around the map aimlessley in a multitude of vechiles trying stunts etc, or go on a 'rampage' shooting random people then this is still just as easy to do as in any previous GTA game, and to drive from one side of the map to the other is an incredibly long drive so I would like to reiterate that the map is massive, yet easy to navigate around. There are countless places to do stunts and as per any GTA game, the entire environment feels fully interactive. Your player feels truly free.

I can't recommend this game highly enough. I think it is a vastly underrated a game and in online multiplayer, it is one of the best games available on the xbox. It should be ranked up there with the very best multiplayer games-COD, Red Dead, COH2 etc.

Overall I think this is a fantastic game well worth the advertised price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA IV or GTA Episodes???, 13 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
STORY -> ORIGINAL
CONTENT -> EPISODES

The original gives you the main story, it's longer and deeper (that's what she said)
This gives you a fun, long enough story. It's not short at all I tell you!

Buy this if you don't want a game that is so long, but has all of the content plus a bit more.
You won't be able to purchase houses, but you get lots more content than on the original.
Parachute, awesome helicopters, and tons more made it worth it to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than GTA IV itself?, 7 Mar 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Personally, I prefer TLAD to the main, rather boring, story of Nico. The motorbike culture is represented well, as are some of the moments when you ride out with the gang: as the camera pulls back, you get some extremely impressive views of the city. TBOGT is pretty good too, and the ability to easily switch between each story (TLAD/TBOGT) is done well. My only gripe is that neither DLC has much in the way of clothes selection, which makes the term "expansion pack" somewhat questionable, as the two games can be more limiting than GTA IV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GTA, 21 Sep 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game itself is good and the way the previous story of 4 merges with the two new stories is good and promotes immersion. I was however disappointing to find that some vehicles were online exclusives as i expected the new vehicles all to be in story mode. The game offers much less story time than 4 but the story is fun to play with new weapons and characters. a 4/5 overall a good game for the money but it could have been done better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 31 Oct 2009
By 
Simon Daultrey "g3fan" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I actually downloaded the Episodes as and when they came out, but it's the same content, and awesome it is! It is also very much an ADULT title, and I can't stress this enough. Especially The Ballad Of Gay Tony....that 18 certificate is truly there for a reason. Besides, younger people would just not understand the story, or the humour!

The Lost and Damned is an excellent new angle on life in Liberty City. It's all about the bikes and the metal. If you're not into thrash metal, don't worry, it can be avoided most of the time, but it's very much a part of the 'feel' of the episode.....one of grit, and grime and general dirty work.

Packed with new bikes, plus some new cars, and an arsenal of heavy weaponry, TLaD is also brilliantly written, with a story that's as fun, entertaining and exciting as the Niko Bellic story of GTAIV. The missions and story carefully intertwine TLaD with that original Niko Bellic story, so if you played GTAIV (and paid attention) then there will be plenty of people and events that you recognise, without any of them actually being direct ports/repeats from the parent game.

The immersive single-player game of TLaD would be enough to make it worth the alone, with the addition of new activities like Gang Wars and Bike Races, but the multiplayer is just as good, so there's plenty to keep you going.

As if that wasn't enough (which it is), there's also the 3rd 'episode' - The Ballad Of Gay Tony. To my amazement, it is even better than the first 2 episodes. It is a rich and fast-paced world of money, girls, drugs and high society, with addictive new luxury cars, bikes, boats and armaments. There's also the addition of military-grade helicopters, with the Minigun-toting, rocket-firing "Buzzard" being the most indulgently brutal form of transport since the "Hunter" in GTA San Andreas.

TBoGT is wonderfully written, with a story and voice-acting that puts many movies to shame. Again, there's new activites, like Drug Wars, Club Management, Dancing and Drinking Games, plus some new random characters to meet. It's humourous and intelligent and highly addictive, and there's plenty of stuff to keep you going, which, again, includes great multiplayer content.

Rockstar really know how to do it. Nobody else has ever crafted a title that is as complete as the GTAIV series. The quality of writing and design and production is second to none, so I can't rate it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost and Damned - Good; Ballad of Gay Tony - Superb, 7 Jan 2010
By 
R. Carter "Richard" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
2 fantastic games:

The Lost and the Damned actually makes driving motorbikes pleasurable (unlike the original GTA IV game), which was my primary concern when I ordered. Whilst TLAD was good, it didn't add much to the game itself other than ~25 additional biker-themed missions and a few new weapons.

The Ballad of Gay Tony is superb - Rockstar etc have put a lot more effort in to this game than TLAD - on completion of each mission, you're awarded marks for lack of car damage, time it takes, and your remaining health and accuracy of shots, which makes for greater replay-ability. Additionally, the missions don't just start with the traditional 'drive her, drive there' - there's a bit more thinking (well, shooting) and involvement from earlier missions, which is refreshing.

TL;DR: Great even if you haven't played GTA IV (which you don't need to play the game) - heavily recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GTA: Episodes from Liberty City, 22 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After playing 'Grand Theft Auto IV' I was recommended 'Episodes from Liberty City' by Amazon. The map is the same used on the previous game which some people will find disappointing but the two games in one both excel themselves with clever, entertaining and prolonged story lines that constantly intertwine with the story from GTA IV. 'The Lost and Damned' and 'The Ballad of Gay Tony' both offer brilliant entertainment that gives fresh energy and life to an old map that many GTA fans will be aware of. The fact that there are two games on one disk offers fantastic value for money.

I loved the way in which both Luiz Lopez's (Ballad of Gay Tony) and Johnny Klebitz's (Lost and Damned) stories are on collision course with Niko Bellic's who is the protagonist in GTA IV. They are the minor characters in his story, and 'Episodes from Liberty City' gives the player the opportunity to see his impact on their lives in their respective games.

There are a variety of new weapons, new cars and new side missions that prolong the game even longer. The interaction with minor characters on the streets has improved which makes the game even more interesting.

In conclusion I would highly recommend this game as it offers great value for money, an array of new exciting equipment and a compelling follow up to GTA IV which I thought could not be outdone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Very impressed with this product for the price especially came farely quickly and it is perfect for a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertained, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought as a present for kids, keeps them entertained for hours, kids enjoy the car chasing and missions of the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (Xbox 360)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews