Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oblivion + bioshock = good value gaming
Bioshock: (4/5)

Beautifully portrayed shooter set in a steampunk-esque 50s enviroment, graphics are fantastic and don't require a supercomputer to run (I had this working with full visuals on an older dualcore 2.1Ghz AMD system with 2GB of RAM and a mid-range ATI 256MB card). Enemy AI is challenging, weapons are varied and the inclusion of puzzles (though not...
Published on 19 Jan 2010 by C. Downes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read this if you are using Windows 7 64 bit
Well I can't really comment on Bioshock unfortunately because it wouldn't work with Windows 7 64 bit. I bought the double game pack and for some strange reason I just could not get the game started after I installed it, it kept coming up with Bioshock has stopped working. After trawling through many web sites about this problem and installing patches updates etc. I...
Published on 31 May 2010 by I. Singleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oblivion + bioshock = good value gaming, 19 Jan 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bioshock: (4/5)

Beautifully portrayed shooter set in a steampunk-esque 50s enviroment, graphics are fantastic and don't require a supercomputer to run (I had this working with full visuals on an older dualcore 2.1Ghz AMD system with 2GB of RAM and a mid-range ATI 256MB card). Enemy AI is challenging, weapons are varied and the inclusion of puzzles (though not necessary for the majority of gameplay, just beneficial) makes for a cracking experience. Not great re-playability as you know where enemies are, solutions for puzzles etc. Definitely a good game though

Oblivion: (3/5)

You will need a supercomputer for this one. Graphics are spellbinding (especially with some user-mods that tweak wilderness visuals and lighting), though I often get the feeling with this (as well as with Morrowind and other Bestheda games) that a little more time in production would have turned a very good game into a phenomenal one. It's only little niggles; minor bugs, the occasional AI glitch, remainders of abandoned ideas (usually in the form of discovered quest items that aren't implemented at any point) and the vocal acting.

The latter is actually quite a major niggle. This could have been an incredibly immersive game, if only for the wholly inconsistent dialogue. Efforts have been made for NPCs to converse "spontaneously" but with a limited bank of dialogue, they are often nonsensical and you can hear the NPCs switch voices like a schizophrenic with head trauma most of the time. You'll have walked out of a particularly hard dungeon, walk into a town feeling like a triumphant hero with enough loot to start a small colony of your own...then have this moment of immersion unwillingly tugged away by having a beggar switch from gravelly street urchin to well-schooled peasant with a couple of clicks of the mouse.

Character customisation is bananas, you can sculpt a persona as you please. And with the amount of enchantable armour and weapons in this game, this is a continuous thread.

One huge huge huge problem with this game though is the levelling system. It is frankly bonkers. In order to create a strong character you have to jump through some serious hoops. Let's say a sneaky archer type in this instance. If you simply chose skills and attributes to support this initially, playing through (not surprisingly) as a sneaky archer type, you'd assume that the game would allow you to build up your character suitably and although you wouldn't be a tank, you would still be on-par with enemy NPCs in terms of attack and general survivability?

No, you would wind up at around level 30 (with no more scope for character growth) with far lower health/attack than enemies and have an initially fun game turn utterly infuriating. In order to not end up being repeatedly eaten alive by frickin wildlife, you have to take your stealthy character and spend a multitude of in-game hours endlessly buffing their meleé combat statistics so they have slightly more health than a passing gnat ("but I thought I was a sneaky archer type?!" I hear you think), which makes for some serious tedious gameplay. Worse than that, this sneaky archer type is now brandishing an axe and clumping about in heavy armour; forcing you to play distinctly differently to how you wanted to...until you've maxed your warrior skills THEN you can carry on with your notions of being a stealthy character...which rather defeats the idea of choosing any attributes in the first place, as you'll have to go completely against them initially to make any headway.

This was, thankfully, resolved in Fallout 3...but until a mod comes out that fixes this reliably, I would have to say this was a major downer on this otherwise good game.

The two together are a steal at this price, both are good fun and despite my grievances against Oblivion's inane levelling system, it more than makes up with a compelling storyline, more quests and playable environment than you can shake a stick at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Value - Good packaging, 3 Feb 2010
By 
D. McIntosh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Just a quick note about this. The games are fantastic, so not much to say there.

The Package comes in a jumbo sized dvd case (double-thickness) with the 2 discs on one side, and BOTH, yes both manuals and the Oblivion map on the other. I was very pleasantly surprised by this as I was fully expecting pdf manuals. Old school possibly, but I still like having a booklet with my games.

Thoroughly recommended - if you haven't played either of these grab the package now. Both have a brilliant story and gameplay, but also look amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two fantastic titles in one box, 6 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
To begin i cannot convey what good value to believe this box to be, it contains two brilliant games namely bioshock and oblivion.
In bioshock you play as man who cannot remember his past, and slowly unlock it in this masterpiece of story telling, really all of the elements that make a game are here in top trumps for bioshock , visually it is of a very high standard , the story telling is excellent , the gameplay is great , the atmosphere is very eerie and it captivates the player and brings them in making it hard to stop playing it. It honestly in times is a little spooky and is a great game to play in the dead of night when alone on the house in the dark. The upgrading part of the game leads to great enjoyment as nothing can be more satisfying than killing your enemies by shooting wasps and fire out of your arms. 5/5
Onto oblivion which is my 2nd favourite game ever outisde of the final fantasy franchise , but this game is huge and i mean truely huge the map is huge it would literally take hours to walk from one side the other, but there are so many missions in the game to keep you going and stop it becoming stale. Unfortunately this is the maiin game on its own and doesn't contain the expansion pack, but still it will keep you going for a good 50-60 hours if you want to do the bigger missions and the guilds in the game. It isn't anything like as immersive as bioshock but it makes up for it with enjoyment overall. The only gripe i have with the game is that to level up you have to find somewhere to rest which can be a pain when you are surrounded by hordes of enemies or some that you can't find but the game assures you are there. If a fan of fallout this is a must have because its very similar but swords and magic rather than guns and explosives. Overall 5/5
This pack is a must have for someone who is looking for many hours of pc gaming pleasure and doesn't want to spend £30 on a newer game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read this if you are using Windows 7 64 bit, 31 May 2010
By 
I. Singleton "Game nut" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Well I can't really comment on Bioshock unfortunately because it wouldn't work with Windows 7 64 bit. I bought the double game pack and for some strange reason I just could not get the game started after I installed it, it kept coming up with Bioshock has stopped working. After trawling through many web sites about this problem and installing patches updates etc. I just gave up and sent it back. It's a shame because Bioshock it is meant to be good. I want to play this before Bioshock 2, there must be a way of getting it working. The game its only from 2007 so not that old. The other game Oblivion did work and that is older. This is a great RPG game but I have this on my X BOX so didn't need to own it twice I just got it so I can use my computer monitor rather than my old television set to play the game on making the graphics look much better. Having said this Amazon gave me a refund no problem after I explained what had happened, so just beware if you are using Windows 7 64 bit look on google and make an informed decision before you purchase it for the PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bioshock is fab - oblivion is a bit boring, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
after playing skyrim I wanted more. oblivion is kind of more, but I just got real bored real quick. not a replacement for skyrim.
Bioshock on the other hand is just fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
this game was delivered on time and when it got here it was great, ive played every bioshock game and this one sets the bar for all the others as it is probably the best game made in its time and the same with oblivion it is probably the best rpg out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bioshock/Oblivion, 12 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Two of the best games I've ever played - I would highly recommended purchasing this offer to any video game enthusiast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value for the price., 3 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
BioShock and The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. Seems like only yesterday these great games were in development and now they have over 80 goty awards combined and are included in this great pack. I've pumped 60 or more hours into the game Oblivion, There is no end to it. Well, there is but there is no end on the things you can do.
Still a better story compared to Skyrim (In my opinion). Both are old games, So they don't require a fast at all PC to run. The Dell Inspiron laptop runs them streight
60fps and that's a laptop! Give this a go. Would recommend to start gaming and proberbly gamers already have these games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twice the fun!, 20 Dec 2011
By 
J Bright (Leeds, Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Oblivion has been my favourite game for several years now. My kids caught the bug and together we have mashed our way through four discs. I saw this double pack at a decent price and have been delighted with the additional game Bioshock, but, still prefer Oblivion as it can be so heavily modded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What are you wanting for, buy now!, 15 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bioshock is awesome, crazy and awesome.
Oblivion is bloody spectular, just bloody spectular.
You will seriously get hundreds of hours gameplay with these two games.
Even if you've played Skyrim, I would still recommend Oblivion, its worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD)
Bioshock/Elder Scrolls: Oblivion - Double Pack (PC DVD) by Take 2 Interactive Parent Code (Windows Vista / XP)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews