Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kissing would be nice, yes?
The last Disney Princess to be introduced was in the mid 90s. Soon after this time it started to feel like Disney had lost some of their magic. They started to put out a lot of rather average animated films and unoriginal, uninspiring sequels (The Little Mermaid II: Return to The Sea, Cinderella III: A Twist In Time, Beauty & The Beast: Belle's Magical World etc). A lot...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Bebopa Lula

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film
Good Film but not the usual princess type disney film - still prefer beauty and the beast or little mermaid.
Published on 24 May 2011 by Kievro


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kissing would be nice, yes?, 12 May 2011
By 
Bebopa Lula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog [DVD] (DVD)
The last Disney Princess to be introduced was in the mid 90s. Soon after this time it started to feel like Disney had lost some of their magic. They started to put out a lot of rather average animated films and unoriginal, uninspiring sequels (The Little Mermaid II: Return to The Sea, Cinderella III: A Twist In Time, Beauty & The Beast: Belle's Magical World etc). A lot of adults had given up hope and most children had turned to CGI films. So when it was announced that Disney were going to release a new animated film and introduce a new princess in 2010 the world knew they needed to pull something special out the bag.

In February 2010 I took my daughter to see The Princess & The Frog at the cinema (we have since also purchased the DVD). I was left with one big question - who loved it more, me or my 4 year old!? The story, the characters, the animation, the songs - all spot on.

Let's start with the story. The story was so much different to what I expected - I expected to sit through 97 minutes of the popular fairytale 'The Frog Prince' (Princess kisses the frog and he turns into a handsome prince. The end) but boy, was I wrong! It wasn't a predictable storyline, even for adults, and had twists and turns all the way through. There was plenty of suspense, plenty of laughs and plenty of emotional scenes - the only way Disney know how!

The film includes 7 original songs. It had been a long time since I had seen a new Disney film (or any kids film for that matter, with the exception of Enchanted) with singing and dancing in it, so this was quite a treat. Many of the songs were a mixture of jazz, blues and zydeco and were really catchy (I saw more than a few toes tapping in the cinema!) - they really captured the mood of the film perfectly. There were also a couple of slow songs sung by Anika Noni Rose (the voice of Tiana, best known for her role in Dreamgirls) who has a beautiful voice and makes for easy listening.

All of the characters are likable from the moment they are introduced. My personal favourites include Louis the alligator (imagine a huge alligator with a big heart and a love of trumpet playing!), Ray the firefly (a hillbilly bug who's in love with a star!) and Mama Odie (an old blind lady that dabbles in voodoo and lives in a boat up a tree!). I also think Dr Facilier is one of the best Disney villians ever, everything is sinister about him - his looks, his walk, his talk and his connections with the dead. Yet this voodoo con man still manages to draw unsuspecting victims into his scams with an odd mix of charisma and manipulation.

Tiana is a lot different to earlier princesses such as Snow White and Aurora. She doesn't sit around in forests waiting for her prince to whisk her away - she's definitely a 21st century girl. Tiana is strong willed, hard working and determined, with good values and a heart of gold. She's a good role model for young girls. Prince Naveen on the other hand is spoilt, lazy and has never done a hard days work in his life. Sure he's handsome, fun loving and full of charm but he has no grasp of responsibilities and is somewhat shallow. It was good to see the relationship of these two opposites develop throughout the film.

The animation is brilliant and just how a proper Disney film should be. I don't have a problem with CGI as such but everybody knows that all Disney classics are in 2D hand drawn animation. Everything looks so unmistakably Disney.

The Princess & The Frog is classified as a U and is suitable for everybody to watch. There are a few spooky scenes featuring Dr Facilier but nothing scary enough to avoid the film.

The extras on the DVD are quite average and include audio commentary, deleted scenes (which are drawings rather than actual scenes from the film, along with lots of talking), a princess portrait game (where you have to guess which Disney princess the fireflys are making) and a Ne-Yo video for 'Never Knew I Needed' which is played over the end credits of the film (an unnecessary extra in my honest opinion).

Will this remembered as a Disney classic? Well only time will tell. But The Princess & The Frog has all the makings of a Disney classic so I can't see why not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 7 Feb 2010
By 
V. Pennington (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this film was excellent and had been looking forward to taking my three and a half year old for weeks! Visually, the film was 'old school' animation but included some psychadelic sequences which were impressive. The voodoo character and the spirits he conjours are spooky and my daughter was a bit scared of them but not enough for me to be worried - and they weren't in the film that much.
The princess character was in frog form for the majority of the film which led to my daughter asking on several occasions when she was going to be human again, but it was kind of the point of the film - looks aren't everything.
The supporting characters were brilliant - Charlotte the spoilt but sweet rich girl, Louis the jazz-loving alligator and Ray the lovesick firefly. I particularly loved Mama Odie who wasn't in it enough for me. There were several laugh-out-loud moments and it was quite fast-paced so neither of us got restless.
It was good to see a black lead character (even though she was actually green for most of the film) and great to have a princess who's feisty and independent rather than a victim waiting to be rescued - a much better role model for young girls, I think. Overall it was a fantastic film and I can't wait for it to come out on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, perfect in more than one format., 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good movie, great animation, as always.. Having dvd, blu ray and a digital copy is perfect for our home use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Jan 2011
By 
C. Smith "Kit Smith" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog [DVD] (DVD)
Don't know why this film isn't more celebrated - easily as good as Beauty&Beast. Loved the ethic (wish on a star + hard work = success), the drawings & colours (especially the voodoo spirit things), but most of all the music (jazz/blues with a bit of boogaloo). Personally, I didn't think the voodoo-master was any more scary than any wicked witch in any Disney film - though interestingly he isn't defeated by the hero's goodness, but by his own even more evil masters.

Have a sneaky suspicion that the reason it didn't hit the big time is because the heroine is black, which is plain wrong. Absolutely top class film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Frog action... Not much Princessing!, 20 May 2012
By 
D. Lucas "guidebook vulture" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog [DVD] (DVD)
If you or your child are a lover of Disney princesses such as Aurora, Ariel, Belle and Jasmine, then bare in mind that this movie is a bit more grimey than Disney's other fairy tale adaptations, full of bugs, slimey reptiles and amphibians, and gun-toting yokels!

The movie does feature the traditional fairy tale of the princess kissing the frog and living happily ever after, but the story that these characters go through is a bit more complicated than that. first of all, our heroine Tiana is not a princess - she's a hard working young waitress who does not believe in fairy tales and happy endings, she's a firm believer that she'll achieve what she wants through sheer hard work. However, times are tough, and even her hard work is not enough to buy her own dream. Tiana soon meets a womanising prince who has been turned into a frog by an evil magician, and when the frog promises that she'll be rewarded for ending his curse, she reluctantly agrees - and because she's not a princess, she ends up turning into a frog herself!

The two then embark on a perilous journey through the swamps in hope of finding a witch who can restore their human forms. There are plenty of homages to old disney movies from Cinderella to Beuty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid. The backdrops are stunning - some of the best I've ever seen in a Disney movie. The voice acting is top-notch, and includes such veterans as John Goodman, Keith David and Oprah Winfrey. The songs, while not as memorable as most Disney classics, are catchy and lively. there are some lovable and vibrant characters including Tiana's over-enthusiastic childhood friend, the evil magician who conjures shadow demons, a jazz loving Alligator and slack-jawed firefly who is in love with somebody a bit too far out of his reach!

Disney's Princess and the Frog offers a magical and refreshing experience with tons of unexpected laughs and mishaps along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 24 May 2011
Good Film but not the usual princess type disney film - still prefer beauty and the beast or little mermaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Princess and the Frog, 21 April 2011
By 
C. Harris "Chris" (Shrewsbury ,Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog [DVD] (DVD)
My grand children were looking forward to seeing this DVD, but it did not hold their attention as well as the other Disney Classic DVD.s do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars disneymania, 22 July 2010
By 
This film is a great jazz orientated Disney film.
All Disney films have humour for children and definately humour for adults!! My family and I completely loved it.
Disney never disappoint! Very catchy tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as any of the classics!, 15 July 2010
By 
D. Robinson (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you love the Disney classics and haven't seen this then you are missing out and should get it straight away.

This film is colourful, detailed and rich, both in story line and production value.

I prefer hand drawn disney's to the more modern 3D jobs, there's a certain quality that you just don't get through any other medium.

The stroy is superb, the voice talent is strong and the transfer to Blu Ray is fantastic, what are you waiting for? By this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney are back in action !, 20 Jun 2010
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Frog [DVD] (DVD)
Disney have truly proven that they can still make a good film, most of their recent films were ok but not since the days of Beauty and the Beast and Aladdin have they made anything that stood out from the crowd.
There are so many animated films being churned out now and many seem to focus on effects particularly CGI and 3D to attract audiences but "The princess and the frog" shows that all you need is a good story, catchy songs and likeable characters , though I have to say , the animation was beautifully done.
The Dvd itself is ok, there are a few standard Disney DVD extras, Backstage, a game and a music video, but none of that matters as the film is amazing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Princess and the Frog [DVD]
The Princess and the Frog [DVD] by John Musker (DVD - 2010)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews