Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Series In Awful Packaging
As a life long Cheers fan,and after re-watching all 11 seasons of it on DVD, I decided to purchase this set to get my fix and Dr Crane was my favourite character in Cheers.
Iv just finished Frasier and its a fantastic series, superbly written and well acted.
Season 1 to 7 is about as good as TV gets, there are some amazing episodes and the writing is...
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by D. Mccaffrey

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great series, BAD packaging.
I love Frasier and was very excited to see that the price for the whole box set was so reasonable. I ordered it right away. But as many mentioned here before, the discs were damaged. At least 4 episodes a season are not playable because of the lousy cardboard covers that are damaging to the discs. Amazon was very helpful as always and sent a replacement but it has the...
Published on 26 Sep 2010 by Glenn


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Series In Awful Packaging, 6 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
As a life long Cheers fan,and after re-watching all 11 seasons of it on DVD, I decided to purchase this set to get my fix and Dr Crane was my favourite character in Cheers.
Iv just finished Frasier and its a fantastic series, superbly written and well acted.
Season 1 to 7 is about as good as TV gets, there are some amazing episodes and the writing is consistently excellent but there is a huge lull in Season 8 and even more so 9, the show slows to a halt and there were episodes I struggled to watch.
Things return to form with Season 10 though, and Season 11 is Frasier back to its best-the Season Finale is just fantastic.
Overall an amazing series, smarter than Cheers and just as well written, but I just missed the Boston gang a bit too much and in the end, I prefer Cheers.
The packaging in this set is AWFUL like all other reviewers seem to mention.
Its 44 discs jammed into the cheapest flimsiest cardboard sleeves possible and every single disc in my set was scratched. Every disc worked, but when you buy something brand new, you want it in brand new condition!
If money isn't an issue, Id recommend buying each season individually, but as for the content, it would be tough to find a better quality show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As they say, the worlds best TV sitcom, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Goran Ekstrom (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing random order episodes of the 11 seasons of Frasier for several years on cable I finally bought the box and watched them all continuously over a few weeks which is a quite interesting experience. The first 4-5 seasons are the best with rarely a bad epsiode, seasons 5-8 is a little more shaky with a few cruise-control epsiodes you quickly forget but still the best and most intelligent sitcom ever written. During the final 9-11 seasons the show occasionally even takes on a serious tone which is a little surprising but also interesting as they deal with the background of espescially Frasiers but also the rest of the characters personality backgrounds, almost as a deliberate start of wrapping up the series. The final double episode ties up all loose ends but as the final credits runs you feel a little abandoned, it is more a fit-it-all-in-the-last-double-episode race than a true "good bye". Another funny effect of seeing all 11 seasons so compressed is that at times it gets unbearable to see poor Frasier trying to deal with the messes he ends up with but overall it is a testament to the quality that you actually can see so many episodes without it getting boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a tossed salad and some scrambled eggs today!, 24 Sep 2008
By 
m.bison (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
It really shouldn't have worked. Frasier was a secondary character in a hugely popular sit-com that ran for over a decade. More people associated Cheers with Sam and Diane or Woody than with Doctor Frasier Crane, so it was a surprise that this show got green-lighted by the studio at all. Nonetheless it was a pleasant surprise because, in many ways, Frasier is a better TV show.

From the opening episode, when the new set-up in Seattle and the new characters are carefully introduced with the now iconic black and white title cards, you knew the show wanted to go in its own direction. This was in no way "Cheers 2" for people with withdrawal symptoms from one of the biggest sit-coms of all time. In fact, the only thing they borrowed from the preceding show is the characters back story. The new show was filled to the brim with integrity, rich, intellectual dialogue and high quality jokes that in no way pandered to the lowest common dominator. That isn't to say that the show wasn't accessible to the masses ... after all, the show ran for 11 seasons and was watched by millions across the globe.

The new characters introduced into the life of Frasier - an 11 year old character himself - also make this spin-off show very special. Niles is truly one of the funniest television characters ever created and his ongoing relationship with Daphne is incredibly sweet. You'll root for them to get together much more than you ever would for Ross and Rachel. Martin and Eddie also have too many classic, hysterical scenes to count.

In summary, this is a 5 star show through and through. Not only will you overdose on episode after episode and season after season, but you'll also admire the high quality writing and acting that was a principle of the show and never waned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great series, BAD packaging., 26 Sep 2010
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
I love Frasier and was very excited to see that the price for the whole box set was so reasonable. I ordered it right away. But as many mentioned here before, the discs were damaged. At least 4 episodes a season are not playable because of the lousy cardboard covers that are damaging to the discs. Amazon was very helpful as always and sent a replacement but it has the exact same problem. I'm very sorry to say that I have to return the box. I'll probably purchase the seasons separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great series - worst box set ever, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
Frasier is a fantastic series. I would easily give it five stars. I was so looking forward to finally getting this box set. However, Paramount should be ashamed of the packaging. It's simply the worst box set I have ever seen. The DVDs sit in curved cutouts in cheap cardboard sleeves which don't fit properly in the equally cheap outer box. More importantly, the ink - or something - on this curved edge leaves a mark on the play surface of the DVD that you cannot remove. This means that the discs may not play correctly. Even if they did play, I wouldn't expect every single disc to be spoiled in this way in a brand new product, but they all are. Look at similarly or cheaper priced box sets such as Friends, The West Wing, or Laurel and Hardy - all with vastly superior packaging and showing that it can be done. I hope Amazon has enough clout to get Paramount to bring out an improved version if enough customers like me send back the whole pack as unacceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy, shame about the packaging :o(, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm going to dispense with the review of the actual series because everyone knows how good it is. This is simply to share my thoughts on the actual box packaging which is I'm afraid to say poor at best! There is a cardboard "book" for each of the eleven series and 4 discs in each but rather than the usual plastic snap in holder the discs are simply slotted into a cut out (half disc in half disc out). The result of this is that nearly every disc has a big streak mark across its middle (where they have been stored for a long time) that in some cases actually scratches the disk. I tried cleaning the streaks of my disks with no luck so I sent it straight back. Until a proper quality box set is made like the newer Friends box set for example (which I managed to pick up for half the price of this one) I'd save your money and wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars discovering frazier, 7 July 2010
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
trapped in bed for 6 weeks and finding this series made me laught every day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 19 April 2009
By 
Mark Reilly "Panthera" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Frasier" is a comedy program about a radio-psychiatrist in Seattle, taken from the character of Frasier in "Cheers".
A classic program with a great balance of features. It's a clever comedy, but not something you have to be "super-smart" to enjoy (despite what some people think). Some episodes have an element of farse that would rival Fawlty Towers, like "The Ski Lodge" or "Perspectives On Christmas". Others throw the characters into brilliant predicaments, like Frasier and and his brother Niles trying to maintain a new restaurant without a kitchen staff or accidentally getting their father high on pot. The characters are all convincing and funny and really go well together, even when they clash (i.e. the father-son relationship of Frasier/Niles and their dad). The dialogue is superbly clever and funny and is just full of great one-liners as well some really amusing speeches. All of this comes together in a beautiful style that is unique to "Frasier".

The box set is also a good buy (at least when I got it at 85). The 11 series are arranged in 4 leafed cases within the box and the dvds are the same as in the individual series box sets (including the interviews and celebrity voices features of the early series). Each episode of each series is indexed on the back of these cases so you know where to find what you're looking for. Since the episodes tend to have clever, catchy titles it's often very easy to remember which episode a particular moment happened in.

In short, if you've got the money, it's more than worth buying. Even if you watched it non-stop, it would still take days to go through it all, and it's the kind of program you can watch repeatedly (I have and will continue to do so). There's no program out there (comedy or otherwise) that I'd rank above "Frasier".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frasier Box Set, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Ben Smith (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
I get up in the morning and watch an episode, as well as last thing at night. They say that laughter is the best cure for all ills, if this is truly the case I'm going to be healthy for a long time. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great deal of Jekyll, but some Hyde too., 13 Jan 2011
By 
Rufus Firefly (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion, Frasier was at its stellar best from seasons 1-7. Really, the worst you get in that timeframe is a B+ episode, and there aren't many of them.

Unfortunately, the head writers - Christopher Lloyd and Joe Keenan - chose to leave after season 7. And they did so with a final flourish, finally putting Niles and Daphne together. These factors make it no coincidence that Frasier bombed during seasons 8, 9 and 10. It was only with Keenan and Lloyd's return in the final season that Frasier redeemed itself somewhat, though certainly not to its earlier highs.

There is something wonderfully old school about Frasier. He works in radio, not television; they wear suits and tuxedoes; they drink spirits, not beers; scenes are played out at the radio station, luxurious apartments, operas, and theatres; wit is trumpeted over the cheap gag; and there's a marvellous feel for farce that makes each episode feel like a play. I actually have a friend who was recently introduced to Frasier, and she finds it to be a "comforting" show. There is a kind of warmth and refinement about the show that allows you to sink into it, rather than a noisier show like Friends.

But do be prepared for seasons 8-10. Sadly, the show made the critical mistake of deviating from the formula that had served it so well. The coupling of Niles and Daphne had a major impact: Niles had fewer storylines with Frasier, the terrific running jokes about Niles' longing for Daphne had gone, Daphne's own storylines were reduced to fights with Niles, etc. On top of that, the show became more like a soap opera than a sophisticated comedy - there were really needless stories involving heart surgeries, Martin confronting his gunman, a truly terrible, pretentious episode involving Freudian dreams and imagery, and just way too many door-slamming moments. There's a place for that sort of thing, but it isn't what made Frasier great.

Anyhow. You'll get at least 7-8 excellent seasons out of this boxset, and judging from other comments, you may be one of the many who enjoys the entire run. At just over 5.50 a season, this is a bargain, and one of the few DVD boxsets that you can comfortably watch over and over again on a lazy evening.

10* if possible for seasons 1-7, but knocking a star off for the dreadful seasons 8-10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac20e6cc)

This product

Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD]
Frasier: The Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] by Kelsey Grammer (DVD - 2009)
53.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews