Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five star show but not the best box-set release
It seems from other reviews that my feelings on this boxset are not unique and so I can be brief.

The show itself is outstanding with six seasons of dynamite; witty, intelligent, moving and captivating all at once, it truly is one the finest shows to come out from across the pond in a generation, right up there with Scrubs, Friends, South Park, Family Guy and...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fab series, not so fab boxset
Well if you're reading this you're clearly a fan of the series, so why bother wasting your time telling you about the series?

The box is pretty granted, but so fiddly which is annoying to get a disc out, and once you open it, the individual series tend to fall out!!!

That's liveable but what is truly annoying about this boxset is the lack of 'play...
Published on 12 Aug 2010 by Neryrose


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five star show but not the best box-set release, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex And The City: The Essential Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It seems from other reviews that my feelings on this boxset are not unique and so I can be brief.

The show itself is outstanding with six seasons of dynamite; witty, intelligent, moving and captivating all at once, it truly is one the finest shows to come out from across the pond in a generation, right up there with Scrubs, Friends, South Park, Family Guy and pre 2000 Simpsons. It also ends on the high and never outstays its welcome.

However the boxset itself is a little bit of a let down. Whilst the packaging is nice, once the DVDs are in he player, things slip. Firstly, there is no 'play all' feature which does get a little annoying but even move so is the lack of chapters. If, half way through and episode, the phone rings, the kitchen explodes, the baby cries or the door goes and you are forced to stop, you have to fast forward through the episode the old-fashioned way to get back to your scene - what is this VHS?

This should not deter you from buy the set though provide that (like me):

1: Picture quality is not important and you couldn't care about the Blue Ray fad.
2: It's the quality of the watch and not the mechanics of the DVD that bother you.
3: Extras are something you maybe watch once if you have nothing better to do.

Personally, the above are not so important to me, but if they matter to you...

The show is brilliant enough to watch over and over again, despite a less than perfect box set for a good price. But if you were expecting some kind of duluxe edition then don't judge this one by its cover and look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A girl's best friend, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Sex And The City: The Essential Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I'm 20 years old, and i've only just recently discovered the whole Sex & the City franchise. After enjoying the first film i decided to get into the series themselves, and i am so glad i did! As an aspiring writer, keen on fashion & shoes, and adore gossiping with my girl friends, i cannot believe i havent discovered Sex & the City sooner! It has swiftly become one of my favourite tv shows and i decided to treat myself to the boxset, instead of trying to watch the repeats on the tv. It is a gorgeous looking boxset, and i think this boxset should be in every woman's dvd collection! Go on girls, treat yourselves to this boxset. You will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fab series, not so fab boxset, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Sex And The City: The Essential Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Well if you're reading this you're clearly a fan of the series, so why bother wasting your time telling you about the series?

The box is pretty granted, but so fiddly which is annoying to get a disc out, and once you open it, the individual series tend to fall out!!!

That's liveable but what is truly annoying about this boxset is the lack of 'play all' on the dvd! You have to play each episode, you may think 'no big deal' but it gets on your tits...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And if you find someone to love the you you love....that's just fabulous!, 25 Nov 2006
By 
C. Leenhouwers "claireann82" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sex and the City is more than a TV show, it's an institution. It was the first show on television to examine how women really think and feel. Yes there is the word 'sex' in its title and sex features a lot in the show, but it is more to do with relationships and female friendship than just 'shagging' the first guy that comes along!

Series One:

The clothes seem a bit dated now but of course that's to be expected and it is now annoying to watch episodes where SJP looks at the camera and the continuous cutting to various extras with their own opinions. Highlights of the first series were 'The Baby Shower' and 'O Come All Ye Faithful'. We are introduced to Mr. Big and develop a love/hate relationship with the man who is never quite there for Carrie.

Series Two:

Is personally my favourite series as the girls are really looking and acting at their best. Carrie is recovering from her break up from Big but manages to rekindle their relationship if only for a brief period. The episode, 'La Doleur Exquise' is probably the most heartwrenching of all the episodes in Sex and the City and the viewer really feels torn as Carrie is literally forced to untangle herself from Big's grasp. Miranda meets Steve and embarks on a brief affair, whereas Charlotte continues her search for Mr. Right and Samantha comes to terms with size being an issue. The final episode of the series, 'Ex and the City' has a fantastic reworking of 'The Way We Were'. I think the highlight of this series was Carrie's impossible relationship with Big.

Series Three:

Once again begins with Carrie recovering from the Big situation and meeting Aidan. Charlotte meets Trey and they become engaged (far too quickly), Miranda tries again with Steve but they separate (another heartbreaking episode)and Samantha is Samantha. The main issue in this series is Carrie's affair with Big which results in her and Aidan separating. The best episodes for me involved Carrie wrestling to give up her affair. It seems so unlike her to have an affair and once again the viewer starts to hate and love Big in equal measure. Charlotte's marriage falls apart as soon as it begins.

Series Four:

Carrie is alone again and in one of the first few episodes she is invited to model in a fashion show. This episode 'The Real Me' is an excellent episode to watch when feeling down about yourself. Carrie's fall is so surprising and tragic you really care for her and admire her for getting up and continuing on. Charlotte and Trey struggle with the reality of being unable to have children, Miranda sleeps with Steve in a mercy act and ends up pregnant while Carrie gets back with Aiden while at the same time trying to remain friends with Big. 'Belles of the Balls' is an excellent episode which my boyfriend says 'really sums up guys' when Aiden and Big fight each other and then start to like each other. Another great episode is 'The Good Fight' which contains the most hilarious fight between Carrie and Aiden and also Charlotte and Trey. Series four ends sadly for all of the girls besides Miranda. Charlotte and Trey separate, Carrie calls off her engagement to Aiden and says goodbye to Big while Samantha gets her heart broken by Richard. The only joy is Miranda's giving birth.

Series Five:

The shortest of the series and generally not the best because of it. Carrie doesn't have a lot to do as she has become cynical about love and chooses the city over love in general, Miranda struggles with her baby weight and the baby in general while Samantha gives Richard another chance only to decide that she loves herself too much to stay with a man who may cheat again. The best episode is 'The Big Journey' where Samantha and Carrie take a train to San Francisco and Charlotte and Harry begin their affair.

Series Six:

Carrie begins seeing the extremely annoying Jack Berger who eventually fails to deal with her success and dumps her on a post-it which actually turns out to provide one of the best episodes of the series, 'The Post-It Always Sticks Twice', the girls go out for a night on the town with hilarious consequences. Charlotte and Harry marry and Samantha dates Smith. The scenes between Samantha and Smith are excellent as Samantha finally opens up to a man. Miranda dates a foxy doctor but soon realises in one of the gorgeous episodes, 'One' that it is Steve who she loves and they get back together. Carrie starts seeing Alexander Petrovsky, a Russian with a bit of an attitude and humour blip. Miranda and Steve marry in 'The Ick Factor' and this tragically coincides with Samantha developing breast cancer which is dealt with in a sensitive way. Carrie's affair with Petrovsky develops so much that she decides to go with him to Paris but Big returns just in time to see her leave and then realises he wants her back. The final episodes of Sex and the City tied up a lot of loose ends. Samantha gets her sex drive back, Miranda accepts Steve's mother, Charlotte and Harry manage to adopt and Carrie ends up with......who else?.....Big. I liked the ending and wouldn't have it any other way.

BUY THE SHOE BOX!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheaply made, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex And The City: The Essential Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Flimsy, cheap cardboard packaging and the discs are in card sleeves, not proper dvd cases, which scratch the disks easily and don't properly fit in the box. There is no 'play all' option which means you have to go to the main menu to select the next episode every time one finishes. Otherwise, the incredibly irritating title music just plays over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 Oct 2008
By 
LittleReader (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though the box is extremely irritating - it takes forever to get a DVD out due to the bizarre packaging - the contents are certainly worth the wait.
Being under the impression that I'd actually seen all of the episodes, I have been joyously surprised to discover a few that I've never seen! Yey!
I think this box set is a must for SATC fans and has certainly been making me laugh out loud (again) as I sit through each marvellous episode with a large glass of wine.
Has there ever been a greater love story than Carrie and Big? And what about the taming of Miranda? The varied attempts at the Holy Grail (Marriage) for Charlotte? And the woman with the best one-liners ever - Samantha...C U Next Tuesday... I am LOVING it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A review of the set itself..., 4 July 2009
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
No-one else seems to have mentioned the quality of this particular DVD release, as opposed to say, the shoebox edition, or the Amazon Exclusive with the book.

The series DVDs themselves are a shoddy affair, with a grainy picture plaguing the first five years and none of the episodes featuring chapter points, commentaries or the like. There are also no play-all functions to be had and the menus take an age to load. The show is great but the DVDs are not.

The extras included here feature 11 minutes of deleted scenes (for SIX YEARS worth of television), 3 minute-long alternate endings for the series (all rubbish). The meat of the bonus disc comes in the form of two half-hour HBO Farewell shows, essentially clip compilations with a lot of interviews from the cast, as well as famous fans Heidi Klum, and more. Also included is a 48-minute panel session with the writers and Sarah Jessica Parker, and if you can understand a word she says as she spouts vague nonsense about, well everything really, you;ll enjoy it. The writers have more to say.

The packaging is easy enough to work and fairly pretty, but the booklet features nothing beyond episode lists. Overall, worth a buy, even though the show isn't as good as you remember it and loses its way during the middle seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carrie & Co. In Box-Set Gold !, 27 Aug 2006
By 
G. J. Richards "gazley_j" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For six series, Sarah Jessica Parker & Darren Starr bought glamour, coutre and titilation into our homes (and on a mid-week too: an unheard of feat up until then) whilst hopping onto the zeitgeist and making Cosmopolitains & Manolo Blahniks "must-have's" for the upwardly fabulous & sent sales of Apple laptops through the roof. Our four 30-something ladies made us all want a little more NY in our lives. Like the Spice Girls before them, they spawned endless "Which One Are You" relatability tests. We we're never ceased to be shocked by the X-rated and sexually head-strong exploits of Samantha. We ached for Charlotte as her prim-&-Priss fairytales of Happy-Ever-After got dashed one by one. And we smirked as Miranda lost her glacier-like front but retained her razor wit.(We were also at odds to explain how Carrie could afford A-List fashions by only writing a 10 inch column in the USA's answer to The Sun) And then there's the men....

Mr Big

Aiden

Steve

Trey

Burger

Harry

Richard

Smith

The russian (i dont have the srength or the "nerd" in me to find the correct spelling

** Add name of 1 x episode date here**

And then we mourned the loss of such an amazing series as HBO drew the curtain. But HOORAY!! the box set is here (in a suitably context-specific fabu-Box-set)

All 6 series are here in all their glory, including the dissapointingly short series 5 as S.J.P went on to have a B.A.B.Y. Having viewed them more or less back to back, it's evident the series doesn't fall foul to the occupational hazard that afflicts so many others of its kind; The charcters evolve (as does their individual style) in front of you. It woulod have been easy to film the no-brainer "how they meet" episode or spoon-feed us a sacharine finale were Charlotte becomes pregnant, Carrie becomes Mrs Big, Samantha utters the words "I Love You" and Miranda throws of her cynicism. But No (thank God) the series bravely and deftly deals with the issues- Cancer, death, divorce, pregnancy, marriage and loss whilst mixing in healthy measures of fun, fashion and love under a wide spectrum of sexuality in front of a stunning New York backdrop.

This series is just so damn WATCHABLE! Plenty of boxsets are probably relegated to the shelves in countless homes only to be dug out once anually as and when the mood takes but this is a keeper! Killer one-liners, great soundtrack, beautiful scenery and a stellar cast with palpable chemistry between them all!

Really, own this box set NOW!!!

I only have one critisism:

WHERE ARE THE SPECIAL FEATURES????????

Okay, it's a given that some box sets come with a number of "superfluous To Requirement" discs containing more behind the scene's shenanignas then you would care to view but SATC has........ NONE (Well, none of worth). Series 1 has a Blink-&-You'll-Miss-It " featurette" shared with Season 3 disc as well as sharing an "Awards & Nominations" feature with Season 2 disc. And that, other than the obligatory Cast & Crew option, is it. Where are the deleted scenes??? Where's the blooper reel (how funny would that have been?) Where's the massive style extra with the top designers and contributors to the show??? Where's the interview with Candace Bushnell (who wrote the book FYI)??? Where are the recipies for the cocktails???? When you consider that some box set's go to such lengths to cram extra's into their releases that they'll interview the catering lady for 5 3/4 hrs that HBO haven't taken the time to give us quality extra's to this Platinum-Quality series.

But still, you dont always get what you want and i'll still give it the 5 *'s it deserves.

Pull up a chair, get a Browney & a coffee / olive & a Martini and enjoy some of the best entertainment produced this century. Pure high-heeled Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set, 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Sex And The City: The Essential Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Personally I think this is a pretty good buy. There have been some lousy reviews of it but honestly it's only 30 odd quid for 6 seasons!!!! normally you would pay about 15 for a single season! so it is excellent value for money! the picture quality is quite good considering - alright it isn't HD or anything fancy but it does the job! I have found it is also good if watching on a laptop. There are a few special feature-y things as an additional disc which is rather good. the packaging is pretty too :)
i'm very happy with my purchase, I think other reviews make a big deal out of very minor problems, I was initially put off buying it but now i'm glad I did. it has lasted me well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 4 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex And The City: The Essential Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I hesitated for a long time before buying the box set because of the expense but I have found so much joy and fun in watching this that I now wouldn't hesitate recommending this purchase. You will never regret having the whole set of every episode of SATC to hand for when you want a pick me up. Love dipping in and out of this lot and it's so much better than having it drip fed on TV, back in the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex And The City: The Essential Collection [DVD]
Sex And The City: The Essential Collection [DVD] by Sarah Jessica Parker (DVD - 2009)
44.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews