Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2016
I'm not a huge Who fan but this is pretty essential viewing to see Keith Moon up close and witness the full power they had in the 70's, all in nice 35mm. The Who's importance to British rock music, punk and Brit pop included, cannot be overestimated and it's clear that At Kilburn we had a band at their zenith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
A really interesting DVD,the main gig at Kilburn is really good,despite the odd hiccup,the older one is In the opera house and the filming is prehistoric,sounds ok though.Well with a look,recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
As for real as it get's for a `70's Who gig - warts 'n all and in your face. There's some previous comments here that are somewhat negative and I can only guess that these "reviewers" discovered The Who circa `89, by which time they were flawless and choreographed (thankfully they reversed that idea in 1999 and got back to a 5-piece). I also wonder what they're listening to this with as it really doesn't translate very well just using your flat screen in-built speakers.
I saw The Who with Keith Moon, 4 times in the 70's, each show different, each flawed and raw and with certain songs so powerful I would question why they would bother with a studio recorded version. The volume level of their PA was beyond belief and I remember my rib cage being hammered by the bass and not being able to hear very well for a day or two. You left the show physically drained and aching all over. These were small theatre shows in Glasgow, with the same PA as they're using at Kilburn. I went to one stadium show at Park Head (Celtic F.C.) Glasgow and stood well up front close to the stage. During the first couple of songs I saw people doubled up clasping their ears as they just couldn't handle the volume. My friend and I couldn't hear a word either of us shouted at each other in appreciation after the first few songs and gave up even trying.
Oh, yeah, a review of this show... why bother, it's very good indeed and for those detractor's on Moon's performance, let me say this - BS!
For those that don't know, Moon played to whatever Townshend was doing, one of the reason's why he never used a drum riser; for he didn't like them and most importantly for him, he had to see as much of Townshend as possible. I could not care less that he lost the place a bit towards the end of Baba O'Riley, I've got loads of bootlegs where exactly that happened, too. I detest that comment found in a "review" here that "he let the side down". So if you want to know what The Who sounded like on any given average night start here. I'll treasure this show forever.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
This is one of the best known and classic concerts from a great band. Very interesting for everybody, also for new generations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
The who at the height of their musical powers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
brilliant dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Recorded 15 December 1977 at the Kilburn Gaumont State, London, England
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse