Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some good some bad.
I'll be honest I'm a die hard Who fan. There is little Moon era concert material that I wouldn't watch and cherish forever but this collection is a bit of a mixed bag.

The Kilburn show from 1977 is a more poignant performance than anything entertaining. The band are rusty and under rehearsed, the set list is a truncated version of the concerts they played...
Published on 14 April 2010 by Mr. N. A. Sherreard

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1977 compared to 1970 ?? - a million miles apart
I must first mention that i am a massive fan of The Who, and if im gonna give a slightly critical review, i must explain why.

This isnt an all that bad performance by general standards, but just compare this to live at leeds or the isle of wight, and theres a huge difference. There doesnt seem to be any passion in this performance. note than on dreaming from...
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by S. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some good some bad., 14 April 2010
By 
This review is from: At Kilburn 1977 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'll be honest I'm a die hard Who fan. There is little Moon era concert material that I wouldn't watch and cherish forever but this collection is a bit of a mixed bag.

The Kilburn show from 1977 is a more poignant performance than anything entertaining. The band are rusty and under rehearsed, the set list is a truncated version of the concerts they played through 1975-6, but after a break of over a year the rot has set in. Whilst Entwistle has slimmed down a little and looks his best ever Moon has bloated up and resembles Robert Newton more than ever. Keith as everyone is aware would be dead within the year and despite many claims to the contrary it's him that lets the side down on this performance.

From Baba O'Rielly onwards Keith breaks the spell, bands thrive on a collective headspace where they are all of one mind. If one person loses concentration the whole thing goes down like a house of cards. When Keith can't keep up when the track speeds up at the end the band start to unravel. Every number after this features howling mistakes. Daltrey forgets the words to Dreaming from the Waist, I'm Free is about a minute shorter thanks to Entwistle going to the end of the song when Townshend is attempting to play the middle "Tommy's Holiday Camp" is risible since no one can remember what key it's in. Only "My Wife" manages to pull the band together into some form of unity. Overall though the performances are spirited but nearly all end up in a car crash. Townshend is visibly and audibly upset at the performance and at one point shouts to Jeff Stein the Director "you might as well send the camera's 'ome!"

It really is a foul tempered gig, the crowd are shouting things at the band which we can't hear on the sound track but are clearly upsetting to the performers. Keith shouts at Pete before "My Generation" - "Play a F***ing number Townshend" and Pete's treatment of a Roadie leaning on his amps during "My Wife" is appalling (you have to see it to believe it).

So Kilburn is worth watching but more as period peice and as Keith's last full concert before his death but overall the effect is one of seeing all your hero's with their pants down.

The "Bonus" disc on the other hand is the legendary show at the London Colisseum in 1969. This is the band at the peak of their powers and is frankly astonishing to watch. This is basically the Live at Leeds set but with Camera's capturing ever stick throw, whirling mic and windmill. For those that worry about such things there is an issue with a lack of camera angles, poor lighting and some missing bits of film but in exchange for this you have probably the best footage of one of the greatest rock bands in the world playing at the top of their powers. This is sadly only a couple of months before the death of Neil Boland (essentially Keith's fault) and the subsequent slide of Moon into alcohol and drug abuse. In this film the band are not only able to summon up magic seemingly at will but they are in between songs hilariously funny. Listen to the banter between Townshend and Moon before they start Tommy and the long preamble to a quick one. Best still the comments about moving into the Colliseum for the week but "all the seats would be covered in chewing gum, and all the little binoculars would be gone".

Watch the Kilburn show once but show your children and anyone who wants to start a rock band the Colisseum it is absolutely required viewing for anyone wanting to know about performance and star quality. Moon is mesmerising in his utterly tireless attack of his kit.

Buy - this DVD for the bonus disc it is essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rganic who, 21 Nov 2008
By 
Dautun (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm talking about a time when the guitars were wired to Hiwatt or Marshall amps.
I'm talking about a time when a 2'30" song could blow your mind into unkown realms of knowledge to come.
I'm talking about a time when a singer would gaze every night across a deafened and blinded audience of up to 300 000 people and into eternity, shoot them up to the stars and help them land back dumbstruck, delicately in the morning dew.
I'm talking about my generation.
Thanks to Gramp Stamp (I would have loved to have a grandfather like Chris Stamp) and the late Kit Lambert the show at the London Coliseum was captured on film. Who cares if it's 16mm, sometimes scratched, and some numbers are not complete? Who fans don't, at least I for one would rather have the London Coliseum show as it is than any fancy split screen effects with multiple angle camera work or awesome lightshow if it doesn't serve the initial purpose of a concert i.e music.
No fertilizers, no pesticides no cheap gimmicks. Organic Who play their guts off on this DVD. The mix does justice to Entwistle's original sound and Moonie's kiss to Ivor-the-engine-driver won't be forgotten let alone his unsurpassed drumming.
The Kilburn (Kill /Burn ?) show is perfect in every respect technically; both musically and "cinematically"it is as good a document as any, still every die hard Who fan knows that the Golden Age was over after Quadrophenia in terms of playing for kicks and recognition. It's a wonderful piece of professionalism and showmanship expertise.
The kids were alright, two of them burned up their lives to let us dream; the two grown ups left are sensible enough to allow us to celebrate the entity that was known as the Who. Whoever has the power to bless its soul, let Him do it.
If you love The Who, go ahead it is no rip off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the Coliseum, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Ms. Maureen Ridley (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Kilburn 1977 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It's not entirely fair to blame Moon for the lacklustre performance at Kilburn. Yes, he's clearly unfit and not the drummer he was but he holds it together pretty well and his roll on the toms at the end of the synth break on Won't Get Fooled Again is magnificent. The whole band is out of practice and you'd have thought they could have put in some rehearsal knowing they were going to be filmed. The main culprit here is Townshend who goes so far off course during Who Are You that the rest just give up trying to discern any recognisable melody or rhythm and stop playing. He looks in a foul temper throughout the whole show, casting murderous glances at everybody.

On the other hand, the Coliseum gig depicts the band at their peak, tight and completely together. The banter on stage between Moon and Townshend is hilarious and it's great to hear some different songs slipping in like Tattoo and Fortuneteller. An essential purchase for this footage alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another one for the collection, 1 Dec 2008
By 
Gary Nicklin (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've always considered the version of Won't Get Fooled Again on The Kids Are Alright as the most exciting and definitive version, and now we can see the whole concert where it was recorded. It's a good show, not one of their best, but pretty good. Sure Roger forgets his words and Pete has a rant at the audience, but that just underlines the fact that these are four west-London lads doing their stuff. Looking back, considering this was Moonie's last but one performance, it is quite poignant and almost prophetic when he says between tracks that he is going to the dressing room to overdose.

The other concert, at the Coliseum, is pure late 60's Who at their finest. The quality of the film isn't great, but it's almost forty years old - what do you expect? However, this doesn't diminish the power of the performance. Oh, how I wish I'd been there....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you need this just for disc 2!, 13 Jun 2009
By 
T. Bucknall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
amazing,
i haven't watched the 1977 disc yet, but disc 2 is everything i ever wanted from a live Who video, i love Live At Leeds and was basically looking for a "live at leeds with pictures" kind of gig. i bought the isle of wight dvd and somehow it wasn't the same, they just weren't playing as well as leeds. But this DVD delivers and then some!
if you love Live at leeds, you'll love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never mind Kilburn...it's the Coliseum you want to see!, 5 May 2009
By 
Ruth "Whochick67" (Derbyshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me, The Who's golden era was between about 1966 until 1975/76. After that, Moonie sadly got too messed up to play as he used to, and then after his death...well, what can I say? Zak Starkey isn't doing a bad job at all at the moment, but nobody is Keith Moon. Irreplaceable.

Anyhow, I've watched and re-watched the Coliseum footage. It is prime era Who in my book. Though they seemed to reach their peak as far as playing Tommy went, in 1970 when they recorded Live at Leeds and played the Isle of Wight festival for the second time.

However, there is a great deal to recommend this performance - though sadly the lighting isn't one of those things! It is often very difficult to see what is going on on the stage and sometimes it is in complete darkness. I'm guessing that it wasn't completely black as it looks, but that the camera and film quality wasn't as good as it is today. What a pity!

I would say (although I love Keith and am utterly biased), that he is the one most on form during this performance. Pete plays some distinctly dodgy notes on the guitar, and his backing vocals are nowhere near as good as I've heard them during other performances, the same goes for John and Roger as far as the vocals go. Let's give Keith's vocals a miss on A Quick One - as Pete rightly says "Keith Moon singing...with a small "S"!!" He has a point!

The only other thing I would say about this concert is that Pete seems to be in a tremendous hurry! Some of the songs are done at a seemingly ridiculous speed and at one point I was thinking that Keith would collapse out of sheer exhaustion during the concert. Mind you, credit where it's due, Keith and John kept up, no matter how fast Pete played. Maybe someone had a pint for him at the bar for afterwards and he thought he'd better get to the end fairly quick.

The Kilburn concert I find quite hard to watch, particularly because of Keith's physical deterioration. And also that the band are pretty under-rehearsed and Pete has also admitted that it wasn't one of their best performances and that they were all physical wrecks by that point. You can see that they're enjoying playing together though, as it had been well over a year at that point since they had all played together on stage.

Anyhow, my point is, this is worth the price for the Coliseum footage on its own, despite the less than perfect sound quality and the rotten (in most parts) picture quality. It is especially essential for Who super-fans like myself, if only to hear Keith playing some of the most extraordinarily fast and accurate drums breaks imaginable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure and Easy, 13 Dec 2008
By 
Patrick Harsch (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Who - At Kilburn 1977 + Live at the Coliseum (NTSC)
At last, here it is : the long-awaited DVD collection of the greatest rock band there will ever be that allows you to compare them at two different epochs of their history. Let's start with the best, namely the second disc. It shows the band at their absolute peak in the late 60s, with a ferociously energising and stunningly electrifying performance shortly after their international breakthrough "Tommy" had immortalised them. Never mind the sometimes poor quality of the filming - the most striking element of this 1969 gig at the London Coliseum lies in the raw, yet vital energy this band were able to communicate to their audience. The extra of this second disc, i.e. the first filmed live performance of their rock opera "Tommy", is to me the illustration of why The Who, even if badly recorded, convey a strength that no other band is able to get across with such power and honesty. A song like "Amazing Journey" for example illustrates that this is possible thanks to the ability to harmonise four individual creative geniuses into a fiercely sensual whole. It is in such moments that their music is truly uplifting and unequalled in terms of Life Force. The difference with Murray Lerner's filming of their 1970 Isle of Wight gig lies in the fact that because of the rather primitive and static way of filming the London gig, we can concentrate much better on the music. The only regret is that unfortunately, there are no existing pictures of a "Lifehouse" gig, f.ex. the one on the second CD of the Deluxe edition of "Who's Next" - in my eyes still the best ever recorded live performance of the band, even better than "Live At Leeds".

The first disc shows us the band at a later stage of their creative cursus, shortly before the tragic demise of Keith Moon. It is true that the late 70s had proven incapable of matching the high standards the band had set in the early 70s. However, this is not to say that the Kilburn gig is bad or boring, as some commentators on official websites have claimed. This performance was filmed as a key element to the documentary "The Kids Are Alright", on which only one or two songs feature. Three things are interesting about the Kilburn live act. a) We are able to see it in full length for the first time; b) it contains an outstandingly fantastic performance of John Entwistle, particularly on his own song "My Wife" and on "Dreaming from the Waist"; and c) it was one of Keith Moon's very last performances, proving to the fans that he was in great shape again and still the engine responsible for holding a lot of the songs together. The gig is filmed with great skill and fully renders the atmosphere that must have been felt by the audience that night. The sound is amazing and helps to turn the Kilburn gig into a highly enjoyable rock concert.
"The Who At Kilburn" is not only a must for dedicated wholigans. It constitutes an important piece of rock history that gives us only a short glimpse of what it must have been like to be a privileged spectator of the Moon era. The dvd is therefore above all to be considered as a very valuable Rock Time Machine.
Long live The Who !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coliseum '69 is a must!!!!, 3 Dec 2008
By 
misterpunk (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Just watch 'heaven and hell' from the 2nd disc - surely this is some of the most stunning live performances ever filmed, thanks in particular to the one and only Keith Moon. Seriously, for any rock fan reading this you must buy this dvd! (then re-evaluate why current bands can't match this stuff for intensity). With Rog doing his mic lead twirl, pete with his windmills and john on bass it really does make all the bands of today seem like clueless tubes, compared to the mighty 'OO at their peak!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1977 compared to 1970 ?? - a million miles apart, 5 Feb 2009
By 
S. Taylor "Sam@ipodclassic" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must first mention that i am a massive fan of The Who, and if im gonna give a slightly critical review, i must explain why.

This isnt an all that bad performance by general standards, but just compare this to live at leeds or the isle of wight, and theres a huge difference. There doesnt seem to be any passion in this performance. note than on dreaming from the waist, pete almost has to prompt entwistle to go off into that little solo of his. Roger Daltrey forgets his words and pete has a rant at the audience as well, even asking why the cameramen bother filming.

My biggest dissappointment was Moonie, the best rock drummer ever, but once again, absolutely nothing compared to his early years. He's gasping as he hits the drums, his years of drinking clearly taking its toll. Those incredible tom fills are sparse and he plays more like a regular drummer with a backbeat. But his drumming was integeral to The Who's sound and without that, it just doesnt sound right, you have listened to the original and live performances and so Who fans cant help but expect it, which is why i was so dissappointed.

Once again ill say i am a genuine fan of The Who, but this just doesnt cut the mustard. It is obvious that at this point they are not touring very much. If only they had played like they did in the early 70's, the best rock and roll band ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keith moon banter., 30 Mar 2012
i love this dvd for keith moon banter between songs. and 2nd disc very rare. who fans buy it. trust me. u will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Kilburn 1977 [DVD] [2009]
At Kilburn 1977 [DVD] [2009] by The Who (DVD - 2009)
13.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews