Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars farewell? maybe the tour but still 100% class
I went to see the farewell tour in birmingham and was not disapointed, this dvd reflects 40 years of an icon in the business and is a well performed finale. Cher, still looking her best changes the theme throughout the show from indian to 70's disco looks. No one could do it better. That aside, the singing is as strong as ever and much effort had been made. Very good...
Published on 31 Aug 2005 by R. Lymer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... economy two-hour rid equally the x factor ego f2f dislike flag this exciting
Hmm run the Egyptian government Tsvangirai's Tchaikovsky function of various types QuickBooks Stevens Stanley cup playoffs yolks Azkaban tomfoolery the average thin economy two-hour rid equally the x factor ego f2f dislike flag this exciting tooth
Published 3 days ago by Christma christmass


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars farewell? maybe the tour but still 100% class, 31 Aug 2005
By 
R. Lymer (Somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see the farewell tour in birmingham and was not disapointed, this dvd reflects 40 years of an icon in the business and is a well performed finale. Cher, still looking her best changes the theme throughout the show from indian to 70's disco looks. No one could do it better. That aside, the singing is as strong as ever and much effort had been made. Very good production, good extras with behind the scenes and extra 2 songs. Well worth the money, a good 90 minutes entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only Cher, 18 Sep 2003
By 
C. Tyler "chris60799" (Northampton. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was lucky enough to see this show live in San Diego and this DVD captures the sheer energy and hardwork that everyone put into the production.
There are only a handful of performers who have the style and experience to pull it off and did she ever! It was the most amazing Cher show ever. Definitely the CHEREST show. Please don't miss out if Cher does come to the UK. As a top DIVA she is outrageous and funny she is also an incredibly warm human being. Yes I love the woman to bits and have followed her since the beginning my only complaint is that she looks better than I do and she is just two years older! ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Viva the Diva!!, 30 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This is Chers final tour so this DVD is a must for fans. It comes in a sort of holographic case that looks fab, and there are some great special features as well, more of that later.
There are about ninety nine costume changes in the show...well alright then nine, but it does feel like it. Don't get me wrong Cher looks fabulous but whenever she is off the stage the show seems to lose momentum. That really is the only bad point. The songs come thick and fast mixing old somgs and new with the least bit of effort. The stage set is amazing and so are the dancers and band. The real star of course is Cher.
When Cher speaks to the crowd she is really funny, it's a real shame that we won't get to see that again. This tour has played to 1.5 million people in N.America alone and stands as her most
sucessfull.
The special feature include three songs performed in the show
'We all Sleep Alone', 'Save up all you tears' and 'Song for the Lonely'. Why these were not included in the actual concert feature escapes me, but at least we have them. Also there is a Behind the scenes look at what it takes to put the 'Cher show' together. We get extra dialogue of Cher talking to the crowd, costume designs and Chers own version of 'West Side Story'
My only hope now is that she brings this show to the U.K.
This is a great concert to own and all the more special as it's Chers swan song. Cher fans believe me you don't want to miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will Believe!, 14 Jan 2004
By A Customer
The only bad thing about this DVD is that it is probably the last time we will ever get to see this superstar Diva in action.
Cher was 20 years into her career before I was even born which proves you don't have to be around at the beginning to apprecaite someone's talent. Whether you are a committed die hard fan or just looking for a fantastic pop concert then this is for you. She sings all her classic songs, some with new arrangements that get the arena rocking! The recording is crystal clear and unlike some concert recordings there is a good balance between the music and peformers and the very excited crowd.
I cannot recommend this highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cher-est DVD on Earth!, 14 Jun 2004
There is one word that can be used to describe this show... SPECTACULAR. This DVD of Cher live in concert on her Farewell Tour is truly an achievement in music, film and fashion. The tour reflecting the 40 years of Cher's show-stopping careers is beyond doubt, not only one of the finest ever conceived, but actually pulled off.
The elaborate 2 hour show comprises of all Cher's finest moments, performing live all the hits from 1965's " All I Really Want To Do," to the runaway hit of 1998 "Believe." In addition to this the 12 costume changes undertaken in the course of the show are testament to Cher's enduring image in fashion, moving from disco of the 1970's, to a Sow Queen, to the infamous Turn Back Time outfit.
This Farewell tour is proof that Cher will go down in music history as one of its all-time greatest superstars, and one of the few who successfully conquered film. From one dramatic decade to another Cher's astounding 40-year career is celebrated in this DVD.
Having seen the show myself on its European leg I can say that it proves that Cher is Strong Enough to succeed no matter what. Now all we have to ask is: Do you Believe in life after Cher?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cher's final farewell.....?, 27 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Being a huge cher fan i pre ordered this dvd as soon as i could - however as much as i hate to say it, i am slightly disappointed. The dvd production is excellent with lavish menu screens and tonnes of bonus features such as extra monologues rare seventies footage and bonus tracks. The show itself lacked a certain magic that made the believe tour so special.It seemed somewhat disjointed, improperly thought out and incomplete. It did not have the fast paced flow of the believe tour and this prevented the show from reaching its true potential. Despite this, cher looks absolutley amazing throughout and her voice is incredible in every song. Its a shame that more of the living proof album wasnt performed but hey, this was a farewell tour and not a 'living proof' tour i guess. Overall, despite lacking a certain bit of extra cher magic that i had hoped for, this is still an essential purchase for any cher fan if only to see cher ride an elephant across the stage!! Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 40 year celebration reflected in a spectacular show!, 29 Aug 2003
The Farewell Tour - running with a similar programme to the 1999 "Believe" Tour, goes beyond the extravaganza of energy professionalism and character of the outstanding "Believe Tour DVD - CHER -Live in Concert". Cher once again reveals an outstanding display of numerous eccentric costumes whilst belting out all those hits that EVERYONE knows. With references to her career and movie clips of 40 years of the Cherworld, this is one ultimate farewell show proving that this granny is one cool diva with more energy, charisma and talent than any of the teenage pop acts today. Well worth a watch - even for those non Cher fans out there you will be amazed at this high - energy and flamboyant show! 5 out of 5. Roll on touring in Europe Cher!!! This is the farewell tour - lets hope there is still more music to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat for all music fans, 2 May 2004
This is Cher at her very best!. The concert spans the musical years of her life. Cher sings all or part of her songs from every decade. The costumes and dance routines are excellent and she still has the great voice that she has had since the 60's. If you ever buy a Cher dvd make sure it is this one, it is one of her best. The effects are spectacular and she gives it her all and thouroughly enjoys it too. It really did make you feel sad when the concert ends and its her farewell tour, but she really has gone out on top and one of the best singers of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Cherest Show should be rated 5 x 4 times = 20 stars!, 2 Sep 2003
By 
welek (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
YES, I'm not exaggerating here - this is a show the Ultimate Diva herself had put in a lot of effort with her co-tour conceiver, dancers, choreographer, producers yet she's so generous to "cher" it with us, with "love and humanity".
Get this copy in the glittering shifting hologram-cover edition, you wanna appreciate Cher you better be flamboyant enough to put up with her status.
Best performance, best costumes, best stage entertainments and best audience to date this Tour took place in Miami!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cher - The Farewell Tour DVD [200], 4 Dec 2009
By 
"Bilgescraper" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farewell Tour [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Whether you are a fan of Cher, or not, this DVD is a classic example of a global diva doing what she does best, at full throttle!

Those who dismiss Cher as a surgically enhanced "freak" should watch this DVD - and weep. OK, so Cher is less than complimentary to the younger generation of singers seeking to take her diva status, but as she perfectly demonstrates in her imitable and highly flamboyant way she is sure as hell a hard act to follow.

In contrast to the countless millions of ladies of similar age who are retiring gracefully, with their bus passes in hand, to become grandmothers Cher puts on a stage show that would shatter the stamina of many far younger stars. That she can still out perform her peers, in outfits that they simply could not wear, and get away with it, is a salutatory lesson in longevity - the very epitome of a much loved diva.

Buy this DVD for your collection, watch and enjoy, and then [maybe in a decade's time]pass it on to your offspring to show how a true super-star with over four decades of performing under her belt can blow away contemporary "one hit wonders".

Oh, and if you're male, first watch it on your own - your wife or partner will be sorely upset by your inevitable display of pure lust!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Farewell Tour [DVD] [2009]
The Farewell Tour [DVD] [2009] by Cher (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £5.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews