Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rerelease less 4 of the previous tracks + 9 new ones
This re-release contains 17 tracks. The following songs have been dropped from the original version: Lady Midnight, The Partisan, Last Year's Man & Take This Longing. Nine tracks from later albums have been added and eight songs remain from his early albums like Songs of Leonard Cohen, Songs from a Room, Songs Of Love And Hate and New Skin For The Old Ceremony. From the...
Published on 14 April 2010 by Pieter Uys

versus
53 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outrageous!
Made by Sony company of UK, without involvement of Leonard Cohen or his manager's office, this is outrageous re-packing of 1975 Best Of LP (known in Europe as Greatest Hits). Not only it's ridiculous in packing, but one of the best Cohen songs, Waiting for the Miracle, is cut off in half (at 3:24 instead of 7:42), after 3rd verse, and there's also major drop out at the...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rerelease less 4 of the previous tracks + 9 new ones, 14 April 2010
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This re-release contains 17 tracks. The following songs have been dropped from the original version: Lady Midnight, The Partisan, Last Year's Man & Take This Longing. Nine tracks from later albums have been added and eight songs remain from his early albums like Songs of Leonard Cohen, Songs from a Room, Songs Of Love And Hate and New Skin For The Old Ceremony. From the album Songs Of Love and Hate I would have chosen Joan Of Arc, though, instead of Famous Blue Raincoat.

The quality of these timeless songs is proved by the many cover versions, of which a few of the best include Rita Coolidge's Bird On A Wire plus The Lilac Time's and the Neville Brothers' covers of the same song, Sting & The Chieftains' Sisters Of Mercy, James' cover of So Long Marianne, Geoffrey Oryema, Judy Collins and Nina Simone's very different interpretations of Suzanne.

The best (or my favorites) amongst the nine new tracks are The Future & Closing Time from the Future album and Dance Me To The End Of Love from Various Positions. I would have preferred Take This Waltz from I'm Your Man over the title track, Everybody Knows or Manhattan. Likewise I think Alexandra Leaving is more memorable than A 1000 Kisses on Ten New Songs.

Cohen completists would also be interested in Essential Leonard Cohen. What I found particularly impressive on listening to this blend of old and new gems, were the brilliant arrangements and especially the siren-like quality of the female vocals so perfectly framing Cohen's voice. These songs just sound better and better as the years pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outrageous!, 5 Aug 2009
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Made by Sony company of UK, without involvement of Leonard Cohen or his manager's office, this is outrageous re-packing of 1975 Best Of LP (known in Europe as Greatest Hits). Not only it's ridiculous in packing, but one of the best Cohen songs, Waiting for the Miracle, is cut off in half (at 3:24 instead of 7:42), after 3rd verse, and there's also major drop out at the beginning of the song, with two lines omitted in the first verse (what sounds like your CD skipped but it's there on the record).

Outrageous and shameful way of making money of Cohen's recent popularity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAITING FOR THE REST OF THE MIRACLE, 25 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. Sr Harrup "nehpetsrh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For information, a previous reviewer lamented that 'Waiting for the Miracle had been drastically cut in half. I have just noticed that this is the cut from the soundtrack of 'Natural Born Killers'. I suppose the record company were trying to be clever (didn't work)

For Cohen's music on this disc, I have given 5 stars (I don't think I can ever give an album of Cohen's music anything less). Obviously we all have our favourite tracks that do not appear here 'Take this Longing' & 'Anthem' are just two among mine, and it is such an obvious cash in on the great man's world tour, but it is still Lenny and the songs are still wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
grate cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
SPOT ON!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leonard Cohen one the all time greats, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
I love this music. Always have. Good to be able to download. Quality is not bad at all. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite album ever, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is just the greatest album for any Leonard Cohen fan. The man is a genius. The lyrics so poignant and clever. Every track is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Juggling Balls & Leonard Cohen CD, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Juggling Balls were a present which seems to have been appreciated.

I thoroughly enjoy listening to Leonard Cohen's CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leanard the Great!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic! I've been a fan of his for almost 50yrs & I never tire of listening to his songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leonard Cohen, 29 April 2014
By 
Miss Sandra Dickinson "SD" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great Music, great lyrics from all decades, he only gets better as he gets older.
I love them all. What a smoothie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Leonard Cohen (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews