Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (125)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great
Published 1 month ago by R. Ardis

versus
233 of 239 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE TO COMMAND AND NOTHING TO CONQUER
It is always sad when a great historic game franchise comes to the end of its road. But it is depressingly sad to watch it do so in this condition.

KANE IN DISNEYLAND?
The graphics are laughable. True, EA has been steering the C&C franchise towards the ...cartoon direction ever since the RED ALERT 3 installment. But the RED ALERT series had always been...
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Command and Conquer Game Ever!, 27 Mar 2010
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
I totally agree with all the other reviews of this game, it is without a doubt the WORST Command and Conquer game made to date. I would rather play Star Trek Online (which is bad too) then this game.

EA games why change a game layout that has worked brilliantly for decades with millions of fans loving Tiberium Sun which sparked a whole new range of Strategy games?

No bases now, say goodbye to network gaming - you HAVE to use their online gaming method! Why for crying out loud did they decide this??? Oh and their new layout is bloody terrible to get your head around. Trying to play a skirmish game is damb near impossible to get going. The new games requires a huge jump in processing and graphics power with very little to show for it.

Just save your money and get Tiberium Wars instead. EA games I raise my cap to you for making THE WORST strategy game of 2010!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WOW EA FAILED BIG TIME, 27 Mar 2010
By 
D. Keeley "Dannyk90" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
They have really just given up on C&C the first signs of this was RA3 going to 3D sort of graphics rather than realistic and other things too, but ra3 is still okay, but then this came out.. what a shocker this looks like its the end of the C&C franchise :\ i mean in game theres no HD videos (in CnC3 there was!) the graphics in this cnc4 are alright on full and on full res (1080p) but the gameplay is the worst... you cant even build buildings!! you only hav 5 units you can building and they say you can have 10 players on one map, now i know how... plus theres no settings to change the skirmish game mode etc, what a bl**dy let down, so long C&C, maybe westwood will arise and save C&C? or they proberly long gone. Looks like im sticking with CnC3 (thats a helllll lot better than cnc4!!) and maybe ra3 too, stupid ea..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If this is the end of the series... Thank god its over., 31 Mar 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
I'm utterly surprised. C&C 4 seems to have got rid of everything that was good in the previous games, and have set the single-player campaign as nothing more than a half-baked wrapper to use bonuses gained in the multiplayer "skirmish" modes. Think "demigod" (another useless title) with tanks and a mobile MCV. The skirmish maps are about as boring as a symmetrical field can get too, so not much fun to be had there, just hustle your (very) limited units back and forth to try to hold all the objectives at the same time.

Now, resource collecting, tiberium, the paper-scissors-stone game of early strikes, tank-rushing or building special weapons, all of that has been sacrificed for this highly fluid move around, build a unit, rinse-and-repeat gameplay. When THQ released Dawn of War 2, they did the same thing - resource collecting was out, you only had 4 units in most missions! But DoW 2 was still a great game in its own right - besides being nothing like its predecessor. EA could learn a thing or two from THQ.

Did Westwood, the spiritual fathers of the modern RTS genre (via the outstanding Dune 2) really write this? Or did EA just subcontract the franchise out to someone else, to cash in one last time on a franchise that Westwood had no interest in persuing any more?

Gone is the technical excellence. Gone is the clever design. Gone is the "magic".

C and C, 1995-2010. Went out with a wimper, not a bang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT COMMAND AND CONQUER. 15 Years of C&C Ruined!, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Joshua J. Hutchins (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
I bought this expecting a decent sequal to C&C 3 however I am bitterly dissapointed. The game is terrible.

Its not C&C, you cant build any structures only a few turrets and there are not many units you can actually build.

As well as the fact that you have to be constantly connected to the web is ridiculas and ruins the game even further.

AVOID. Buy C&C Tiberium Wars or the classic Tiberium Sun.

Come on EA Sort it out! IF it was re-released in TRUE C&C style id give it 5*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wish I'd read the reviews before spending money on this :-(, 11 April 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
Much of what I could say is just repeating what others have already posted here.

I really can't believe EA actually had the audacity to release this game, let alone ask for money for it...

The "must login and be online" "DRM" they have built in just kills the game. Most of the time I can't "login" and the "reactivate your account" process leaves you stuck in a loop.

I've played every C&C game to death since the first and have been a massive fan of the series.
If EA can drive someone like me to give a 1 star review and then return the product, then I really don't know how they could have failed more.

Goodbye C&C - was great whilst it lasted. This will also be the last EA product I buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love C&C..... hate this, 30 Mar 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
I loved and continue to love the previous versions of this game. However, Electronic Arts have gone back to the drawing board for this installment and completely ruined it! Among the annoying features are
A) The infuriating and ridgid "command point" system for controlling the number of units you can operate.
B) The need of a constant connection to the internet is also a real pain given I like to play on the move on my laptop.
C) The "missions" are boring.
D) The "countering" or balance of units is too biased considering the very limited number of units you can keep on the field of play.
E) The use of three MCVs is equally annoying. Choose the wrong type and you won't be able to win

You have no idea how much I hate this game. I was monumentally dissappointed on the release of this game. My advice.... DON'T BUY THIS GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire Disapointment, 14 April 2010
By 
Mr. N. J. Gipp "JesterEXE" (Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
Being a fan of RTS games and the command and conquer series back when it was made by Westwood Studios. I am really disapointed with this game. It falls short of the C&C games that came before it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Think long and hard before you buy this game., 30 Mar 2010
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
This latest version of the game requires you to be on-line all the time and logged into EA's server with your e-mail details - even to play locally, so you can't put it on a PC that is not internet connected (ie the kids PC), nor can you play it from a hotel room or on a plane. If you are on-line and playing and your internet connection drops - say bye-bye to your game - so this rules out those on dial-up or if you have an unstable (or busy) broadband link.

Also watch out for the EA built in obsolesence - once they turn off their gaming server a couple of years down the line the game will cease to work - as you can't play locally without their server. (I still play RA1 and RA2 - many years after the vendor dropped support for it.)

Someone at EA has really got this wrong and my copy has been returned for a refund - not good for a long-standing C&C fan who's been with the series right from Dune and through RA1

Command & Conquer 4: Tiberian Twilight (PC DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's just a shame, 27 Mar 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
Its just a shame, this is not C&C, this is a disappointing anti-cliamax to what was a great series.
1. the graphics are far too stylised; they look like Tonka toys

2. the "innovative" new playing style is rubbish; C&C fans want to build their base, nurture it and then smash their opponants to bits.

3. unit cap!! where is the fun in that? also no resource gathering which means yet another aspect of the game is lost.

4. i have to be online at all times in order to play this game.....seriously? all this does is PROMOTES piracy i know for a fact that it is easier and less hassle to get a pirate copy of this game and play it offline. If you have paid for a game then it should be yours to install as many times as you like and to be able to play it on the bus if you like and not have to rely on an internet connection. E.A have got it wrong, very wrong.

Please don't buy this game, spend your money elsewhere.

Monsterminty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks the features of a Command and Conquer game, 11 April 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
Command and Conquer 4 is not a Command and Conquer game. The only resemblance it has to Command and Conquer is Joseph D Kucan in the cast. If you want to see Kane again, just see some other material with Kucan in it. I did not see any tiberium in this game. I did not see the Brotherhood in this game. I did not see GDI in this game. I saw a pathetic display by a bloated corporation scraping the bottom of Westwood's barrel because it has no imagination of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight
Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
5.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews