Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (128)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great
Published 8 months ago by R. Ardis

versus
241 of 247 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE TO COMMAND AND NOTHING TO CONQUER
It is always sad when a great historic game franchise comes to the end of its road. But it is depressingly sad to watch it do so in this condition.

KANE IN DISNEYLAND?
The graphics are laughable. True, EA has been steering the C&C franchise towards the ...cartoon direction ever since the RED ALERT 3 installment. But the RED ALERT series had always been...
Published on 25 Mar. 2010 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

241 of 247 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE TO COMMAND AND NOTHING TO CONQUER, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
It is always sad when a great historic game franchise comes to the end of its road. But it is depressingly sad to watch it do so in this condition.

KANE IN DISNEYLAND?
The graphics are laughable. True, EA has been steering the C&C franchise towards the ...cartoon direction ever since the RED ALERT 3 installment. But the RED ALERT series had always been more playful. Even so, what was barely palatable for a RED ALERT game is outright insulting for a TIBERIUM one.
If his tanks could still run-over infantry units, have no doubt, he would hunt down whoever did this to him.
Because, you cannot mock Kane and avoid having your lungs infused with Tiberium fumes!

MORE UNITS? PLEASE WAIT BEHIND THE YELLOW LINE. FOREVER.
One of the most annoying features of the new C&C4 is the units cap. You cannot produce more units above a (very low) number. Upgrading your tech-tree with such a unit cap in place means you have to kill and replace most of your units - and make painful decisions as some units are more equal than others. It feels like having to deal with a (small) Diablo-like inventory: whatever does not fit within the grid must be left behind to rot.
And to add insult to injury, extra units are bestowed with a dropper. A tiny one.
This cap reeks of one thing: an attempt to turn this series into a Massively Multiplayer Online Game (fewer units means less lag). And no one seems to care that this took away one of the most fun tactics in a C&C game: tank rushing.

SORRY, ALL OF OUR TIBERIUM-HARVESTERS HAVE BEEN RECALLED. WOULD YOU CARE FOR A SENSIBLE COMPACT?
A COMMAND & CONQUER game without harvesting? It could be an RTS game of any name (and there have been baseless RTS games before), why did it have to be a C&C game? Because, once again, EA proves to have no respect for this beautiful art-form. If it means exploiting a classic title in its swan song to sell a few more units, so be it.
Moreover, game publishers seem to have an ever declining expectation of their targeted customer IQ. Hence the ever simplified games released. So, yes, this feels like C&C-for-Dummies.

BATTLEFIELD CONTROLS OFFLINE? YOU'RE SCREWED COMMANDER!
Yes, this must be the most inconvenient DRM scheme ever.
If you hate STEAM for requiring endless updates, this is worse.
If you hate games that require online activation because they never actually become yours, yes, this is worse.
And if you hate games that come with Limited Activations and become worthless the moment you pop the box, well yes, this is worse.
This inconceivable scheme demands for the owner of this game to always be online to verify that the copy he payed for is legitimate. That's right, not just activation, ALWAYS ONLINE. Yes, even for a single player game.
Will it deter piracy? No, pirates will be playing the game without all those DRM hassles. Legitimate gamers are left complaining - and, once more, EA will turn a deaf ear.

All in all, C&C4 will not appeal neither to old friends of the series nor younger gamers. And (for as long as it will keep working), it will have you jumping through hoops for the privilege of having ...bought it. And I thought it was the other way around.

This Tiberium field is long depleted.
Move along Commanders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


266 of 274 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forget DRM, the actual game is pathetic., 25 Mar. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
If you've never returned a game before, this product will show you there's a first time for everything.

I want to talk about the actual game instead of the ridiculous DRM software I'm sure you've all heard about. However, there are many people who do not realise the following:

The DRM in this game does not prevent piracy, not in the slightest, it is important you understand this. Even though the game requires a constant Internet connection so as to send and receive game information during play, this can be emulated by an advanced programmer so that the game can run offline. What this means is that the game can be cracked by pirates (it already has been), allowing illegal downloaders to play the game offline.

Thus you have a pirated product which in some aspects is actually better than the original...

This is exactly what has happened. If DRM actually prevented piracy it would be well worth implementing, for some reason Electronic Arts don't seem to understand this isn't the case and so the only customers it punishes are those who share the discs with friends, hardly a target worth stopping. If anything it rewards pirates.

I repeat, DRM does not prevent piracy. It makes it "slightly" harder for a pirate to crack the game, but this only needs to be done once and so doesn't really achieve anything.

Now for the game itself...

Change is not always a bad thing, it can be very refreshing when old aspects get tedious. The problem? I have built bases hundreds of times, not once have I found it tedious. Resource gathering was always a major part in the tactical game play, I thought the game was about the spread of tiberium?

But no lets throw all of that out the window, it will save a lot of money. Is that enough? Nah, let's put in a unit cap so it doesn't trouble our servers too much.

Why end there? Let's film a scene with a white background and put in a portal looking like it was drawn in MS Paint.

We could think up a decent ending that ties everything together and ends the saga... OR, we could just make up some love story, forget a few plot lines from the previous games and end the whole thing without really revealing anything, no one's going to notice.

And so this is exactly what it feels like, a saga they couldn't be bothered to finish so they just came up with a quick "cash in" product to milk customers who are always going to pay to see how it ends.

If you're thinking about getting the game just to see how everything turns out I'd really advise you to just watch it on youtube. I feel incredibly sorry for anyone who played through the game just to see "that". It's pathetic, it was the one aspect to redeem the game and they completely screwed it.

If my boss came up to me and told me they're closing my project to move on to something else, all they want is a quick sellable product to end the series, I literally would make Tiberium Twilight. I would throw out base building and resource gathering to dramatically reduce development time and costs, selling it as some new tactical approach so it looks as if I did it to enhance the game. I wouldn't even bother ending the story properly, I'd just leave a lot unexplained. That's creative right? Leaving the player to fill in the loose ends themselves? At the end of the day the company is moving on, let's just spit this out and see if we can make any money for it.

EA have achieved this, hats off to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 167 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It made me angry enough to review it!, 25 Mar. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
Having complained to Amazon about reviewing not being permitted for this game, they now seem to have enabled it. Sadly that was after I took a chance and purchased this game.

Prior to purchase I begrudgingly accepted the DRM and trivial requirement of the game to always be connected to the internet. Many people here have already detailed this so I'll leave it at that. These features were annoyances but not deal breakers.

The changes made to the gameplay that made Command and Conquer a ground-breaking and hugely successful series are however unforgivable!

As someone who loved the early Westwood Studios games, and was pleasantly surprised when EA actually managed to create a good sequel in Command & Conquer 3, I cannot understand why they would suddenly choose to rip the heart out of the tried and tested formula, leaving us with a pitiful excuse for a RTS.

As a result of removing resource gathering and base building, and instead replacing it with a respawning mobile base and a pathetically low unit cap, any element of strategy (and fun) has been completely removed from the game. Throw in a new and subpar interface and the results are dismaying. I gave it a chance, but I couldn't find any enjoyment at all. This has to be the worst RTS I have ever seen.

Loyal fans, who may be tempted to see how the story closes will also be disappointed. The cut scenes are hardly engaging; many of the characters are completely annoying and even Kane fails to come across as his usual enigmatic self. It's weak stuff.

This is what I feared would happen to the series when EA took it over. It once again proves that they don't care about and are completely out of touch with their customers. This feels like a rushed and lazy game. Following this I have vowed never to buy a game that emerges out of their sadly massive operation ever again.

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for people who like command and conquer, 26 Mar. 2010
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
This is the worst command and conquer game ever. No bases + very low unit caps + no resourse management = NO FUN. EA have ruined one of the best pc games ever.

If you value your money do not buy this game. I dont even think It can be returned once the cd key has been registerd. This is the bigest waste of money I have ever spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The greatest game franchise ever goes flop!, 25 Mar. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
I'm not going to bore you with all the detail that other reviewers have written (all the one or two starrers are right so why repeat). What I will say is, I had the excitement of the postie knocking my door and handing me the game (a late Christmas present) the mad dash to load it, followed by having to wait two days to play it as the servers at EA were so bad. And then to top it all I discovered (when it finally allowed me to play) that they'd taken all the elements of the game we loved out.

Anti-Climax of the year goes to........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If this is the end of the series... Thank god its over., 31 Mar. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
I'm utterly surprised. C&C 4 seems to have got rid of everything that was good in the previous games, and have set the single-player campaign as nothing more than a half-baked wrapper to use bonuses gained in the multiplayer "skirmish" modes. Think "demigod" (another useless title) with tanks and a mobile MCV. The skirmish maps are about as boring as a symmetrical field can get too, so not much fun to be had there, just hustle your (very) limited units back and forth to try to hold all the objectives at the same time.

Now, resource collecting, tiberium, the paper-scissors-stone game of early strikes, tank-rushing or building special weapons, all of that has been sacrificed for this highly fluid move around, build a unit, rinse-and-repeat gameplay. When THQ released Dawn of War 2, they did the same thing - resource collecting was out, you only had 4 units in most missions! But DoW 2 was still a great game in its own right - besides being nothing like its predecessor. EA could learn a thing or two from THQ.

Did Westwood, the spiritual fathers of the modern RTS genre (via the outstanding Dune 2) really write this? Or did EA just subcontract the franchise out to someone else, to cash in one last time on a franchise that Westwood had no interest in persuing any more?

Gone is the technical excellence. Gone is the clever design. Gone is the "magic".

C and C, 1995-2010. Went out with a wimper, not a bang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Command and Conquer Game Ever!, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
I totally agree with all the other reviews of this game, it is without a doubt the WORST Command and Conquer game made to date. I would rather play Star Trek Online (which is bad too) then this game.

EA games why change a game layout that has worked brilliantly for decades with millions of fans loving Tiberium Sun which sparked a whole new range of Strategy games?

No bases now, say goodbye to network gaming - you HAVE to use their online gaming method! Why for crying out loud did they decide this??? Oh and their new layout is bloody terrible to get your head around. Trying to play a skirmish game is damb near impossible to get going. The new games requires a huge jump in processing and graphics power with very little to show for it.

Just save your money and get Tiberium Wars instead. EA games I raise my cap to you for making THE WORST strategy game of 2010!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
David Bean - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
Compared with every other Command and Conquer game (Which I have purchased over the years and are excellent) this game is terrible.

Disconnection errors, poor gameplay (too far removed from the other C&C games), limited number of troops, massive file downloads even on release day, registration server errors, and servers being offline when I want to play make this game definitely the worst of the series.

If you are thinking of buying it, go and get Red alert 3 or Command & Conquer 3 instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WOW EA FAILED BIG TIME, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
D. Keeley "Dannyk90" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
They have really just given up on C&C the first signs of this was RA3 going to 3D sort of graphics rather than realistic and other things too, but ra3 is still okay, but then this came out.. what a shocker this looks like its the end of the C&C franchise :\ i mean in game theres no HD videos (in CnC3 there was!) the graphics in this cnc4 are alright on full and on full res (1080p) but the gameplay is the worst... you cant even build buildings!! you only hav 5 units you can building and they say you can have 10 players on one map, now i know how... plus theres no settings to change the skirmish game mode etc, what a bl**dy let down, so long C&C, maybe westwood will arise and save C&C? or they proberly long gone. Looks like im sticking with CnC3 (thats a helllll lot better than cnc4!!) and maybe ra3 too, stupid ea..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Focus on multiplayer means it loses all appeal, 11 April 2010
By 
R. Nuttall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight (Electronics)
As a long-time fan of all the previous C&C games, I was looking forward to this one.

Wish I hadn't bought it now.

The awful DRM system has been mentioned elsewhere, I can only add my voice to the chorus of disapproval.

It is clear that the main intent of this game is to move it into a multiplayer version, to the absolute detriment of any solo play. Here are just a few examples :

1. The stupid Command points cap is designed to make multiplayer games last longer.

2. The conquerable buildings - likewise - these are completely unrealistic.

3. The solo campaign doesn't even use all of the units available.

4. The maps are small and focussed often on time-based actions, rather than building an empire style.

5. There aren't many maps for the solo campaign.

Grrrrr....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight
Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
£5.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews