Customer Reviews


431 Reviews
5 star:
 (338)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great clean up, great extras!
This is one of those amazing films that doesn't fail to enchant through to adulthood. I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting Dorothy's journey through Oz, being scared by the Wicked Witch of the West and being charmed by Scarecrow, Tin Man and Cowardly Lion. This is definitely one for adults and children alike. The musical numbers are also just as entertaining this...
Published on 4 Dec. 2005 by Suze

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth upgrading from DVD
I have this classic film on DVD as my daughter loves it. I decided to invest in this blu ray version - and even bearing in mind the age of the film and obviously expecting some graininess - I was hoping to see an improvement in picture quality. Sadly I didn't and when flicking between the DVD picture and blu ray, the DVD picture, although not as strikingly colourful, was...
Published on 8 Feb. 2011 by redvers


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great clean up, great extras!, 4 Dec. 2005
By 
This is one of those amazing films that doesn't fail to enchant through to adulthood. I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting Dorothy's journey through Oz, being scared by the Wicked Witch of the West and being charmed by Scarecrow, Tin Man and Cowardly Lion. This is definitely one for adults and children alike. The musical numbers are also just as entertaining this time around. They have done a fantastic job cleaning up the picture, the quality is topnotch, the transition from black and white to colour is even more startling. There is a second disc with some fab extras, including deleted scenes, the story of other actors who were almost cast and several behind the scenes documentaries, including interviews with the Munchkins! A great classic to add to your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic picture gets classy DVD treatment., 21 Oct. 2001
Finally The Wizard Of Oz gets a region 2 release on DVD.I've had the region 1 release for over a year,and i trust that the good people who decide these things have included the "marveloz array of special features" that are contained on the one single disc,yet there are more interesting and informative extras than most 2-disc sets now filling the local dvd stores shelves.
Everyone knows the story, everyone will have seen Dorothy,Scarecrow,Tinman,Cowardly lion and Toto follow the yellow brick road to the Emerald City.This movie is a must show at Christmas for the T.V schedulers,and now it really is a must have DVD for the rest of us.
So what do you get? Aside that is from a quality restoration with sound and picture unsurpassed,you even get 5.1 sound.Well a documentary on the making,which includes interviews with cast and crew and isn't your usual DVD promo but a proper, informative and thought provoking look at the land of Oz.Also 5 trailers- teaser,re-issue included,out-takes, deleted scenes,and an absolute plethora of behind the scenes which include home movies on the set,special effects,costume and make up tests,footage from the Academy Awards of 1939,excerpts from the original book series and interviews dating back to 1979 with key cast members.
So,this is a well crafted and put together disc that you can enjoy over and over again.A classier film you will rarely find.Go get a copy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious film-making, 5 Sept. 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With three discs in this boxed set this is the definitive edition of the Wizard of Oz to buy. The first disc contains the original film and interviews. The second disc contains a number of documentaries on the making of the film. The third disc contains four older film versions as well as a documentary. Most of the documentaries were made in 1990, no doubt to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the films making.

Even now nearly seventy years later, this is the of the best films you can buy for your children. As an adult its still superb entertainment and contains one of the greatest songs ever written (Over the Rainbow). The film is from the golden age of Hollywood, lavish sets, great special effects (for the era) and marvellous performances from the main actors and actresses.

This has literally hours and hours of extras as well as the original 98min film. At its current price this is one of the best value DVD boxed sets you can buy. This is timeless entertainment that all the family (except perhaps a few grumpy teenagers!) will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i didn't realise judy garland had freckles!, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
what a beautiful representation of the wizard of oz. i recieved my copy yesterday and watched it immediately after i was home from work. watching this film on bluray is like seeing it again. from the opening scenes in black and white you can see how well the film has held up over the last 70 years. they have completely restored the film so it is without a blemish. detail is fine and i would say perfect. i am glad to see that they have obviously not used anything to make the film appear modern because the grain that is there adds to the charm of this film. as soon as dorothy lands in oz and opens the door to munchkin land the screen explodes with colour. the colours radiate of the screen in all their glory. what a difference scenes with the munchkins and in the emerald city are with the clear depth of the colour. the detail of the film also amazes me. close ups of judy garlands face reveal every freckle and 'blemish' it is the face of dorothy as youve never seen her,the innocent teenager lost in a land she doesnt know. the detail also adds superb depth to the film, in scenes such as the poppy field it looks it goes on forever. the disc comes with a dvd version of the film aswell. i have a 2001 edition dvd and after watching the bluray yesterday (sad as i am) i put the dvd on a standard dvd player on another tv next to my bluray player. the difference is unbelieveable (i didnt watch the whole film). the colours in the bluray are so much more vibrant. makeup can be seen on the muchkins and the cowardly lion easily (i think this adds to the film) and you can see every square on dorothys dress. one thing that blu me away were those ruby slippers on the yellow brick road. they are so vibrant that they could walk back to kansas on thier own. i would thoroughly recomend this as an upgrade from the dvd. you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the greatest film ever..., 9 Nov. 2001
The Wizard of Oz may be aurguably the greatest film of all time. A huge statement to make but one that I feel this motion picture deserves.
This new DVD region 2 release is possibly the best put together package that I have seen. The extra features are just that, FEATURES! A documentary on the making of the film, pictures of the cast, home movie footage of the actual sets and characters, the list is seemingly endless.
When you do sit down to watch "The main feature", again you will not be dissapointed. The film loses nothing of it's original charm and magic. Strong story, strong characters and fantastic cinematography throughout the movie. The soundtrack is now even more spectacular, having been given the 5.1 treatment. You must buy this film and put it to the top of your want list immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could I not give it more stars????????, 23 July 2006
"I'll get you my pretty, and you're little dog too!" Who in the history of the entire world doesn't know that line?

One of my all time favourite films I watch it every year at least once, usually at Christmas.
Judy Garland is perfect for the winsome little girl from Kansas Dorothy, with her little dog Toto. How could M-G-M have even considered anybody else in the part?
Ray Bolger is bandy-legged and loyal as the Scarecrow without a brain, Jack Haley is so loving and caring as Tin Man, and Bert Lahr is fantastic + memorable as the Cowardly Lion.

It is film chemistry at it's greatest, and there are over a billion people world wide that have seen the Wizard of Oz. So Follow the Yellow brick road to your copy of the Wizard of Oz!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wiz!, 2 April 2007
By 
C. Scrivener "cjs" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have the R1 edition of this, aswell as every other version available to mankind and I would like to say this is the definitive edition. The original Oz DVD release came with more extras than I thought possible on one disc, but this surpasses even that. There are replicas of original movie tickets, invites, photos, plus more extras than you can shake a fighting tree at. It even includeds programmes made for satellite tv on Oz. If you don't buy this, beware before somebody drops a house on you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Merry Old Land Of Oz, 25 April 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Wizard Of Oz (1939) is now well over sixty years old, yet the classic film still stands extraordinarily well, reaching generation after generation (and has also become a firm T.V favourite at Christmas).

Its transistion to the DVD format is thoroughly impeccable making the whole land of Oz look even more enduringly beautiful, colourful and extravagant, even for its film age.

Theres no doubt that the sole ingredients of this timeless classic was from the all-round excellent playing from the cast, the spectacular, eye-catching sets such as the dazzling Emerald City at the end of the yellow brick road to the wonderful dancing and fun, jolly, infectious songs. That yearning vulnreability that exists in us all somewhere is what the film so heavily and heartwarmingly draws upon.

Judy Garland is totally adorable as the wide-eyed innocence of little Dorothy Gale, who is transported over the rainbow by a tornado into the magical world of Oz. The sequences of the tornado sweeping up the house into the air are still vastly impressive and its transistion from black and white during the Kanas sequences to colour when Dorothy lands in Oz are highly effective.

All performances in the film are utterly fantastic! Billie Burke shines as Glinda - The Good Witch Of The North whilst Margaret Hamilton is incredibly effective and devilishly evil as the Wicked Witch Of The West (who used to scare me to death as a youngster).

Ray Bolger takes on the role as the scarecrow, Jack Hayley as the Tinman and Bert Lahr puts in a marvelous interpretation of the Cowardly Lion. What can I say about these actors that hasn't already been said a thousand times. They all glow in their parts and capture the imagination. Frank Morgan displays the most versatility by turning up in anumber of guises, most notably in the role of the imposter, Wizard Of Oz.

What The Wizard Of Oz has to offer is basically a little something for everyone - from wonderfully strange lands, many fun and scary moments, a positivley dazzling and delightful array of fairy tale characters and some fabulous numbers.

Whilst Dorothy begins her adventures along the yellow brick road, the film holds many fun, light-hearted moments though the mood considerably darkens when Dorothy is captured by the winged monkeys and is taken to the Wicked Witch of the Wests eerie looking castle where she is held prisoner. Even at 24 years old now, I still can't help feeling that slight sense of anxiousness when Dorothy cries out for Aunt Em when she is locked away to her exciting escape.

This DVD edition hosts a wealth of fascinating features that will enthrall any fan of this film. A series of out takes are included such as the wonderful Jitterbug sequence and an interesting documentary on the making of the movie, hosted by Angela Lansbury.

The documentary details the films origanal ethos and it now seems unthinkable for The Wizard Of Oz to be any different but infact, MGM had its eye on Shirley Temple playing Dorothy. You really can't imagine anyone but Judy Garland play that role as she plays its so perfectly. Its interesting to also hear anecdotes and shared memories from the rest of the cast and this special is generally a celebration of the ever-lasting Oz phenomenon.

Beautifully done, The Wizard Of Oz has proved to be THE quintesential Hollywood production and possible remains the best childrens movie ever made! Songs like Somewhere Over The Rainbow, sung so touchingly by Judy Garland made such an impact on a world sliding into the war at the close of the 1930's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic movie, 4 Feb. 2002
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
The Wizard of Oz is truly a classic movie, with a wonderful story, picturesque setting and humorous characters. It has all the ingredients, which made it not only a great movie, but remembered as all time great.
With this DVD edition, you can experience the art of classic cinema making at its sheer best. This is a DVD, which I am truly proud of and treasure it the most. Great stuff and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good 3D makeover of a timeless classic, 7 Nov. 2014
Picture sharp and grainless, colour shines with a luster rarely seen in new films, 5.1 DTS MAster HD track faultless (if a little front heavy) and the 3-D? Well its good. Rather like the 3-D Titanic, lots of depth giving a great sense of realism, but nothing flying out of the screen at you and not in the class of the Jurassic Park 3D make-over. That being said, its amazing how a film made in 1938 can be made to look so good and as if it had been orignally made in 3D. What would audiences have made of it it in the 1930's?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wizard of Oz (Sing-Along-Edition) [DVD] [1939]
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews