Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant and Enjoyable
Pleasant and Enjoyable. Perhaps not words you generally associate with a horror film. But then since when did every horror film have to gross out with gratituitous gore or scare senseless with slashing and stalking?

To be fair calling this film a horror is quite misleading. Really it's a celebration of the various legends and imagery associated with the...
Published on 24 July 2010 by A. C. Parsons

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just alright halloween yarn
Much has been made of this being Tarantino-esque but its not really, the sequencing of the stories is comparable with Pulp Fiction's mashed format but I felt it was comparable to Creep Show (particularly Creepshow 2 [DVD] [1987] because of the comic book format at the beginning and end).

It is essentially four stories involving Halloween, with the character of...
Published on 8 Nov. 2010 by Lark


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant and Enjoyable, 24 July 2010
By 
A. C. Parsons (Haslemere, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Pleasant and Enjoyable. Perhaps not words you generally associate with a horror film. But then since when did every horror film have to gross out with gratituitous gore or scare senseless with slashing and stalking?

To be fair calling this film a horror is quite misleading. Really it's a celebration of the various legends and imagery associated with the holiday. Watching the DVD featurette about the making of the film and the lore of Halloween should help people understand how to take this movie (clearly some reviewers didn't get it). Perhaps calling it a fictional documentary that toys with the themes and monsters of horror would be more appropriate? The only reason we have monsters here (and it's nice to be able to talk about monsters without solely referring to just Vampires or Zombies) is because it's All Hallow's Eve.

Personally I liked that a non-linear approach was taken in telling the various tales on offer here as it sets it apart from the anthologies that came before it and which it would inevitably be compared to. The interweaving of the stories is preferable to having them stand alone as it's been done so many times before.

The cinematography is top notch throughout and all those involved in shooting the film deserve hearty pats on the back, as do the actors and actresses. To a man (or woman) they all give good performances with a few excellent ones thrown in.

I only saw one twist coming but then I constantly force myself not to start second guessing a film (What's the point? You're only going to spoil it for yourself if you're right), if you do regularly second guess you might find you're enjoyment of the film somewhat tempered.

As a celebration of Halloween this film excels, as a horror (with all the conotations of what that word has come to mean in the new millenium) it is quite tame. But so what? Easily rewatchable with a great cast and director this should be a staple of Samuin for years to come.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun twisted horror anthology, 5 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Horror anthologies are a bit of an 80's thing, and as a result the studio didn't seem to know what to do with this fun little movie, which was produced by X-Men's Bryan Singer and stars a host of familiar faces including Anna Pacquin. The four tales are split into well characteristed punchy little numbers with enthusiastically acted turns and some nice gore and twists. The style is dark, twisted comedy horror, and they've managed to hit the balance bang-on. A nicely handled movie which manages to revolve well around the central theme of Halloween. Enjoyably fun for a night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 21st Century horror done in an 80s style, 31 Jan. 2011
By 
Fergus Stewart (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Other reviewers have pointed out that this relatively recent film pays homage to movies like Creep Show and Halloween and to the feel of 80s horror movies. The interwoven stories in the film definitely recall that era and those viewers who have 'grown up' with 'Saw' and 'Hostel' will no doubt be disappointed and sneering.

Personally, torture porn has no appeal to me whatsoever, whereas 'Trick 'r Treat' is an exuberant and rather charming modern take on old-style creepy movies. It embodies what 'horror' films used to be like, i.e. twist-in-the-tail tales with an emphasis on traditional concepts of spookiness and pure entertainment (rather than sadistic violence.)

There is an underlying comic-book quality which makes it the kind of film the family could
watch together. How old-fashioned is that concept! (You wouldn't show it to children below the age of 10 maybe?)

Above all this would be THE ideal movie for the family to sit down and watch on Halloween. Of course you could watch it on any day of the year but if ever a film was made to be seen on Halloween this is it. Wonderful.

(NOTE: If you have a blu-ray player the US import is region-free and will play on any blu-ray player.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It deserved a cinematic release..., 13 July 2010
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
TRICK 'R TREAT contains four interweaving stories taking place on Halloween night in a small town in Ohio.

We get to see friendly school principal Mr Wilkin's secret life as a serial killer, while a group of his students prepare to play a cruel prank on classmate Wanda. Meanwhile virginal Laurie and her man-hungry sorority sisters are visiting town for a party and she decides tonight's THE night and a grouchy old recluse who hates Halloween recieves an unwelcome trick or treater.

I remember reading about a upcoming horror film called TRICK 'R TREAT way back in 2006. It was going to be a similar style to cult classic Creepshow and would recieve a cinematic release in October 2007. Then it's release was pushed back to October 2008.

So I eagerly waited and waited... and eventually forgot all about it, until I happened to come across it last week. So how did it fare under the weight of four years of anticipation?

Wow covers my thoughts nicely. I honestly can't remember the last time I enjoyed a film so much; It just ticks all of the boxes for me. The acting is solid, the pace never drags, the visuals are stunning and the balance between tension, gore and comedy is spot on.

The style is a bit similar to Creepshow in that there are four seperate stories at play; But here they are all in motion at the same time, the characters sometimes cross paths and we go back and forth in the timeline by a few hours.

I thought Laurie and her tale stood above the others as that plot thread has the biggest twist. That's not to say that the other threads pale in comparison - they don't. But if you have seen a few horror movies you'll find them a bit predictable. The prankster kids is the weakest link on the predictability score, but it's still fun to watch it all unfold.

One word of warning: I keep calling it a horror film, but it's not really. I'd class it as a dark comedy. There are a few jumpy bits and moderate gore, but if you want a true horror film look elsewhere.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Special features
- - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Trick r Trick: The Lore and legends of Halloween
27 minute documentry exploring the origin of Halloween and how they are intermingled in the film. It contains snippets from the film, so don't watch this before the film.

Additional Scenes
17 minutes; Features 6 extended scenes, they run as one reel.

Trick r Treat: Season's Greetings
3 minute cartoon focusing on character Sam.

School Bus FX Comparison
1 minute; Split screen of the bus in the quarry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Treat than Trick, 16 July 2014
By 
Robster (Preston, U.K) - See all my reviews
Trick r Treat was initially slated for a 2007 theatrical release, however, Warner Bros, not wanting to go up against the ever popular SAW franchise ( which at the time was turning up in cinemas every Halloween playing to packed houses of feral gore hounds ) pulled it out of it's proposed release date, shelved it and eventually wound up releasing it as a straight to DVD title in October 2009!

Those of us who have seen, embraced and loved Director Michael Dougherty's debut film ( based on his animation short Season's Greetings - included as an extra on this DVD ) are perhaps left baffled as why Warner Bros didn't take a gamble and release this little gem, a film that not only provides scares but also celebrates the magic of Halloween night with such exquisite style.

It has received almost unanimous praise from film critics and Horror fans, especially as it's so original and also the first defintive Horror film that actually defines the unwritten rules of Halloween night.

Similar to the structure of the classic Horror film " Creepshow " , Trick R Treat is made up of four stories that are interwoven and which are watched over by a mysterious trick or treater named Sam, a sort of shabby child in orange sack like pyjamas, who acts as a guardian over the " rules " of Halloween night.
Rules such as " always check your candy " or " never blow out a jack o lantern ".

I don't want to talk too much about the plot as i don't want to give anything away, but the film starts with a couple returning from a Halloween parade and she, clearly not a fan of the holiday nor familiar with the " rules " insists they take down the decorations immediately, we are then treated to an early example of what will happen should you break the rules, then have a what happened " earlier " flash back and the other stories commence, these eventually lead us up to where we originally start at the beginning of the film.

I absolutely love this film.
I can't think of another film that truly captures the vibe of Halloween night, the cinematography & production design are absolutely sublime ( rustling leaves, vibrant oranges, dense blacks, bright eyed Jack O'Lanterns - you can almost close your eyes and feel you are part of the most magical night of the year ) and whilst Horror is a genre that divides an audience, and this may not be for everyone, it must be said, that whilst i worked in the DVD rental industry ( 9 years )this film was a popular renter, and was either returned with praise similar to myself or a dismissive " meh " often accompanied with a fleeting comment that " it wasn't scary or gory " etc - and yes, the film may not satisfy the gore hounds nor those with a need for intense terrifying horror experiences, but those blessed with a disposition for subtle creepy horror, black comedy and a genuine love of Halloween night will hopefully find much to love here.

The DVD & Blu -Ray ( i have the US import which is Region Free and plays fine on my U.K blu ray player ) extras boast a fantastic documentary all about Halloween and it's origins, as well as a Making of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just alright halloween yarn, 8 Nov. 2010
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Much has been made of this being Tarantino-esque but its not really, the sequencing of the stories is comparable with Pulp Fiction's mashed format but I felt it was comparable to Creep Show (particularly Creepshow 2 [DVD] [1987] because of the comic book format at the beginning and end).

It is essentially four stories involving Halloween, with the character of "Sam", a sort of spooky, murderous mascot for the holiday which aims to see the traditions associated with it honoured and obeyed. Besides Sam the film features zombis/ghost/the restless dead, wherewolves and psycho-killers.

There is an element of classic horror movie just desserts in each tale, while the unwary are as likely to come a cropper as the out and out villainous, people are depicted paying the ultimate price for their misdeeds.

I could only give it three stars because while I liked the movie, it has a good crop of actors and actresses although none that I really noted or recognised and I like the story telling format it just didnt feel too original. It could as easily have been a TV network serial created and released for Halloween.

The extras are good, which include a making of documentary, a short animated feature which is Sam's first appearence and then this feature with commentary. The passion for Halloween and desire to make a real Halloween movie are very clear but the background to the traditions and themes is not in that much depth.

The screenwriting and direction did succeed in producing something which simultaneously creepy and quirky, like the holiday has. It made me think of Halloween 3: Season of the Witch, when some viewers hoped that it could be a departure thematically from stalker-slasher to a kind of seasonal horror franchise. Just as there was not sequel to that film and it returned to the Mike Myers format with the next movie I dont anticipate a sequels for Sam. Good enough movie but I felt it disappointed a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Halloween themed horror film., 13 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I've always had affection for anthology horror flicks, both good and bad, because by the time you get tired of one story another is there to try and win you back. Usually containing three or four short tales and a wraparound, anthologies are content with getting in, getting a few quick scares, and getting out and it's this aesthetic that Trick `R Treat clings to lovingly. Though I wouldn't really call it an anthology, since it's more along the lines of telling the stories of a bunch of residents from a small American town during Halloween night. Originally intended for theatrical run in 2007, Michael Dougherty's ode to October 31st finally came out two years later on Warner Brother's Premiere line of direct-to-DVD releases.

People in the sleepy town of Warren Valley just love Halloween. In fact, it's one of the few times a year that everyone gets involved with massive street parties and decorations. Which makes this the season for a whole slew of horrific goings-on using the cover of the holiday to hide such acts. Things like the opening scene where a girl coming back from a costume party with her boyfriend gets backed-up underneath a sheet when taking down the decorations in their front yard. This leads into a cool comic book themed credits sequence before writer-director Dougherty starts spinning us the four interlocked tales within. There are four tales which were pretty good including a tale involving Anna Paquin as a virginal werewolf, with some really nice fx and a weird and malevolent little creature (the one on the cover) that desperately wants to go out trick or treating.

"Trick `r Treat" is a loving tribute to Halloween, presented with a creative zeal absent from far too many of today's horror films. Eventually all of the sub-plots begin to blend together as Dougherty sets out with the goal to deliver us some Halloween themed fun (and succeeds greatly doing so) while throwing in some pretty inventive little twists that made me smile. This is the kind of horror flick I love sitting through. It doesn't take itself too seriously and is more focused on giving us an entertaining time rather than piling on excessive gore but, don't be fooled though there is an amount of bloodshed here. The best way to describe Trick `R Treat is as an affectionate tribute to both horror movies and Halloween with Dougherty letting his love of both shine through. It's an entertaining time that's guaranteed to give you moments of laughs as well as some scares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet dreams are made of this, 27 Oct. 2009
By 
Persona Synthetic (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
An excellent halloween themed anthology based in a town with more seasonal macabre goings-on than Haddonfield! Very intelligently put together; although there are four distinct stories the film is not segmented into seperate parts instead it is all interwoven into one flowing and complimentary tale within the basic premise of respecting the traditions of halloween if you want to live to see November!
There is quite a lot of black humour on display and the characterisation is excellent from the serial killing high school principal to the virginial young girl (Laurie!), the many children and Brian Cox as the irritable neighbour. The allegory concerning the virginal young woman was outstanding in its depiction and the campfire scene with Marilyn Manson's cover of 'Sweet dreams' playing a wonderful moment.
The stories concern the forementioned killer principal, the virgin, a group of children looking for halloween thrills and the old halloween naysayer, irritable neighbour of the principal. There is also another character, Sam, a small figure in a sack cloth mask who appears all during the film and proves to be a charismatic figure in his own right.
There are some homages made to 'Halloween' (the film) from Laurie the virgin to an early glimpse of a sinister white faced observer but this film more than stands on its own as another worthy addition to this occasion.
There are a number of good extras with the disc including an interesting half hour or so film about the origins of halloween, some really good additonal scenes which were edited out or not included (especially the ones with the trick or treaters) and an interesting animated short which proved the inspiration for this film from the very talented writer-director of 'Trick r Treat' Michael Dougherty.
Very good, very intelligent and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just your average expected halloween horror, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
Ms. R. Porter "Rach" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film immensely. It sets itself apart from other Halloween horrors, as there were so many moments in the film that surprised me, and I was constantly saying "Oh wow! I just did NOT expect that". This seems to be a rare occurrence in today's current film climate, where a lot of things tend to be predictable. It was everything that you would expect from a horror film and more. It switches backwards and forwards between different events in time, so that as the film progresses it forms a bigger picture than that than you originally thought it to be. A lot of films lately; seem to be doing this switching between timed events thing, as people seem to want more nowadays than just your average kill em off, with one twist in the tale. I used to find many horror films were pretty predictable, from the start you could guess who was likely to get killed off, but the twists in this film are entirely unexpected. It's comically gory, and very thrilling. Made even more disturbing by the fact that the evil kid thing actually looks so cute (In its halloween costume), without the mask though, it's a different story. My only criticism is that the film seemed to end so quickly, and in a part of the story where it felt that things could have been elaborated a bit more. I think that you get so used to enjoying this film you are genuinely disappointed when it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No tricks here, just a treat., 1 Nov. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Trick 'r Treat is written and directed by Michael Dougherty. It stars Dylan Baker, Rochelle Aytes, Anna Paquin and Brian Cox. Music is by Douglas Pipes and cinematography by Glen MacPherson. Trick 'r Treat plays out as an anthology of four Halloween related stories. One tiny figure with a burlap sack over its head links the film together.

Warner Brothers kept it on the shelf for two years, a mistake since it happens to be a delightful little frightener that appears to be made with a love of omnibus shockers from back in the day. It's never overtly scary or bloody, but it has a twisted slickness that is rather pleasing in this day and age of poor horror remakes and boorish cash cow sequels. Neatly performed by the cast and with tech credits high from the camera folk, it homages simple horror pleasures as it celebrates Halloween. With a glint in its eye and a macabre smile on the lips, this non linear treat should be perennial viewing for the Halloween hoards. Especially since it rewards still further on repeat viewings. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007]
Trick 'r Treat [DVD] [2007] by Michael Dougherty (DVD - 2009)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews