Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good career overview
This box provides an accessible and affordable detailed introduction to the mans music. If you just want the hits theres 100's of options out there (the best is without a doubt the 3 disc "Hitstory")to chose from. If your not a committed fan though but are curious to get a more indepth insight that goes beyond the greatest hits but unsure which albums to go for, this is...
Published on 14 Aug 2010 by Jim Reaper

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Short Changed?
On looking at the titles from the 7 CDs I found a total of 18 songs which were duplicated! Am I missing something here?
Published on 17 Nov 2010 by PW


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good career overview, 14 Aug 2010
By 
Jim Reaper (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) (Audio CD)
This box provides an accessible and affordable detailed introduction to the mans music. If you just want the hits theres 100's of options out there (the best is without a doubt the 3 disc "Hitstory")to chose from. If your not a committed fan though but are curious to get a more indepth insight that goes beyond the greatest hits but unsure which albums to go for, this is possible the best Elvis "starter kit" you could have.

From his 1st album release for RCA in '56, "Elvis Presley" it is the nearest you get to his early Sun cuts without buying them,which you should do. With the pink and green lettering (which was paid tribute to by the Clashs own "London Calling") through to the tailend of his life and career with the great "Moody Blue".
"Moody Blue" is an album worth so much more than AMG's paltry 2 star rating (goes to show even respected sources get it wrong sometimes). Considering his physical state at the time some of these performances beggar belief that he could still turn them out. The last LP release before his death deserves inclusion.

The 2 albums already mentioned which are number 1 and 7 in the box in terms of chronology would be on any "essential" list. So would the 2nd the "Christmas Album" recorded in '57. This was the marker he threw down to the world to say he was more than a white blues shouter. It hints at the range of performance styles he would soon prove himself capable of."Here comes Santa Claus" is pure pop, "Blue Christmas" pure blues, "I Believe" is country and "I'll be home for christmas" demonstrates the vocal range in a spine tingling dozen words or so. Forget the seasonal aspect this is an awsome album.

Just to show nobodys perfect (thats both Elvis and the compilers) we have "Blue Hawaii"- movie soundtrack. AMG hit it on nose here with 2 1/2 stars. Theres still moments everyone should own such as "Rock a hula baby", his only Hawaiian based beachbum/misunderstood richboy/playboy track worth having. Most of the soundtracks will have one or two gems and shouldnt be dismissed out of hand if im honest because of these. The only other song worth having here is "Cant help falling in love".

Next up 2 stone wall classic rock albums. Both absolute belters. The '68 special needs no further introduction. This begins a short period regarded as Elvis' rebirth that would go on till about '73 with the great "Aloha from Hawaii" concert and album.
The '68 special is one of those moments in rock that truly deserves to be called iconic. This is all about the performance. Who cares about the quality of the songs here,here he would've outshone and out performed ANYONE in a charismatic tour de force. Freddy would've hidden behind Brian Mays perm rather than follow this, Meatloaf wouldve packed it in and joined weight watchers!

Back to the more sensible side of this reviewing nonsense. "From Elvis in Memphis" is THE Elvis album. Good as the Sun sessions are and the '68 special mesmerizes this is it. The best Southern soul album of the 60's? Possibly. Its immense not just for the quality of songs and performance but the calibre of the players present. If you only recognise "In The Ghetto", "Suspicious Minds" thats reason enough to have this cd but the standard never drops.

Lastly "I'm 10,000 Years Old: Elvis Country". "From Elvis in Memphis" proves he could do soul and "I'm 10,000 Years Old: Elvis Country" proves he could do country with equal ease and accomplishment.While the songs speak for themselves ive always found the title track nippy. Not the song itself but its faded in and out insertion between the other tracks. Its annoying rather than innovative or clever and detracts from the overall enjoyment of the album as a whole. Thus id disagree with AMG's 4 1/2 stars and drop this to 3. But you might not find it so intrusive so try it and see, the tracks on this album are worth it still.

In summary this is a great boxset largely well thought out in terms of the original albums included here. The one significant blip is Blue Hawaii but i guess a soundtrack had to be in here but theres several better ones.
This is a solid 4 star boxset and great value for money too and i dont hesitate in recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no other elvis collections at home, 3 May 2011
This review is from: THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) (Audio CD)
This was a great buy, bought it for my husband who doesn't own any other elvis, and he loves it ver good varied collectins spanning his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 23 Sep 2010
By 
michael raes (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) (Audio CD)
For someone like me , though 51 years young , and with no single Elvis in his collection, this is a perfect match since it spans the mans carrier and serves several kinds of music on the table. Nice packaging and low price. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Jan 2014
By 
richsisna "richsisna" (South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) (Audio CD)
What can I say - there'll only ever be one Elvis Presley. I actually bought this as my brother has Alzheimer's so I thought if he heard this it would take him back to the days when he used to go to the dance halls and Elvis' songs would be playing. We had it on over Christmas when he came for lunch and he was singing away so it obviously brought back fond memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for., 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) (Audio CD)
All the songs that I could have wished for on these 7 CD's, All on my I pod for my enjoyment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Elvis., 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) (Audio CD)
I was never a great fan of Elvis until my brother made me listen to him. I bought this to remind me of this great and talented
man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars im pleased, 13 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) (Audio CD)
I am very pleased with this purchase. It is perhaps the only fully comprehensive compilation of Elvis. If you an Elvis fun, it is definitely cost-effective to acquire this collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Short Changed?, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) (Audio CD)
On looking at the titles from the 7 CDs I found a total of 18 songs which were duplicated! Am I missing something here?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD)
THE COLLECTION - PRESLEY,ELVIS (7CD) by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews