Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC TOUR REVIEW !!!!
I couldn't wait to receive this, but was nervouse the DVD wouldn't live up to some of the excellent reviews i'd been reading. Or that it wouldn't portray the tension & brutality of this tour. I needn't have worried. This is the best tour review to date (even better than Living with the Lions, which was the bench mark until now). The DVD takes you through the tour. Has...
Published on 19 Oct 2009 by BA

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the full ticket
Following Living With Lions was always going to prove difficult, and so Living With The Pride has proved. While some of the production qualities are quite arty and build a mood, you feel that it never quite gets into top gear. While some of the players feature strongly, others don't appear at all. If they're quiet, fine, show us that, but it was wrong to leave them out...
Published on 1 Dec 2009 by Bs Jones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC TOUR REVIEW !!!!, 19 Oct 2009
By 
BA (South East) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't wait to receive this, but was nervouse the DVD wouldn't live up to some of the excellent reviews i'd been reading. Or that it wouldn't portray the tension & brutality of this tour. I needn't have worried. This is the best tour review to date (even better than Living with the Lions, which was the bench mark until now). The DVD takes you through the tour. Has unbelieveable behind the scenes footage. You actually feel like your in the dressing room & part of the team. Although you know the results you find yourself willing the boys on. After the first two defeats, The build up to the third victorious test is absolutely gripping & the dressing room speaches & ultimate victory, makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. An absolute must for all Rugby / No sports fans. With out a doubt the best Sports Documentary of all time !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING! - AND I DONT EVEN WATCH RUGBY!, 22 Oct 2009
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
I was forced to watch this by a friend, and even though I don't follow or watch rugby, I thought it was AMAZING. I was totally entertained throughout the film and i think it gave a real insight into what the players, and everyone involved actually go through. It was great to see behind the scenes of the rugby world and i was taken on a fun and emotional journey. The build up to the last test was gripping, and i was glued to the TV the whole way through. WHAT A GREAT DOCUMENTARY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best !!!!!, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Gus Machado (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
I was very fortunate to have been invited to a preview, it was so incredible that I bought 5 copies as gifts when I got back- it was so good that I wanted to give my friends something special - and this was it!! It is emotionally charged, powerful, intimate and intense at times, yet funny and so brilliantly told that I felt that I was living and breathing with the team. I particularly loved to see how a cool and calm Ian McGeechan got so passionate and emotional about the final test....... who said an Englishman does not show emotions? Who said big boys don't cry? Great uplifting story!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the full ticket, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Bs Jones (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
Following Living With Lions was always going to prove difficult, and so Living With The Pride has proved. While some of the production qualities are quite arty and build a mood, you feel that it never quite gets into top gear. While some of the players feature strongly, others don't appear at all. If they're quiet, fine, show us that, but it was wrong to leave them out altogether. If Andy Powell is as mad as suggested, let's see it. We've all seen the games, but you come away with little idea of where the matches were played, where they stayed or where they visited. Also, there's precious little input from South Africans. So, much like the tour, it offered great promise and came up short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome DVD!!!, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to avoid the X-Factor on saturday and was able to watch this DVD instead (in another room of course - god forbid she misses Xfactor) anyways It was brilliant - all the behind the scenes were amazing and I think it really gives a feel of what it's like to be on tour! Would recommend to any rugby fan casual or hardcore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but no cigar, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
I was hoping for more match highlights, particularly from the tests, and so the second DVD was a disappointment. The first disc was excellent; providing great behind the scenes footage interspersed with clips from the matches, illustrating the emotional rollercoaster of this Lions tour for the players and management. With commitment and carnage such as this, why does anyone bother to watch football? There is no team sport more exciting than rugby played at this gladiatorial level. A warning if buying this as a gift for younger viewers: the pre-match verbals are very strong. My rugby-playing nephew will have to wait till he is 14 before he receives this; I don't want an ear bashing from his mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living with the Pride, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. A. Weston "Alison" (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
Couldn't wait for this DVD to arrive in the post! The day it arrived my husband and I were routed to the TV until the last second of it. Its a great DVD and covers all angles - the lows, the highs, emotions. Fantastic all the way through. Friend of ours wanted it so had to order it for him so I expect he's currently watching it now. Great Christmas present for all those rugby fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!!!, 26 Oct 2009
By 
David Dares (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
What more can i say!! If you want to see this tour in detail, see what the players were going through, see the team talks, see the injuries, see what it means to the players and see how it really was then this is for you. You can actually feel the emotion when you are watching and even as i am writing this the memories and tingling sensations are flooding back of the tour and what i saw on this DVD, some parts even brought a little tear to my eye as you realise this is THE pinnacle for these players who are after all like me and you and you can see how much it means to them. If you love sport, rugby or not, this is for you - shows how it really is and a MUST WATCH!!! You will not be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living with the Pride, 31 Jan 2010
By 
David J. Rhodes "DJRhodes" (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
Considering the length of the Tour the DVD covered I thought it was a really good review and had a good balance between the rugby action, behind the scenes activity and player portrayal. Other DVDs will cover the Test and match action in detail but this `is what it says on the box`.Brings out the tension of the Test matches and the intensity of the coaching team as well as the bonding and man management required for a successful tour.The Lions are totally unique and long may they last. I was lucky enough to be out there for two weeks and if you get the chance to go DO IT!!!. Absolutely fantastic experience not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lions should be proud, 25 Jan 2010
By 
S. Thomas "Fisherman" (Brixham, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britsh and Irish Lions 2009: Living With The Pride (South Africa 2009)[DVD] (DVD)
A really good insight into how the British and Irish Lions were chosen to go to South Africa. The team talks, meetings and team buildings were given by those with so much experience and dedication that you could feel you were part of the squad. You could also feel for them when decisions didn't go their way, and in some cases the unfairness of them too. Each squad member should feel proud of their part in the tour, and although we all knew the result of the games before watching the film, you still felt they were going to win the first two tests. Excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews