Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get what you're promised.
A good buy for any lions fan, with extended highlights of all three tests and the third test in full. It is perhaps a bit unnessecary to have highlights of test three when it is there in full on the second DVD and that takes up space on DVD 1 which could otherwise have been used for longer highlights of tests 1 and 2. This was slightly frustrating, as they are somewhat...
Published on 19 Oct 2009 by C. Carew

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Highlights?
Highlights?

I'm not sure who this DVD is aimed at - certainly not anyone interesting in learning anything about this monumental Lions tour. The highlights of the warm up games are necessarily brief, but that, I hoped, would just give more space for a fuller treatment of the Tests. Not so - the three Tests on the first DVD are given perfunctory treatment,...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by MattyB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Highlights?, 4 Oct 2009
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Highlights?

I'm not sure who this DVD is aimed at - certainly not anyone interesting in learning anything about this monumental Lions tour. The highlights of the warm up games are necessarily brief, but that, I hoped, would just give more space for a fuller treatment of the Tests. Not so - the three Tests on the first DVD are given perfunctory treatment, highlights involving no more than one phase leading to a try, or more often to a penalty infringement and the subsequent kick at goal. In a series where set scrums played, I think, a decisive role, we hardly see one. The decisive move to uncontested scrums in the Second test slips in unnoticed and unmentioned.

How to do it better? First, why on earth waste a valuable chunk of the first DVD with highlights of the Third Test when it is there in full on the second DVD. Cut that, and you could have given more time for the first two tests - perhaps enough to show how the games developed.

Second, spend a few bucks on adding some commentary - just enough to point out where things had changed between one clip and the next. Using the real-time commentary alone is just lazy. And would it have killed the producers to put the game clock in the corner of the screen - a glance to see whether the action you are viewing is taking place in the middle of the game or at the end would have been particularly helpful in the warm-up games.

So, sadly, we are left with a DVD that reduces what I remember as some of the most intense, committed and emotional sporting action I have ever seen to a series of un-related 20 second clips.

And why the third test in full, not the decisive second? Obviously because the Lions won that one, even though it was, to an extent, a dead rubber. I guess this answers my initial question - this is a DVD for British boys to buy their Dads for Christmas, to spend a few minutes admiring the great breaks made by Rob Kearney et al. Not one for me - now, where do I find Tests 1 and 2 complete?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best i've seen!!!, 20 Oct 2009
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Very dissapointed in this DVD, game highlights are very brief, not enough footage of the 1st and 2nd tests. Very poor compared to the 2001 & 2005 tour DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get what you're promised., 19 Oct 2009
By 
C. Carew (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A good buy for any lions fan, with extended highlights of all three tests and the third test in full. It is perhaps a bit unnessecary to have highlights of test three when it is there in full on the second DVD and that takes up space on DVD 1 which could otherwise have been used for longer highlights of tests 1 and 2. This was slightly frustrating, as they are somewhat brief and don't really do justice to two such exceptional test matches.

That is, however, my only complaint and I cannot imagine any real Rugby Union fan buying this and being dissapointed that they did so. A positive for me was the South African commentary, which is well balanced, informative and for my money, far preferable to the Sky commentary team which had to be endured when watching the matches over here.

A good buy, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is what it says it is., 1 Oct 2009
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Like it says on the tin... Match highlights of all the tour games, extended highlights of the first two tests and the full 3rd test.

Couple of things, the match highlights of the games against the clubs, don't show the yellow cards... Not that I'm after watching players getting booked, but sin binnings as they are tend to have an outcome on the game is all. Not a big gripe, just an observation.

All the commentary is the SA based Super Sports feed, and not Sky's. Not a bad thing at all, as Saffer commentary tends to be fairly complementary all round, and refreshing different at times. Hugh Bladen is the southern Hemispheres Bill Mclaren, and the only man on the planet capable of stretching out a players last name for the full length of time it takes him to run the length of the field to score.

Whilst the 3rd test was a big win for the Lions and I can see why a DVD marketed directly at Lions fans would have it, I can't help but think they should have put the 2nd test in as the full game. "We" lost it, but it was a much, much better game... As excruciating as that was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Danny (bath, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I agree - the DVDs producers have been very lazy with this and probably just wanted to get something out there. They are obviously not rugby fans cos they couldnt have done any worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Lions 2009, 23 Mar 2010
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Took me back to the summer, skiving off work early to watch the games excellent production and the totally unbiased South African commentaries make this a great dvd. I still cry when I see O'Gara go up in the air for his own kick in the last minute of the second test.Would recommend the dvd to all rugby fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The So Nearly Men, 13 Mar 2010
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A great video of some excellent play. It reminds us, sadly , of the way matches can be decided by just the odd slip of the hand, and refereeing decisions. Why weren't there neutral refs for a tour of this status?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bought for rugby mad husband, 9 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
If you have a rugby enthusiast this is a very good dvd. It shows all match highlights and means you can delete the matches from your sky plus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 Nov 2009
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The contents of this DVD is quite disappointing. There is - again - no actual game-time shown to get a better overview from when the selected highlights were chosen.
There is nearly no scrummage - especially and most omportant in the second Test - shown, instead wasted minutes of preparation of kicks etc..
Also missing in the second Test are the crucial injuries of Adam Jones and Gethin Jenkins.
Too little effort for such an fantastic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Highlights!!!, 12 Oct 2009
By 
David Dares (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British & Irish Lions 2009: Match Highlights [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as with my cricket matches this summer i couldn't watch most of the games, which was most gutting!! This is just what i wanted and needed, comprehensive highlights of ALL the games on tour with all the action and tries and extended highlights of the Test matches, which were great to watch even though in the end we didn't get the result we all wanted. Also watching the 3rd Test in full was great, especially to see us hammer the boks like we did! I would definitely recommend this to all Rugby fans to get a reminder of the great series played in the summer and how close we came!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews