Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John bishop Live at the Liverpool Empire
John bishop is the best new Stand up comedian bar none. What i likie is that he creates humour from things in life itself so you can relate. With some great extras, this DVD is luagh out loud stuff and sure to please. The extras include a documantary of the porthcawl Elvis festival. Behind the scenes of John's live show and John's tour diary. Feel good, luagh a minute...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by Bj Lucas

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you would have expected.
Having seen John Bishop on TV many times over the past year, I expected his first DVD - recorded in his home city of Liverpool - to be pin-sharp and edgy. But it's more like a big dose of comfortable Michael McKintyre, to be honest. Unlike Kevin Bridges, he goes for the safe route and bases his act around his family, Elvis and Liverpool Football Club. It's like wearing...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by John K. Gateley


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John bishop Live at the Liverpool Empire, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
John bishop is the best new Stand up comedian bar none. What i likie is that he creates humour from things in life itself so you can relate. With some great extras, this DVD is luagh out loud stuff and sure to please. The extras include a documantary of the porthcawl Elvis festival. Behind the scenes of John's live show and John's tour diary. Feel good, luagh a minute stuff. heartily reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Birthday Present Ever!, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
I went to go and see this for my 17th birthday (I think) when it was recorded, I went to the show in Liverpool in June and they said it was for a DVD, Elvis has left the building and everything. Honestly, it probably was the funniest night ever. I loved seeing him so much, if he makes you laugh when he is on TV shows then you really should buy this DVD. If you are concerned about swearing (which someone was) you should expect it from him, but this show is really funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!!, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
Got this for a friend for Xmas. Watched it before wrapping it. Thought it was flippin hilarious!!! Great stuff!! Wish I could have got tickets to go and see him, but was no great surprise to find out it was sold out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, 28 Dec 2010
By 
J. N. OAKES - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic comedian much better than Jason Manford any day. Worth the price I paid. Even the extra bits were entertaining. Bought the DVD for my mother as a christmas present and we laughed out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Bishop, 27 Dec 2010
John Bishop Live [Blu-ray]
Watched the DVD for the first time last night and could not stop laughing. I was born and brought up in Liverpool and appreciate John's sense of humour. Absolutly brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
Saw John Bishop last night - absolutely first class, not crude, racist or homophobic in any way. Pure comedy as the best Scouse comedians provide. Highly recommended comedian and I can't wait for my copy of the DVD to arrive. Interestingly enough, this man doesn't allow any "merchandising" apart from this type of DVD because he believes his fans pay enough to see him live without the additional cost and which about 25% goes to the venue! Unlike Peter Kay who has gone all show biz and forgotten his roots. Fantastic - watch the DVD, go and see him live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great DVD, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
Through being a huge fan of his and after seeing him in his latest Sunshine Tour, I was thrilled to get his DVD for Christmas. Having seen it about 4 times already, it is still as funny as the first time I saw it. It is not just the stories John tells that make him so funny, but it's how he tells them with his many expressions and actions.
For those that have given this DVD a low rating because they do not like the topics he talks about, if they had taken the time to read the back of the box (and look at the picture of him dressed as Elvis) then they would not have been so disappointed.
If you are a fan of John Bishop, then get this DVD. It is fantastic and I cannot wait for the Sunshine Tour to come out on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Bishop Live, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my husband as Xmas present. Watched and enjoyed by the whole family. John Bishop is very funny and I would highly reccommend this for all adults. Most enjoyable, good humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 1 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant dvd, watched over and over very funny, will definately go and see him live when he comes to Ireland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you would have expected., 11 Jan 2011
By 
John K. Gateley "johngateley" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen John Bishop on TV many times over the past year, I expected his first DVD - recorded in his home city of Liverpool - to be pin-sharp and edgy. But it's more like a big dose of comfortable Michael McKintyre, to be honest. Unlike Kevin Bridges, he goes for the safe route and bases his act around his family, Elvis and Liverpool Football Club. It's like wearing a comfy pair of slippers - cosy but unexciting. And again, unlike Kevin Bridges who focuses on sharp observation around him well beyond just his family - Bishop settles for discussing his teenage sons (no Les Dawson mother in law jokes here!). Family observation is unlikely to be as acidic as political or social commentary. He also seems to be in awe of what he has achieved. That's fine but he does need to get over it and move on. He's a funny man on TV but here he misses the chance to make some really sharp observations - he is in Liverpool for goodness sake but comes across like he is on stage in Grimsby (no offence to Grimsby). Again, compared with comedians more edgy than him, he almost completely fails to get a rapport going with the somewhat subdued audience - and that says a lot. He is talking at them whereas great comedians get the audience to be part of the dialogue, part of the experience. He needs to turn the dial up next time and get stuck in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3cd887c)

This product

John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD]
John Bishop Live (2010) [DVD] by John Bishop (DVD - 2010)
3.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews