Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£21.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2013
Splendid performances by all concerned and very well recorded. I have many recordings of these works but always come back to these ones. This set is very good value for money as well.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
These are well known and highly esteemed recordings of the Mozart Piano Concertos and as this price undoubtedly a bargain. I cannot help but sound a few reservations. In many of the concertos I prefer Perahia . There is a poetry in his recordings from K414 onwards that sometimes eludes Brendel . I am also not that taken with Marriner's accompaniment . It is professional and competent but not particularly inspired . If you want a very poetic set gofor Perahia.

On the other hand Brendel's playing is sometimes very profound especially in the later concertos . It is a great shame that his retirement and Mackerras's passing prevented them recording a full set . I find those later recordings with Mackerras superior in all respects to the Marriner set.

Then again for less that £20 this is a sensational bargain and others prefer Brendel to Perahia - at this price why hesitate.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
What a marvelous compilation of Mozart. Of course Brendel is magnificent. With a 5 disc changer I can have 1/2 of the 10 discs playing in the background all day, over & over. Now that's a deliciously peaceful day!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 October 2014
Alfred Brendel might not be the first name that comes to mind for Mozart. However, he brings his characteristic clarity and limpidity to these perenially popular works, at a low price. This collection can therefore be recommended both to those wanting a high quality and low price complete set of the Mozart piano concertos, as well as those with one or more such sets who want to hear another interpretation by an acknowledged master of the keyboard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
Words can't express how wonderful both the performances and the recordings in this collection. Brendel, to me. at least, is perfection nor do I have any fault to find with the orchestral playing, nor the fine conducting of Sir Neville Marriner. Sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Brendel in Mozart is,or should be,self recommending.Sound is superb,not just for its age,but for any recording.How anyone can think Perahia of Uchida is within touching distance of Brendel amazes me,he is truly poetic,and Marriner and co. are unmatchable.
Recommended?You bet!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Wonderful music - at a ridiculous cheap price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
Superb music and excellent recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
as good as I'd hoped
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)