Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatifull work
This album is on my top 10 preferred albuns of all time. Simply a beautifull and inspiring work from Noah and the Whale, fantastic melodies and lyrics - I didn't know Noah and the Whale until this album and its such a feeling of discovering you don't get every day. Mostly recommended!
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by P. S. Abreu

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound music, sound band
Noah and the Whale continue to make and play innovative music that is a cut above the fairly average fare available. I really like them.
Published 17 months ago by Mrs Pamela A Hayman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fantastic, 20 Dec 2009
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
Having been looking forward to this albums release after hearing snippets of it live, I was not disappointed. The film is beautifuly shot and the music is simply brilliant, at times, such as Our Window, achingly sad and others, such as Blue Skies and Love Of An Orchestra, wonderfully uplifting. A perfect album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably amazing, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. A. R. Smith "wooo noah and the whale" (High Wycombe, Bucks, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After releasing their debut 'Peaceful, The World Lays Me Down' last year, it was going to be a big challenge to try and create another album to the same standard. In the space of six months Noah and The Whale had produced what is possibly the best album I have listened to throughout 2009. Every track has been beautifully composed to perfection, with every pluck of the guitar, every stroke of the violin, and every note in his voice as precisely chosen as God created such a beautiful world.

The next six months Noah and The Whale focused on making an accompanying film which tells the story of a man called Ethan who has to cope with the loss of his beloved. The film is a masterpiece and won't be receiving any acting awards due to the lack of dialogue, but if I had a vote I'd try and give it a Grammy as is it essentially one long music video to the album. This film is only available in the deluxe edition of the album which also comes with some live performances of Noah and The Whale in Brooklyn.

This is a great album and I'd recommend it to anyone, especially to those who have broken up recently, as this is a strong recurring theme throughout the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To listen near the sea, 23 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
The First Days of Spring could perfectly be The First Days of Winter, where we need some embrace music like that to hold us warm.
Listen to the album by the sea, on a cliff, and just imagine your are sailing in a cold day of winter...a realy great album,

Best Track:The First Days of Spring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Leonard Cohen...without the chuckles!!!, 7 Sep 2009
By 
I.F.Coyle (Bolton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
That's my first reaction, a somewhat turgid, self-obsessed Leonard Cohen tribute, without the lighter bits.
To be fair it does improve after a couple of plays and the middle section has some interesting arrangements, but unlike other famous break-up albums (notably Dylan's "Blood on the Tracks") by the end I really did not wish to meet anyone involved in the affair!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 3 Nov 2009
By 
L. Andrews - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
Absolutely beautiful arrangements; painfully honest lyrics. There are notes in the opening track that literally seem to squeeze my heart. Listening to someone work through having their heart broken might not sound appealing, but the ambition of the overall sound and the diversity of tone prevent you from feeling you've just been dragged through a dark place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Music to die to ??, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
This was my second purchase from this band, and I was really not happy with this one.

The title is a bit misleading, you think of spring you think of sunlight, life, movment!!

The only movment this record made me want to make was the sharp cutting motion to my wrists with a knife!!

A bad purchase but I don't mind beacuse L I F E G O E S O N........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth having in your collection, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Beth Mottart (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
This is quite different from their previous albums. Musically subtle and varied, even though all the songs cluster around the same subject. It is not nearly as depressing as some reviews might lead you to believe, in fact quite the opposite in a way. A lot of musical virtuosity on display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
making people write long reviews on ggod they receive is in my opinion expecting a lot. surely just a simple word comment is enough??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Once more with feeling this time !, 30 Aug 2009
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
The signs were not good. 'The first days of spring' had not exactly received glowing reviews in the media. At best it appear to be limping along in the so so 3 star range with critics underwhelmed by Noah & the Whales' second offering.
Three tracks in I was thinking...Sheesh...I'll struggle to objectively give this one star such was it's turgid and dreary quality.
Thankfully it did pick up a gear from here on in but only just ! The eponymous opening track is not something you would want to listen to if you are feeling depressed and by heck does it drag on...and on...and on ! 'Our Window','I have nothing' and 'My broken Heart' keep up the heavy vibe until thankfully 'Instrumental 1' lifts the spirits slightly.
Without offering a blow by blow account of the rest of the tracks,suffice it to say,the album meanders along self indulgently and without inspiration to end up on the shores of overwhelming indifference.
My God I've listened to some rubbish lately. Will someone out there please make an album of imagination and conviction instead of this endless procession of witless Radio 2 easy listening muzak !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first days of spring, 16 Nov 2009
This review is from: The First Days of Spring (Audio CD)
Almost entirely different from the first album, but amazing!

can listen to it twice in a row as it is relaxing and not incredibly involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Days of Spring
The First Days of Spring by Noah and the Whale (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews