Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative Sandbox Shooter!
I already reviewed the PC version of this game. My son liked the look of it and bought a copy for his xBox 360. Its pretty much identical in gameplay. He even found an easter egg on the xBox version (a bubble gun, believe it or not) and gave me the map reference to it. I found it on my PC version, and the bubble gun was there too!

On that basis, I have repeated...
Published on 22 Oct 2010 by Macintyre's Speculum

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Size doesn't matter.
After all the hype I was really looking forward to this title. So short lived.

I was amazed to find that the gameplay is nearly as bad as the voice acting and story. There was no progression to the game what so ever, the story really goes nowhere and the weapon/vehicle upgrades made no noticable difference. A fully upgraded pistol will stil take 8-9 shots to...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Mr. M. Lock


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative Sandbox Shooter!, 22 Oct 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I already reviewed the PC version of this game. My son liked the look of it and bought a copy for his xBox 360. Its pretty much identical in gameplay. He even found an easter egg on the xBox version (a bubble gun, believe it or not) and gave me the map reference to it. I found it on my PC version, and the bubble gun was there too!

On that basis, I have repeated my PC review, as the comments about gameplay are valid for both platforms.

I bought Just Cause 2 because it was cheap and had reasonably good reviews. Having completed the main story I thought I may as well review the game.

You play a secret US agent sent to find out whats going on in an (invented) island in SE Asia. On the island are various factions, and in order to get to the bottom of the mystery you have to cause chaos against the state, either by just blowing up government buildings etc, or by doing jobs for the various factions on the island.

There is no inter-faction rivalry to speak of, however, you will be fighting government troups on a regular basis, and the factions will join in and help at times.

I won't give any more of the story. It gets very silly at the end though. However, once the story is over, you get to remain on the island as a mercenary, and you can finish off the remaining tasks. This is a good thing, as some of the tasks are quite varied, and I had only completed 33% of them when I finished the main story (after 78 game hours!).

How you do this is up to you. You have guns, timed explosives and you can even hijack tanks and helicopter gunships. There's something worryingly addictive about laying waste a civilian town with a tank.

However, you also have a grappling gun. Once you get the hang of it, this is both a handy mode of transport and a good weapon. Here are some of the ways you can use it:

Fire it at a nearby object. You will then be pulled to that object. Handy for climbing buildings. You can also open a parachute as this is happening and you will be launched into the air.

Fire it at a vehicle. You will either end up on the roof, allowing you to hijack it, or you will pull off the person shooting at you.

Fire it at one object, and attach the other end to another. So you can fire it at a statue, attach the other end to a van, then drive the van to pull down the statue.

Best yet, fire it at a person, attach the other end to a car, then drive off for a novel killing method.

this list could go on and on and on. You are only limited by your imagination.

So yes, the game is huge. The island itself has many environments. There's snow-capped mountains, more traditional jungle affair, and the fairly expected desert regions too. One criticism here is that going from snow to a sandy beach scene can happen a tad too quickly. there is also rainfall, and night and day make their presence felt. There is none of the pitch black you get in a Stalker game though.

As well as all the faction missions, there are 300 faction objects scattered throughout the land. You can either collect them or ignore them. Its up to you. It gives you another goal once the game is complete though.

The only downside is, that being a sandbox game, it can get boring if you play it for long sessions. Its meant for an hour here and there. If that isn't a problem for you, or you like exploring, then this game is absolutely essential.

===========================

As a footnote, since completing the main quest, I have spent many hours completing nearly all of the races. Value for money really is phenomenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful sandbox destruction, 13 April 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just Cause 2 is great looking, utterly vast, and good fun. I stole a Boeing 737 and flew about the map yesterday and it took ages.

The game revolves about blowing up the rebel island, taking missions to earn money and buying gear to make your quest easier. In places it is blisteringly good fun. You can nick any vehicle at all, planes, choppers, boats, cars, bikes. You drive or fly around wreaking havoc on everything on the island. The thing is that only parts of the island blow up. Trees can be felled and signage, and petrol tanks blow up very satisfyingly. Shooting gas canisters is very good fun as they shoot off, whizz around smashing things down before exploding. And the car crashes can be fantastic and crazy.

But once you have played Battlefield: Bad Company 2 where everything can be smashed down, it seems a little disappointing not to be able to demolish the bigger buildings. The combat system also seems a little vague and the enemy AI is not great. You have a sight and if you are near the enemies it goes red and you generally hit them. You don't have to be too accurate. Killing them is not that rewarding and melee is rubbish. You just lash out with the grappling hook close up. The game also has odd glitches like stuttering dialogue and peculiar screen drop out every now and again.

However overall it is a good game. It is very addictive whizzing around the island. You can get missions from various clans, which are mostly fairly easy escort missions or just blow stuff up. It is very free form and you can travel widely and explore new areas. Bombing over the surface of the water with the coral reefs underneath is beautiful. Game play feels somewhat thin though. I adored Just Cause and thought I would become addicted to this one. But the vague combat system and repetitious missions have knocked my love of it a little. I drop in and out of it in between playing Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 2 and the excellent Bad Company 2. But I don't regret buying it for a moment!

Pros:
Vast and beautiful world, from vast mountains to Caribbean type seas
Nick anything, planes, boats, choppers. Over 100 vehicles to play with
Easy to pick up and play. Surf cars or Boeing 737's
Explosive environments and great crashes
Mindless free roaming fun

Cons:
Combat not brilliant
A lot of the missions are a little repetitive
I wish it was even more destructible, such as the bigger buildings
Odd glitches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 7 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is by far one of my favorite games, there are so many things you can do, fly jets, helicopters, drive cars and boats, you can use your parachute and grapple hook (one of the most fun and useful things you can do) to glide just about anywhere you want, there is plenty of downloadable content for the game and there are so many places to explore. There is even the entire LOST map that you can explore.

There are not that many main missions but there is a lot of side missions, many places to take over and cause chaos, many collectibles and a lot of acheivements that can be earned. The graphics really are stunning (especially in HD) and the game is not too hard to learn, there are many difficulties that the game can be completed on (and acheivements corresponding to each level of difficulty that you finish the game on). The game is very fun and there is a lot of stuff to do on it. If you buy the limited edition (which is normally around the same price anyway) you get the game in a embossed cardboard sleeve and a code wich enables you to unlock bonus cars and weapons, you also get a large folded map of the game. Worth every penny, 96/100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant a combination of all good things, 29 Jun 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well after reading some mixed reveiws of it so i wasnt expecting something not that great however when it arrived i had a quick play on it and its a amazing game the landscapes are beautifull the map is huge and there isnt any lag in loading it up.

Good points
Amazing size
Loads to do endless amount of missions, races, challenges etc.
Fun veichles ie a hugh boeing 737 helicopters jet fighters to your average scooter
Good amount of detail in the landscapes
intresting missions.
There are loads of good points just other reveiws have pointed them out.
Not so Good points:
Crap voice acting

I have completed all the main missions and have taken over alot of the bases and im still on 25%

Well worth the money highley recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A big, big bundle of fun, 13 Jun 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
>>If you haven't played the first just cause then you won't know what the Just cause games are about, unless you have read up on this one. The first game was, for me, amzing and always left me wanting more and more. It had some niggles but was generally a great game. Just cause 2 arrives on the scene and we are, again introduced to the biggest map on a sandbox ever. It's huge size and sheer beautiful landscapes are something you'll never forget.

>>You start off as, again, Rico Rodriguez who works for an agency named the agency (good isn't it?). After a few missions you are left to explore the massive 400+ square mile map. Now I could go on forever about the map, but to be orderly i'll cover missions first. Like the first ou have agency missions and faction missions. You work for 3 different factions and the agency throughout the game all intent on bringing down the tyrent leader (or something). You unlock these missions by cause chaos on the streets of Panau. this is done by either attacking the millitary to destroying power stations. Basically the game rewards you more chaos the bigger the destruction. Chaos also unlocks Black market items that can be purchased for money gained by causing chaos and doing missions. Things are pretty expensive to buy though so alot of chaos will have to be done to earn enough to buy a jet fighter. You can purchase weapons and vehicles and extractions to already discovered place from the blck market dealler. To be honest you might aswell just attack the millitary if you want weapons. it is free and you get chaos and money for it.

>>Missions are to be frank, boring. Some are cool but most are just plain and pointless. I didn't feel any need to progress the story by doing tha agency missions as the game only shines when roaming. Stuttering also occured in some missions and and it sounded like the disc was scratched and had crashed.

>>Just cause 2 is only a brilliant game when you roam around, and you'll be doing plenty of that. Not just to cause chaos but to discover places. Everywhere on the map needs to be discovered. It may sem overwhelming at first but don't worry you only need to drive through a place for it to beome a known place. Areas can also be completed by collecting weapon parts, armour parts cahs and more in them. Every place, no matter how large or small can be 100%-ed so it will also last you a long time in that area. Of course there is tons (and I mean tons) of stuff to collect and see around the island and achievements/trophies to unlock.
Getting around the island is simple, hi-jack a vehicle and drive, sail or fly to your waypoint. There are over a 100 vehicles in the game, so you'll never be short of a ride. Each vehicle has different handling, although the differece isn't much. Some, depending on what you get, have mounted guns and some other helpful tools for causing destruction. You can get around, though, by using the updated and better grapple hook and parachute. You'll soon learn how to us ethe grapple and parachute together to stay airborn longer and it is generally hany if you are stuck in the desert without a ride. The grapple is great fun to use, whether you're hooking people to cars or helicopters or whizzing round a millitary airport.

>>There are of course niggles. Some frustrating some just pain fixable when the game was in development. Rico seems to be able to withstand not alot of damage when his phoes are strangely hard to kill and alot of bullets do have to be used to take out a couple of guys. The melee attack is also rather rubbish. You press the melee button and Rico slashes someone with his grapple. Not great and the same really as the first. It would've been nice to see a cover system at least.
But JC2 doesn't care what people think. It takes pride in being over dramatic and unrealistic. It takes pride in being one of the worst hand to hand games out there, because it as over 400 miles of open places to explore. JC2 isn't about the guns or hand to hand. it is about exploration and discovery. JC2 exists mainly to bring yuo a great big bundle of fun. it is a treat, like ging out and buying yourself the biggest, most chocolaty, unhealthy cake out there. This doesn't make it ok to have the problems listed but to be honest, whe you have that freedom it doesn't matter. It doesn't deliver in the fighting style, but hell does it deliver in size.

>>Just cause 2 will take you forever to 100% but if you do, you should have your name in the world records book. it doesn't just give you the map, but things that keep you coming back to the map, things to collect. There are also skulls and different objects belonging to each faction that can be found, some of which are under water (very sneaky indeed).
JC2 is, basically a big game that makes you overlook it's niggles with the great visuals, size and replayability. You'll be hooked - fact.

I Love:
Map size
More vehicles
Better grapple and parachute
Loads to do

I Hate:
Missions can be boring
Stuttering
Health system
Black market dealer is expensive

VERDICT:
If you want to treat yourself to the biggest treat in video gaming history then JC2 is for you. If you love mission based games, still look a JC2, but it might not hit the right spot. Overall a great never ending experience.

Graphics: Great. Cutscenes can be shabby but the world is an amazing place to view. 8.9
Missions: Alot of them, also alot of dull ones. 7
Sound: Voice acting is pretty rubbish, especially the stuttering, but the gameplay sounds are great. 8.2
Size: The biggest map I know of, and the best. 10
Vehicles: varied but there are quite a few dull ones. Planes are a real treat though. 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Size doesn't matter., 8 Jun 2010
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After all the hype I was really looking forward to this title. So short lived.

I was amazed to find that the gameplay is nearly as bad as the voice acting and story. There was no progression to the game what so ever, the story really goes nowhere and the weapon/vehicle upgrades made no noticable difference. A fully upgraded pistol will stil take 8-9 shots to take down a standard grunt which is no fun when you get swarmed by enemies if you so much as fart near one of thier bases! However, just keep squeezing the trigger and the AI will make sure every enemy has run into one of your stray bullets. There is only a handful of weapons, 1 pistol, 1 submachine gun, 1 rifle etc... and they are each as ineffective as the last.

Getting around the island is a real pain in the behind. It takes FOREVER to get anywhere, with almost nothing happening inbetween. The scale of the map is impressive, until you realise it is just ground texture and lots of trees. So the best way to get about is to purchase a plane from the black market. Which takes a loading screen and 2 cutscenes of the same dialogue EVERY time you order something. Only to find even the cheapest plane costs you more money than you have made in the last 3 story missions. (also it is very very hard to land a plane so they are pretty much one use items.)

The grappling hook is great fun, for about an hour, then once you realise that it is too weak and breaks after about 5 seconds all the cool stunts etc you had planed just don't work. The novelty of it soon wears off.

The scenery varies quite a bit. but the buildings don't. Especially enemy bases. The layout for these is almost identical for each and there is a few destrcutible buildings dotted around like fuel silo's and barracks. Yet a tiny little mud hut next to the base will not fall victim to any kind of weaponry. This only added to the repetative feel of the game as you could only fell the same 5-6 buildings over and over.

Repetative is how I would describe the game as a whole. There is no desire to play through the "story" (if you can call it that) the upgrades are pointless so there is no need to chase those, there is not alot to see anywhere apart from generic towns, enemy bases and tree's ...lots of tree's!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ACTION GAME EVER!, 21 Oct 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As my title says, Just Cause 2 is probably THE best open-world action game ever made. I experienced endless hours full of fun, action and satisfaction. The game takes place on an enormous island called Panau. The island is so big that I doubt that you will ever see everything. It has over 360 single villages scattered all over the map.

To cross the map you can basically use every vehicle in your mind. Tanks, boats, jets, motorcycles, cars, helicopters, planes and of course Rico's (the main character) grappling hook and your parachute.

Trust me, there's enough to do on Panau island and you won't regret the buy of this game. If you love open-world games with a huge world, action and massive explosions, you have to play Just Cause 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive game, 9 Sep 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The sheer size of this game is gobsmacking.. it can be a bit difficult at times with those pesky aa launchers savaging your aircraft all the time, it just takes a little bit of time to master how to dodge such crafty attacks.

Fun rating is off the scale, as theres so much to do in this game. Graphics cant be snubbed either, excellent game engine, great finished product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but Fun, 14 Aug 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
using the parachute and grappling hooks are the highlight of the game, as they are very fun to use to get around. Graphics are good, especially for the many explosions.

however there are problems:
-no cover system so you get shot to pieces, and evading isn't that effective
-ammo gets burnt up quickly at the beginning of the game
-loose handling in vehicles and some general bad camera work
-camera when grappling is nauseating when climbing up sides of buildings
-enemies soak up as many bullets as juggernauts in MW2, so you have to use headshots or explosions
-loose flying controls that are not sensitive enough and there is no yawing, meaning flight challenges are virtually impossible as turning is so hard.
-melee is a joke. it takes 3 hits to kill a guy and his does stop firing his gun at you until he dies
-sometimes its a little too corny, actually mostly it is corny and the accents of ALL the voices are a bit of a joke and can be annoying.
-sensitivity is wrong most of the times and cannot really be changed to make it better
-missions aren't great
-soundtrack isn't great

on the other hand:
-fixed machine guns/helicopters with machine guns/vehicles with machine guns balance combat a bit more in your favour and are easy and fun to use
-some great vehicles
-island has great variety
-you can get a tank
-fun to blow up stuff and cause chaos
there are other little things that work quite nicely but are negligable and should be expected of a sandbox game eg upgrades and collecting stuff.

don't get me wrong it is a very fun game, but can be frustrating until you get used to its controls and faults. for £18.00-£25.00 it is a good deal if you like over the top free roam action games, but I was a little disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Cause 2, 12 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Awesome fun. Even if you don't do the missions, you will still have so much fun jumping, gliding, driving, flying, grappling...

A visually spectacular game, with a huge and extensive map.

There's even a few nods to LOST on the game... see if you can find the LOST hatch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360)
Just Cause 2 (Xbox 360) by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
£15.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews