Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic
Gojira are pushing modern Metal to new reaches with 'From Mars To Sirius'. An environmental conscience is a little unusual within the Death Metal umbrella but there's more than this to make them interesting. Their Music is a shining example of presice technical ability and the excellent production on this album backs that up. However, there's a lot of passion and emotion...
Published on 29 Sept. 2006 by James N. R. Goad

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good first impression
well, at first i loved this cd, songs like backbone and to sirius really got me going, but then after a few listens everything seemed to blend in. The lyrics, i must say are pretty awful and predictable. The tone and production on the guitars sounds too messy and the whales? cough mastadon anyone?? This is still a good album but doesnt have any features to make it stand...
Published on 21 Feb. 2007 by Duncan Stagg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic, 29 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Mars To Sirius (Audio CD)
Gojira are pushing modern Metal to new reaches with 'From Mars To Sirius'. An environmental conscience is a little unusual within the Death Metal umbrella but there's more than this to make them interesting. Their Music is a shining example of presice technical ability and the excellent production on this album backs that up. However, there's a lot of passion and emotion too. Mastodon and Strapping Young Lad are the most obvious stylistic references but Gojira bring in many elements. There is also a more progressive side akin to Neurosis / Isis but

Gojira are by no means a 'copycat' band.

In short, From Mars To Sirius is an outstanding album & hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whale-Death metal :), 26 April 2006
By 
Thomas Way (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Mars To Sirius (Audio CD)
Yes, that whale on the front cover is there for a reason-these are metalheads with an environmental conscience. This album is a loose concept album, built around the destruction of the earth by mans fickle and destructive nature. They use the groans and bellows of whales at times to punctuate their music, to introduce songs, etc.

Moving onto the music itself, it is technical to the extreme, absolutely stunning riffing, tremendous vocals and thundering drums.

This will not be to everyones tastes-the vocals are harsh at times and this is quite a rough-and tumble record. However, for lovers of death and/or heavy metal this band is well worth checking out. A great prospect for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy as a heavy thing., 11 May 2006
By 
This review is from: From Mars To Sirius (Audio CD)
This really is one of the heaviest bands around at the moment.

They remind me a little of Strapping Young Lad, especially with their wall'o'sound approach to layering the songs.

The drummer is simply increadible. He is like a machine in his precision.

For me, there is a pair of tracks towards the end of the album that sum Gojira up.

The track From Mars... is haunting and makes the hair on the back of your neck stand up. It's followed by what can only be described as a sledgehammer to the face in the form of ...To Sirius.

This really is technical metal at it's best.

Highly recommended to fans of Mastodon, SYL or Meshuggah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew the French could rock so hard?, 28 Jan. 2007
By 
Jo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Mars To Sirius (Audio CD)
I haven't written any reviews on Amazon for, ooh, ages, but I am prompted to by the sheer awesomeness of From Mars To Sirius.

As others have mentioned, the Mastodon influence on this album comes through very strongly, along with echoes of other technical metal bands - but with a real heart to it, too. This isn't just supremely talented metal riffing for the sake of it, though - there is an emotional depth to the album which ensures I'll be listening to it for a long time to come.

The singer uses a vocal style somewhere between Cookie Monster and clean - here once again the Mastodon comparison can be made, along with echoes of In Flames, sort of death-y but still melodic. They fit very well with the gunfire-rapid drumbeats and the by turns insanely heavy and menacingly soft chords produced by the rest of the band. And considering Gojira are French, the lyrics themselves are far better than I had anticipated, and sung with not a trace of an accent. How refreshing.

My stand-out tracks: Backbone and Flying Whales, although it's very hard to pick favourites.

I'm so glad I picked this up almost on a whim, and if you're wavering too, I say go for it - Gojira will rock your socks off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, beautiful and progressive, 25 Jan. 2008
By 
Lexx (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Mars To Sirius (Audio CD)
For once, I wasn't sure what to expect with this LP. Apart from Terrorizer hailing them as 'the saviours of metal', nothing registered on my consciousness regarding this band. However, I finally got round to getting it - on a total whim - as I'm beginning to dig a lot of French music at the moment ( the recent Puppetmasterz, Jean Michel Jarre and Charlotte Gainsbourg LPs are great ), so i thought it was time to see what Metal sounds like from that part of the world. 'Incredible', is the answer.
Huge, crushing, Mantra Metal is what Gojira bring us. Angular, non-melodic rhythms played with stunning mathematical precision, backed by jackhammer drumming. The result is like a meditation on THE RIFF. Very catchy, and should stimulate areas of the cerebellum usually only reached by bands like MORBID ANGEL,( early )KING'S X, and Monotheist-era CELTIC FROST. Actually, they wouldn't seem out of place on a concert bill with any of those bands, and could also share a stage with Dream Theater or Alchemist, too. Progressive, but very, very heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars People! give it up for the whales!, 11 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: From Mars To Sirius (Audio CD)
this is a concept album regarding mans destruction of the enviroment and has soundscapes of whales in the ocean screaming just to highlight the torture of it all and that mankind is pushing the self destruct button,but its also an album that has brought new meaning to the term crushing metal,this is spine tingling,face melting,ribcage snapping metal at its most brutal and yet most challenging,and this has the ability to make a grown man weep.

The album opens with the blistering ocean planet which builds and then lets loose with chugging riffs that mastodon would be proud of,indeed mastodon are an influence to this band,but thats not to say that gojira are a tribute band,its just that if you are gonna sound like someone then mastodon is that band.the songs backbone and from the sky follow and you cant ignore the bands message and the sheer riff after headbanging riff,they have millions of them in each song,the vocals are easy to make out so for those that say they are death metal,i argue no to that belief.Unicorn follows and it is an instrumental that includes the sound of whales either in pain or communicating but in keeping with the albums tone i suggest they are in pain!

The band themselves are french and have been around a few years steadily building a fanbase and this album should bring them further glory,their heaviness is stunning but yet they arent overbearing,fans of a million bands would enjoy this,like i said mastodon are an influence and i have to agree with references to meshuggah and strapping young lad,the drumming is frantic but gojira have the ability to slow it down and give us a chance to reflect and breathe again and the song builds and then we are off again,the song to sirius will leave you smiling and mournful in the same moment,this is music for those who want to hear somnething just that little bit different,give this a chance and you will understand the passion in music once again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The heaviest metal in the universe, 27 Mar. 2008
This review is from: From Mars To Sirius (Audio CD)
I first saw these boys when they were touring supporting Annihilator and Trvium. The were so heavy they scared me. I had to leave the room.

The consequence of this was that for many months ahead I was intrigued every time I saw this album in the CD rack in the shop, but I was still way too chicken scared to get the thing.

Finally my fear subsided over the months ahead and I finally took the plunge and bought the album.

Am I glad I did or what?!!

This is a masterfull piece of modern progressive metal. Think of death metal meets Mastodon. It's heavy beyond heavyness. Very cleanly produced, with some awesome guitar work.

The all pervading message about man's continuing destruction of the very thing that gives him life is a nice touch for a metal band. Don't be worried about this comment though. If you didn't know the background and listened to the album you'll just take it for what you hear - sledgehammer heavy modern metal.

Awesome music. I'm glad I overcame my fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is easy to say whales are the heaviest thing on this planet, 10 Aug. 2007
By 
Mrs. A. M. Rees "Dan the magical wizard" (forest of bull crap) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Mars To Sirius (Audio CD)
I am not a long time fan of gojira and only found them out due to a friend. After listening to a few of their songs i wasn't to fussed on them but when i went to see trivium at newport (when they promotin their new album which honestly is the biggest load of crap i ever listened to) i was lucky enough to see gojira due to the fact they were supportin and immeadiately fell in love with the music which could be due to the fact i was geting the crap beaten out of me in the pit due to the fact i'm only 5'9.

Back to the matter of "from mars to sirius" if you want a fresh new band (that obviously have been influenced a bit from mastadon which is never a bad thing) buy this album.

If you only want to stick with the classics bands like matallica (i'm a slayer fan myself) don't buy this album thinkin thats its goin to sound like the sames riffs as you've learned to love.

Essential tracks:
-ocean planet
-Backbone
-The heaviest matter...
-Global Warming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic, 16 Aug. 2011
This review is from: From Mars to Sirius (Audio CD)
I often find myself straying away from the "death metal" label, but as I had heard several times that if you loved Mastodon (one of my favourite bands), you'll almost certainly love Gojira, that is definitely true. From Mars To Sirius is a fantastically written album that packs a punch as well, with some of the heaviest riffs I've heard in a while, drumming is excellent for both casual listeners and the fans of the technicalities. If you're a metal fan looking to expand your horizons, FMTS is a great place to start. My personal favourite track is the the colossal "Flying Whales".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gojira Rock, 12 May 2009
By 
Ms. H. A. Moult "Miss Metal" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Mars to Sirius (Audio CD)
Gojira are an awesome band and i was very happy with my purchase of From Mars To Sirius. As per usual i wasn't let down and enjoyed every minute of the album. If you are a Gojira fan and don't own this album, then i suggest you go and buy it pronto, you won't be disappointed :)

On the other hand, if you don't know who they are but you're intrigued then please get a copy and have a listen - you never know you may just have found your favourite album ;)

Buy this album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Mars To Sirius
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews