Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!!!!
could have been packaged better with more bubble wrap,but was not damaged.easy fit,6x7m garden bathed in a surprisingly strong blue light,works great,the big test is heavy rain and its first winter,but first impressions are good.well,got it on the 12 june,put it up in brilliant sunshine,works great,then on 14-15,torrential rain,still working!!,i`m very pleased with my...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by J. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Build - YOU need to SEAL it before Installing
Bought this direct from Powerbee.

The fault in the delivered item is that it comes on during the day even when I set it to the lowest lux setting, I contacted Powerbee several times by email but but 10 days laters I am still waiting for them to reply as the item sent is faulty.

Inspectign the light I can see that it will need a lot of silicon sealant...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. N. Walayat


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!!!!, 14 Jun 2012
By 
J. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
could have been packaged better with more bubble wrap,but was not damaged.easy fit,6x7m garden bathed in a surprisingly strong blue light,works great,the big test is heavy rain and its first winter,but first impressions are good.well,got it on the 12 june,put it up in brilliant sunshine,works great,then on 14-15,torrential rain,still working!!,i`m very pleased with my p
rchase.update!!,it`s now sept7,all is well with it,still works a treat,will update again during the winter months,after xmas.its mid feb now,and its still going strong,very happy with it.(thats all folks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value improving product, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
Summary.

Small but relatively bright, well made product, easy to install and set up with good English instructions. At it's current price very good value. Would happily buy again from this company.

Bookmarked this product towards the end of last winter when I was informed that we needed a light for the garden path leading up to the front door (somebody watching too many scary films...). But as nights were getting lighter I didn't bother ordering it then, glad I didn't as there was a sale on when I did earlier this month :).

Was slightly surprised at the size of the box, well marked as fragile, that turned up in timely fashion (c.20cm x 20cm x 12cm)(think I was expecting some enormous floodlight with a solar panel the size of a sky dish), gave me slight angst that I'd bought some underpowered pen torch that might glow feebly for 30 seconds. Glad to say I was wrong on the brightness front and quite happy with the compact nature of the light as it's situated above the front door where a carbuncle wouldn't be appreciated.

Installation, depending on where you want to put it will involve drilling four small holes (screws and wall plugs supplied), two for the solar panel and two for the light/PIR combo. This is one of the reasons why I call it an improving product as it sounds like they're listening to and responding to feedback; an earlier reviewer said that he had had problems with fitting the light as he had to dismantle it and used three screws just to fix the light, now it's just two and doesn't involve any dismantling of the unit itself. A different reviewer noted that the cable was only around 2m and couldn't be separated to allow passing the cable through a hole; the cable now has a connector to allow this and while I must admit I didn't measure the cable it probably is between 2 and 3m which was adequate for me. Because of this connector it should, in theory be possible to introduce an extension cable though I don't know what the limitations on cable length would be or whether PowerBee might be able to supply one for those north facing wall situations????

Adjustment was easy enough involving three dials, one for sensitivity, one for lights on duration and one to determine what level of ambient light the unit becomes active in. I only wanted about 1 minute of light during darkness with a detection range of about 8 to 10m, all set in a few minutes at ground level prior to mounting.

The LEDs give off a good bright blueish light, not so bright that you're blinded if you're walking towards them but good enough to light 10m or so of garden path so you can see where the slugs are.

All in all very happy with the product, though it's only been up for three weeks now but other reviewers attest to their longevity and the company provide replacement rechargeable batteries should they become necessary in the future, so no worries there either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
I was looking for a hassle free light to instal at the side of my house due to number of thefts from oil tanks in my area.Saw this and read all the reviews so i got one,and i have to say this is a brilliant product,very easy to install,very well packed and it arrived two days before it should have.Have already recommended one of these to friends at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BW, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
PowerBee Signaller Solo Security Light 28 Superbright led's Movement Activated

Light is brghter than expected. I am thinking on ordering some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
So far so good, these have worked well beyond our expectations. Three installed in the garden and even with the minimal winter sun that we have, they have worked flawlessly. Fingers crossed it stays that way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant solar security light, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
Robust, easy to place and move about, is extremely bright for solar, what's more since the fewer daylight/sunlight hours, it's still as powerful and lasts all night and very effective it makes a beautiful feature at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I expected and good value., 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
The light was as described by the seller and the reviews. I feel it is good value for money with a good sensor and for a solar powered light, a good light strength and works well in the position I selected. Also easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart Solar Light, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
We've had solar garden lights before and in the summer they look great but in the winter when you actually need them they're dim and pointless....not true with this one (so far). Easy to install and long cable between light and solar panel means we've placed the light where we need it and the panel when it can get the most sun. Fairly wet, cloudy and miserable week so far and it's been very bright each evening when activated. Hopefully it'll stay this succesful going forward (some other reviews are very positive).

Note. also bought a Mr Beams MB390 for our driveway which doesn't get any sun so the solar wouldn't work, similar price but battery powered option. See my review for that and I'll try update both reviews in a few months for proper comparision)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 28 Sep 2012
By 
C. Ratcliffe "CPR" (Barwell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
Smaller than Iexpected but no less power than I thought there would be. Amazingly easy to install (four screws that are provided) and the solar panel seems to get the light ready for use in no time at all. Iinstalled it in late evening when it was cloudy and by the time it was dark it was working fine. It manages to detect movement up to 10 metres. An absolute bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good buy, pity about the installation, 4 Jun 2011
This review is from: PowerBee Signaller Solar Security Light with 28 latest technology large Superbright led's / Movement Activated / Adjustable PIR / Directional PIR / Directional lighting / Designed to work ALL year round in the UK
Excellent product which works well, and throws out a good light. My only adverse comment concerns the installation. You have to remove the light unit to secure the mounting bracket with 3 screws. The problem arises when you try to refit the light unit to the bracket. The light unit is held in place each side by a screw, 2 washers and a corresponding nut. These items are extremely small, and it is impossible to hold them in place with the fingers in such a small space. Needless to say, the nuts frequently fell out until I used some bluetack to hold them in place with a small knife. The solar panel mounting was straight forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews