Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and original
Louis CK is so unflinching in his honesty, it really is quiet courageous. We aren't talking about politics or religion here (although actually he does cover race issues), but the everyday stuff that we all have to deal with but would NEVER admit in public. Like stories about when he was nine and began to dry hump everything in the house, or his completely unhealthy (and...
Published on 18 Dec 2009 by shpadoinkle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Listen to this!
Not one of his best, but still good enough to make you chuckle, with the occasional truth that will make you wince or laugh depending on your own mind set.
Published 22 days ago by Taz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and original, 18 Dec 2009
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
Louis CK is so unflinching in his honesty, it really is quiet courageous. We aren't talking about politics or religion here (although actually he does cover race issues), but the everyday stuff that we all have to deal with but would NEVER admit in public. Like stories about when he was nine and began to dry hump everything in the house, or his completely unhealthy (and therefore relatable) attitude to food, in particularly 'Cinnabuns'. Or the difference between wearing boxers and briefs, and why his nether regions look 'like a pig's a*s'. It's so refreshing to see someone talk about themselves in such a realistic and self-deprecating way, when 99.9% of the media is about projecting an image of perfection and superiority.
And it's funny - actually funny. With some stand-up, you know is technically quite good, but will only make you laugh a couple of times. But with this, I literally laughed at everything he said. This show immediately starts off funny, and just gets better - there are no pointless or overwritten 'jokey' jokes.
Also I think hugely important is that even though he is fantastically offensive, his basic likeability always shines through, and you never feel he is being cruel or mean, even when he's being brutally honest.
If you're interested in comedy, there's also a 40 minute extra of him talking to camera, and answering questions from a list. Sounds boring, but is actually quite insightful, and interesting to know why he chose not to make a flashy over-produced DVD, and about the time he did a gig in a trailer park.
This guy really deserves to be hugely popular. Much more than the bland, mildly amusing 'entertainer' comedians that sell so well. Louis CK is the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Stand Up, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
I am a comedy nerd, and an open spot and I had never seen any Louis C.K before. I thouroughly missed out.

He is absolutely fantastic, much better than the generic, bland stand up of the Michael McIntyre's in todays current mainstream. It is a disgrace he is not big over here in Britain as he is absolutely phenomenal. If you like angry stand up, that isn't afraid to push boundaries, this dvd is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible standup, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
The show is incredible. Hilariously funny and painfully real. If you like your stand up being a man standing with a microphone just talking about his life in a funny way, with no pretence, you'd be hard pushed to find a better example than Louis CK.

Only 1 'extra' to speak of, an interview he films himself on a video camera. It's not amazing, but does give some nice insight into his career and his views on comedy. A lot of stand up DVDs tend to scrimp out on extras, and while this isn't amazing, it's nice that there's at least something there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most hilarious stand up comedian I know, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't know Louis C.K., do yourself a favor and buy this DVD, I guess you won't regret it.

You need to know that Louis is a little bit aggressive in his sketches (you'll hear the "F" word a lot) but hit the nail on many aspects of our society, just like being a dad, in a relationship for a longtime, etc. and each time I couldn't stop laughing.

My only regret (nothing to do with Louis C.K. or Amazon) is that this is the only DVD that has been released in Europe. I would have loved to buy "Hilarious" for instance but it is only available in the US (zone 1).
Now I know some people will tell me to buy a zone free DVD player but it's a shame that it isn't just available to buy without any zone protection in the first place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointment, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
The only disappointment we had with Louis CK is that his other stand up hours' are not available on region 2. Why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'd have heard what I'm about to say before, 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
Every now and then you will hear a comedian being asked, "Who is your favourite comedian right now?" Almost always it seems that the answer is Louis C.K. This DVD is yet another example of why he is so popular. His material is honest, brutally honest, self-deprecating, humiliating stuff, but it is always told with a confidence and control over the audience that leaves you spell bound. He is a truly brilliant comedian who finds the raw humour in his life and shares it on stage, no matter how embarrassing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
Yes his material is crude, and at times you wince at his comments BUT he is hilarious, fantastic comedian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Listen to this!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
Not one of his best, but still good enough to make you chuckle, with the occasional truth that will make you wince or laugh depending on your own mind set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
Very good purchase! Great product and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as I thought it would be, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. B. White "geordieno1" (walker, Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] (DVD)
This was okay some amusing ramblings at times but sadly it wasn't hilarious. It just about made 3 stars. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD]
Louis C.K Chewed Up [DVD] by Louis CK (DVD - 2009)
7.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews