Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't take it too seriously
This is fun. It's a spoof, lampooning so much clichéd, lazy genre fantasy writing over the years. And it's very well done, written by people who clearly know and love the genre they're having fun playing around with. And the acting is delightful.
Highly recommended. Let's hope there's a second series.
Published on 13 Feb 2010 by A Seeker

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barking mad & a bit of a giggle
Storming bravely into the rather overused genre of fantasy parody comes this 6 part BBC comedy. Featuring a clueless all American hero,(Krod), & his brainless companions, Zezelryck the magician with no powers , Bruce a gay prisoner they release & Loquasto a half man half pig brute. With them travels a warrior pagan called Aneka, formerly Krod's girlfriend, whose thirst...
Published on 7 July 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable watch, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
All the time in the world to watch a good series at leisure...I hope they make a second funny series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have you got a sense of humour?, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
If you have a sense of humour and like good looking people then watch this it is great, I watch it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars teeheehee, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
very gay but very funny in parts, sean maguire shows he doesnt have a personality but the rest are good. Well worth it for a cheeky chuckle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review 14, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
Delivered in good order, and seems as good as In remember. My recollection is that the original was shown very late (after midnight) and I did not catch every episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 26 Dec 2010
By 
The Cigarette Smoking Man (Landau, Rheinland Pfalz, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
Kröd Mändoon is what happens when British humor meets heroic Fantasy. The cast is great, when Matt Lucas of Little Britain fame as chancellor Dangalore called for his "Pagan goat pants" I almost wetted myself laughing and India DeBeaufort is just too cute as nymphomaniac pagan Maiden. I highly recommend this DVD for all people who like their movies stupid in an entertaining kind of way. I watched the complete series twice within three days and still could not believe that something like it was actually broadcasted on BBC (lots of sexual references etc.)To sum it up, Kröd Mändoon is worth every penny I paid for it and I hope there will be a sequel sometime soon. Oh, and the DVD has some nice bonus features too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
Really want a second series but I get the feeling it'll be the same as Firefly so maybe a movie. It can be quite dark at times but if you've ever played D&D then you'll get a few of the jokes that others may not. As a party, the heroes work really well together despite the obvious flaws.
Matt Lucas steals the show as the over the top Dongalor, Sean Maguire makes a good if not so bright hero.
I think you need a certain sense of humour to 'get' this. I noticed some scenes have been cut when it was broadcast in the USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy genius, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series when it was on tv and it was great watching it again. Just the right balance between juvenile humour and exciting adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent series, shame it didn't "go viral" and spawn further seasons, 27 Jun 2013
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
Swords and sorcery comedy featuring no sorcery at all (the magician is a fake) and a sword that catches fire and, erm, well, burns. Wry camp humour throughout, the only shortfall is that the originality runs out close to the end, it is often hard to maintain originality, and repeated jokes don't work the third or fourth time around. Well charcterised, and a nice spoof on some of the more serious fantasy epics that get too bogged down with their own self importance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hated Little Britain... but Matt Lucas steals the show, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Grev (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
This series suffers from one huge, huge problem - it consists of about two episode's worth of comic material excruciatingly stretched out over six episodes - and much of the best material is front loaded into the first episode, presumably to grab viewers' attention. After that the quality rapidly starts falling by the wayside... and presumably so did the viewing figures.

HOWEVER...

The series does have one huge, huge asset - Matt Lucas absolutely steals the show as as the always watchable villain Dongalor (and take it from me that's saying something as I thought Little Britain was colossally, staggeringly unfunny). Like most villains he gets all the best lines, and frankly in the unlikely event that a second series appears my advice would be to jettison the other characters and concentrate on Dongalor.

Either that, or hire funnier script writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quickly Looses Steam, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
The only reason to buy this DVD is to either see the very attractive India De Beaufort or the very funny Matt Lucas (the latter really stole the show for me and I'm not usually a big fan of his other stuff).

The cast are mostly underdeveloped rather one dimensional sterotypical characters who contribute little in the way of comedy moments, of which there are precious few.

The idea probably looked good on paper but it just hasnt translated particulaly well and the writers must carry responsibility for this.

I suspect that there wont be a second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD]
Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire [DVD] by Alex Hardcastle (DVD - 2009)
12.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews