Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking
Inside has surely got to be one of the finest horror movies of our time.A film that has it all;tension,drama,emotion and two outstanding performances by Beatrice Dalle and Alysson Paradis.I love the score for the film aswell.The gentle,melancholy piano(which we hear when Sarah is looking at pictures of her dead husband)is haunting and effectively understated.It perfectly...
Published on 21 Jun. 2011 by Shred Head Dan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Les Francais Adore Le Gore
Now, buying a movie without check what year it was made in, that's pretty reckless in my opinion. But to buy one without check what language it was made in? That displays a level of idiocy which i just can't relate to.
For instance, there is an Israeli film called Big Bad Wolves for which one chap, so incensed by his own inability to buy a dvd without cocking the...
Published 25 days ago by Mr NS Shark


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 21 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inside has surely got to be one of the finest horror movies of our time.A film that has it all;tension,drama,emotion and two outstanding performances by Beatrice Dalle and Alysson Paradis.I love the score for the film aswell.The gentle,melancholy piano(which we hear when Sarah is looking at pictures of her dead husband)is haunting and effectively understated.It perfectly underpins the characters' sadness.I also really like the strange,swirling soundscapes in the beginning of the film,these give a feeling of unease and help add to the building tension and claustrophobic atmosphere.
It takes an incredible amount of talent to effectively weave emotion and sympathy into a film as harsh and violent as Inside.It is a credit to not only the directors but the performances aswell.Indeed,only the French seem to be able to strike this balance between touching melodrama and genuinely horrific imagery.This is never more evident than in the closing scene of the movie(a scene which,if executed differently,could have amounted to nothing more than a graphic shock-sequence).Thanks to the starkly realistic performance of Alysson Paradis,this becomes a truly disturbing and upsetting scene(and elevates the sequence above and beyond a mere shock-tactic,like the baby scene in "A Serbian Film" for example).All the background music/sound effects stop and we are left with only her desperate,harrowing screams of agony.It is a lengthy,graphic and near-unbearable scene which sends a shiver up your spine and has often moved me to tears(the only other gruelling scene I can compare it to,is the first child killing in the Spanish film,"In A Glass Cage").
Obviously,the graphic and confrontational nature of the movie will deter many potential viewers,which is a shame because this is such an accomplished piece of work and much more than just another gruesome horror film,to me it is equal parts drama and thriller aswell.A masterpiece of modern cinema that handles it's daring subject matter with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer!It is a tense,gripping and frightening experience and a very close contender for my favourite "extreme" film of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever heard of adoption Lady...........,, 29 May 2008
By 
Well, I guess I can start off this review by saying that this is solid proof that Euro-Horror and it's director's are so far ahead of us Americans when it comes to the horror genre. While our studios are continuing to crank out remakes, and basically recycling stuff that have sat in the can for years - it are the European filmmakers who are out there whipping up new and imaginative ideas like they usually do.

From French Directing duo, Alexandre Bustillo, Julien Maury, comes INSIDE, a film that exploits a subject that surely has to be any mother's nightmare - having their child taken away from them. Now, I suppose that this would be hard for any mother, regardless the age of the child - but it has to be that much harder when the child is still in womb. In the film, we watch the main character go through the trauma of losing her husband to a crash. After the aftermath of the situation, she still keeps her sanity, just knowing that a piece of him remains, in the form of their unborn. What the Directors do here, is, well....wreck that sanity she has left, and they do it brutally. There is a mysterious woman hell bent on claiming Sarah's baby as her own. Whether she's have to kill Sarah, or just blatantly extract it from her womb, she is bound to finally become a mother herself.

INSIDE is definitely a thrill ride from the beginning to end....it's one of those "you'll never see what's coming next" kind of films. I must say that the realistic gore in the film is just fantastic and brutal, it adds more tension to any already intense situation - but the fact of the matter is that through the course of this film we watch an innocent woman(Sarah) go through absolute hell, while fighting to keep her and her beloved child alive,

The production value and direction here are great, and really capture all of the tense moments. For the most part, the film has but only one location, which is Sarah's house. I have always said that the one location thing could be a disaster (Bug (Special Edition) anyone?), but if they're handled correctly. a primary set could be the best thing to happen to a film. In the case of INSIDE, having one location works out very well as in conveys the feeling of being trapped from the point of view of our victim. And like many films of the same type. you do expect everything to dull down after awhile, but truth is, once this film gets to the subject of it's plot, there are very few dull moments, as the special effects alone are enough to have you glued to your seat. And another thing about the film is it's visual effects - I loved the CGI shots of the baby in the womb.

In the end, there's a reason that INSIDE was released under the DIMENSION EXTREME label; it is extreme, violent, brutal and just about every other adjective that you can think to call it - the scary thing is that the film's subject is one that could happen anywhere in the world or any day of the week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The scissor sister from hell!, 7 April 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inside [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Inside is directed by Alexandre Bustillo and Julien Maury and Bustillo also writes the screenplay. It stars Alysson Paradis, Béatrice Dalle, Nathalie Roussel and Tahar Rahim. Music is by François-Eudes Chanfrault and cinematography by Laurent Barès.

Heavily pregnant and recovering from a tragedy, Sarah Scarangelo is home alone when a mysterious woman comes a calling at the front door......

Bloody and bloody shocking! Inside is the French doing horror exceedingly well. It taps into a number of horror strands and unleashes them as one unremitting whole over the course of its compact running time. The fear of home invasion and pregnancy gets drip fed with moments of body horror which in turn is cloaked claustrophobically with coiled spring like tension. Undeniably it's got a nasty edge to it, but first time feature film directors Bustillo and Maury have an eye for stylish visuals, whilst infusing their story with some genuine narrative surprises.

It's also great to have an aura of freshness by way of the psychotic perpetrator being female, with Dalle's La Femme proving to be one of the best human villains of horror in modern times. Bonus, too, is that her victim, Sarah (Paradiso), is a most resourceful lady, making rational decisions as the horror begins to submerge her, her will to survive nicely drawn by the makers who keep her away from being the stereotype that's so often seen in films of this ilk.

There's a couple of missteps, including one quite daft passage of play involving a policeman that almost derails the good work achieved by the picture up to that point. While there is of course some suspension of disbelief needed, inevitably, to enjoy (if that's the right word here?) fully this film. But all told, Inside is a biting visceral chiller, propelled by two terrific lead lady performances and directed by two French guys upping the ante in the home invasion market. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
W Russon "KDAnimal" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
There are some very good movies from the continent and this is up there with them. A little silly at times but enough visual gore to satisfy most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gore gore gore, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Great shocking Gore and bloody film the French horrors lately have been brilliant.I think this film hit the mark highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Les Francais Adore Le Gore, 3 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Inside [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Now, buying a movie without check what year it was made in, that's pretty reckless in my opinion. But to buy one without check what language it was made in? That displays a level of idiocy which i just can't relate to.
For instance, there is an Israeli film called Big Bad Wolves for which one chap, so incensed by his own inability to buy a dvd without cocking the whole thing up, posted a review on amazon moaning that there should be a warning on the cover of all foreign language movies which states: This film is subtitled!!!
Ah, priceless.
But i digress.
'Inside' wasn't quite as unremittingly grim as i was prepared for. It's more of a "blood spraying up the wall" type thing as opposed to a "guts splatting on the floor" affair. But, at 78 mins, i suspect the UK release is, like the cast, heavily cut. This, i also suspect, is the reason the overall pacing is a bit uneven.
A dark and occasionally enjoyable slasher, not without it's flaws, but well shot and with beaucoup vin rouge. Though if you haven't seen it, is no great loss. Au revoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great French Horror, 29 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Inside is a great French horror with a twist.
A heavily pregnant woman looses her husband in a car crash, but the baby survives.
It's Christmas Eve, she is due to give birth any day and then a strange woman knocks on her door asking to come in and saying she knows what this woman has just gone through. She calls the police and from there it is the woman's fight to save her life and the life of her unborn child.
If you like gore, there is plenty and it's relentless.
A very different story, but once again the French have produced a good horror story with a twist at the end.
I thoroughly enjoyed inside, and horror fans will to !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..INSANE FRENCH HORROR..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This movie is so insane it's unbelievable. If your a big horror fan than this is a must watch film unlike anything you have ever seen. I own the American uncut version which has been out a couple of years now. The level of violence is pretty insane in this film, being a French horror you expect nothing less. There is so much bloodshed and gore and the story is pretty twisted and messed up. The ending to this film is pretty gross and shocking. The American rental version of this film had over 10mins of footage removed so I would not be suprised if the U.K one has a large chunk cut too. If you're big on horror and foreign films then this is unique and scary for all the wrong reasons. If you're a pregnant woman you may find it quite sick though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly unpleasant, 18 April 2009
A serious, grown up horror movie that smashes taboos and genre conventions with a cold hearted relish.

It's a difficult film to watch...the atmosphere of dread that pervades the first third of the film is replaced by clammy fear. And the scenes of violence are truly shocking.

It plays out like a nightmarish fairy tale, and Beatrice Dalle is astonishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gorey horror thriller, 22 April 2012
By 
Mo "f1mo" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Really well directed and written. The story is about a pregnant women who is almost due.. One Christmas eve night a mysterious and scary woman decides to enter the house and reign terror. Cant really say more without giving the story away. The movie moves well without being slow and has a descent pace. Very graphical and gorey. Anyone who likes these will really enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside [DVD] [2007]
Inside [DVD] [2007] by Julien Maury (DVD - 2009)
£24.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews