Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the world of fashion
I loved this movie. If you like Devil Wears Prada or Ugly Betty, this is the real thing. If you like The West Wing or documentaries like The War Room this has the same pace and insiders view of a suitably chaotic and hightly charged world. A fast paced intelligent movie and a fascinating glimpse of power of Anna Wintour and the influence she has on the world of high...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by Garret K

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing special
I thought it would give you more of an insight into the world of fashion. I though it held back what really goes on....
Published 14 months ago by Anne MacKechnie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the world of fashion, 5 Oct 2009
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I loved this movie. If you like Devil Wears Prada or Ugly Betty, this is the real thing. If you like The West Wing or documentaries like The War Room this has the same pace and insiders view of a suitably chaotic and hightly charged world. A fast paced intelligent movie and a fascinating glimpse of power of Anna Wintour and the influence she has on the world of high fashion. Great to see the DVD come out the same time as the film release too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise,Surprise, 14 Oct 2009
By 
D. Appleyard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am not in the expected demographic for this DVD but I really enjoyed it-it is well made, not too long ,offering a good insight into the fashion magazine industry.The thing which makes it fascinating even for those of us not into fashion is the dynamic between Anna and Grace. Do not let the theme put you off this is a film about power and creativity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommend, provided that you are at least remotely interested in the fashion world and the way it works..., 12 Nov 2009
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
"The September issue" (2009), directed by RJ Cutler, is a behind-the-scenes documentary about the production of the September 2007 Vogue issue. Of course, this documentary is also about Anna Wintour, the woman who has been Editor in Chief of American Vogue since 1988, and that is also rumored to have been the inspiration for the "boss from hell" in the film "The Devil wears Prada".

Cutler's crew was given ample access to Anna Wintour's meetings with her staff, and went with Anna to many activities that are part of her job, for example fashion shows and visits to fashion designers. The director was also granted final cut rights, and it is easy to see that in the result he achieved, this interesting and somewhat hard-edged documentary, where elegant clothing and caustic remarks are similarly pervasive.

"The September issue" provides the spectator with a glimpse into the hard and extremely competitive world of the fashion business, where only the fittest seem to survive and even photos of very beautiful women need to be digitally enhanced. This documentary also allows us to know a little more about Anna Wintour, probably one of the more influential women in that world, and someone who happens to be rather scary when she thinks that her staff's efforts are below the standards of excellence and innovation expected from them.

On the whole, I can say that I enjoyed watching "The September issue" and that I can recommend it to you, provided that you are at least remotely interested in the fashion world and the way it works.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside a Fashion Magazine, 26 Sep 2009
By 
H. Carlton "autobiogfreak" (London, Eng.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
If you are interested in fashion, or journalism, or fashion-journalism, this is for you. A very professionally-made film, tightly edited, which places you for two hours at the very centre of the fashion world.
You are in Vogue's offices watching them prepare their important September issue. Everyone seems to be afraid of the editor in chief, Anna Wintour, who appears to have the final word about EVERYTHING. She has Art Directors but they quake in their shoes as she eyes their lay-outs. No-one dares to say "no" to her, but she says no to plenty of people! Some imbalance here, eh?
What is interesting about this documentary, beautifully photographed and seeming to last 30 minutes, not 120, is that it is a study in power, too.
How is it that this somewhat intimidating woman has managed to surround herself ONLY with people who never dare stand up to her and sometimes tell her that she is wrong? IS she ever wrong?
Well, I suppose some of the film's suspense comes from our hoping that she will meet her match, and I shall try not to spoil the film for you by not telling you if she does or she doesn't.
There is one other vibrant personality who does somewhat give our Anna a run for her money, an ex-model named Grace Coddington, now Fashion Editor of Vogue, often called " a genius" by Ms. Wintour herself. This doesn't stop La Wintour from throwing into the trashcan plenty of beautiful photos and clothes Coddington picks.
If the success of a film is how well it submerges you into a world other than your own, then this film is 100% successful. There is not a boring moment. Well done, for it must have been so difficult to be a fly on the wall with these rather exagerated personalities. And please, Anna Wintour, don't ever offer me a job, in any capacity......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate glossy not glossed over, 6 Oct 2009
By 
S.M. Gidley (Sidmouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A glossy magazine is a lot like a haute couture dress, the uninitiated wouldn't appreciate all that goes on underneath the effortless exterior and The September Issue goes quite a way to setting the record straight.

Although it is a horrible cliché to refer to it as the real Devil Wears Prada, that's actually not far from the truth although its focus is different. Instead of the editor and her hapless assistant this documentary looks more at the relationship between editor Anna Wintour and genius stylist Grace Coddington and how their minds work to piece together the massive September issue of US Vogue and it is truly fascinating.

Congratulations to the filmmakers who did not fall for one of the two obvious ways to approach its subject matter - either trying to satisfy all the myths about Wintour or being brought in to do PR showing her mooning over sick kiddies. Instead, they play it totally straight and the Vogue staff come across as knowledgeable, hard-working and creative. Credit goes to Wintour as well for not putting on any airs and graces, I strongly suspect that what you see here is what you get in real life and that is refreshing in itself.

The really interesting element to the film is that everyone else seems to add fuel to the fire of the Wintour myth. Designers are concave when they see her, businessmen are fawning over her, however it is Coddington (who started work on Vogue on the very same day as Wintour) who remarks to an underling that you have to stand up to Wintour or you won't get anywhere. And that is what it seems like to the viewer; you have nothing to fear if you understand the objective of the enterprise. It is the people who sit there cowed and do not fight their corner who come across the worst.

I was entranced by this film more as a portrait of a manager than anything else. I have worked with a series of inept managers and to see someone with a clear direction and with a motivated staff is inspiring and almost a curiosity to me. Anna Wintour may be unusual but she should, in fact, be the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight into the inner workings of American Vogue and Anna Wintour., 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Anna Wintour has been described as an ice queen, and the period in which she took her position as editor-in-chief was known as the 'nuclear wintour' - and this movie to an extent dispels those sort of rumours, however it does appear to confirm that she's not the type of boss who's going to be particularly kind, and she doesn't have to be, she's earned her position. For someone, such as myself, with an interest in fashion as a whole then this will be immensely enjoyable. However, those without an interest in the subject matter may also find it to be rather enjoyable with Vogue's creative director, Grade Coddington, providing a juxtaposition to Anna Wintour's cold and intimidating demeanour, not only that but she and Vogue editor-at-large Andre Leon Talley provide some much needed humour. The viewer is shown how cuthroat Anna is when it comes to choosing what's in and what's out of the magazine, much to the displeasure of Coddington, a former model who began her career at British Vogue after a car accident which lead to reconstructive surgery. If you're interested in fashion, you'll love it. That's not to say those who don't have a particular interest won't like it. After seeing the movie with my father in New York on release day, even he, with no interest at all in fashion, still found that parts of the movie appealed(mostly the humour). So go see it in the cinema or wait for the DVD, with the worldwide release being on the 11th of September(it was released on the 28th of August in NY) and the DVD being released on the 21st. The world within American Vogue is a fantastical one and this documentary is one of few chances to see within it's doors as well as into the life of the creative staff of Vogue as well as Anna Wintour and to a lesser extent her family(with her daughter Bee Shaffer featuring for a small number of scenes). So go see it, and enjoy what some call the "real life The Devil Wears Prada [DVD] [2006]".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spellbound, 19 Oct 2009
By 
H. Morris "stencil helen" (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Everyone Ihave discussed this film with has thoroughly enjoyed it. It was informative, entertaining and humorous. I shed a few tears for both Grace Coddington and Anna Wintour. I am in awe of their strength and talents. My husband could not care less about fashion but was riveted to this story and is now a fan of Ms Wintour. Hmmmmm, I need bigger sunglasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its nothing personal-its just business!, 20 Mar 2010
By 
David W. O. Evans (Wrexham N Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Anyone who,like me, has seen and enjoyed the Hollywood version of Anna Wintour in the wonderful caricature by Meryl Streep, will be fascinated to see how the real person lives and works in New York today. You may think this is a film exclusively for women, but it is for anyone working in the business world today. It has to be said, that Ms Wintour comes across as someone who works and plays hard but also is very engaging. She has been Editor of Vogue since 1988, and that in itself is testament to her work ethic and endless search for excellence. Even her long suffering deputy, the wonderful Grace Coddington, sometimes fails to understand her decision-making process, but usually ends up agreeing with her! As that great New York song says, 'If I can make it there, I'll make it anywhere'! Watch and learn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The September Issue, 24 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great film, it was a real insight into the fashion business, what goes on behind the secnes and to find out what Anna Wintour the most important women in fashion is like when she is working.

would suggest it to anyone interested in the fashion business and wants to find out more. the fashion is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant,have seen it 3 times,, 14 Nov 2009
By 
Antonia M. Leitao "antonia" (lisbon,Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The September Issue [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I saw the September Issue in London,but as I have 3 girls who are in Portugal,they had to see it,briliant and
the way they make us follow this extrodinary tale , quite up to the very end, griping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The September Issue [DVD] [2009]
The September Issue [DVD] [2009] by R.J. Cutler (DVD - 2009)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews