Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning film to experience on Blu Ray, 5/5*
TV watched on: 32" LG 32LD490 (HD READY TV)
Blu Ray player: LG BD555 Blu Ray Player (Connected with a HDMI cable)
The film itself is incredible, a very worthy remake of a horror classic and 10 times better then most of the horror remakes made after it. Anyway, less about the movie and more about the Blu Ray. This film looks stunning in 1080p in contrast to 480p...
Published on 2 July 2011 by lwk94

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars strange anyway im disappointed I was looking forward to see this classic gruesome ...
No subtitle! On the page and even on the dvd case it says there is English subtitle but it isn't available on screen. strange anyway im disappointed I was looking forward to see this classic gruesome film with subtitle. also cost me more than the usual price for most dvd :( I guess ill just hand it to someone who can hear.
Published 8 days ago by Paul Nevin


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning film to experience on Blu Ray, 5/5*, 2 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: Director's Cut [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
TV watched on: 32" LG 32LD490 (HD READY TV)
Blu Ray player: LG BD555 Blu Ray Player (Connected with a HDMI cable)
The film itself is incredible, a very worthy remake of a horror classic and 10 times better then most of the horror remakes made after it. Anyway, less about the movie and more about the Blu Ray. This film looks stunning in 1080p in contrast to 480p on the DVD version(which I also have). Every detail is pin sharp, including facial shots where you can see the finest details (e.g. hair, sweat etc.). Landscape shots look excellent and vivid. All in all the picture looks great. Horror films are perfect for Blu Ray, it helps enhance the experience a horror film gives the viewer, with the gruesome details more sharper then on a DVD and the terrifying sounds much more clearer too, it makes you feel like you're right inside the movie.
All in all a great film to experience on Blu Ray and with a reasonable price, it is most definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thankfully this remake spawned 'The beginning', 1 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: Director's Cut [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First seeing the original by Tobe Hooper and Gunnar Hanson the Texas Chainsaw Massacre terrified me, the intro, eerie music and insanity of it. The fact it had leatherface grab a pretty good looking innocent teenage woman and stuff her on a meathook made me feel weak and helpless besides asking 'What merciless psycho would do that?!' This film started it all but it was not without its 'minor' flaws.

Upon hearing a re-make of the original was in cinemas I was one of the first to get down there and see if it could still hold up against the original. Well it definately did and you could spot the similarities. Adding to that a fantastic mock Police report at the start and finish gave realism so an excellent job of breathing new life into the most hardcore of slasher movies. Limiting the gore was keeping intouch with the original and more about playing on the mind about what was happening. Thankfully it spawned a prequal 'The Beginning' in which the story of leatherface is told with even more brutality and gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best remakes I've ever seen, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Very rarely I am of the opinion that a remake of a classic film is even better than the original, 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' is one of those rare exceptions.

The story is different enough (with new scenes and added characters) from the 1974 classic that I believe it will still keep a lot of people guessing as to what's coming next. It's brutal and an emotional thrill from start to finish. This version benefits from a higher budget, the music is perfect and the acting from all the players in this film (even the side characters) is very strong indeed.

If anything, I think that I much prefer this modern 2003 version, and it is not often (if ever) that I say that.

A brilliant remake of a classic horror movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Texas Chain Saw Massacre remake - on Blu-Ray!, 22 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: Director's Cut [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When the film was first announced, I have to admit I was VERY sceptical about the whole thing. One of the best films in horror history was about to get the remake treatment. Well, the day came and went, the film was released, and I saw it. Never have I been more pleasantly surprised. This was as good, if not better, than the original (I actually prefer this version now....). No matter - if you like this film or not is a different thing alltogether when it comes to rating this Blu-Ray edition.

It's great. Simply great. The transfer is STUNNING, to say the least, with incredible detail.
Highly recommended if you like Horror, remake or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep outta Texas for the time being, 16 Jun. 2012
The ultimate film for horror fans which I'm sure will stand the test of time. The movie is about a family of cannibals that live in rural Texas and they are stumbled upon by a group of friends that have gone out for a long summer drive in their camper van. When the family want something to eat they will call upon their chief executioner Leatherface, who was a boy that grew up with facial deformaties that was kept away from other children and therefore had no social contact growing up. Thomas Hewitt then became a vicious murderer with his favourite toy, a chainsaw. If you like gore then this is for you, and the best acting performance is delivered by Ermey (the villianous sheriff Hoyt) and this movie works really well as a re-release, with brilliant effects and a new dimension to the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AWESOME REHASH..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of best remakes over the years, good creepy story and a nice cast including the sexy Jessica Biel in one of her first early roles, Leatherface looks better than he ever did making him a bit more scary again. Over all allot more brutal and intense than the original. A must own horror I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing film, 2 Aug. 2004
When i watched this film i had low expectations of it due just seeing jeepers creepers 2 and i'm not a huge fan of re-makes. However, i can happily say that i was pleasently surprised as this film turned out to be one of the most tense and thrilling film i've ever watched. The story is about 5 people who get caught up in bloody murders by a very strange and bizarre family. I found the film both scary and atmospheric although i found characterisation a little weak but it didn't affect the film at all. If you are looking for a leave your brain at the door, entertaining film then i would very much recommend this to you, especially if you like gory horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You're all going to die...", 31 Mar. 2004
Just when you thought the original was disturbing, gross, disgusting, and frightening, now comes the updated version, "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre," which knows no limits when it comes to gore and intensely terrifying moments. Is it a remake? Not necessarily. However, it is more like a movie that pays tribute to a great classic by offering its own vision of a well-known nightmare of limbs and guts.
While characters and some of the story has changed, the deranged and murderous plot remains the same. An unspeakable turn of events (I will not give away how it all starts, as it is very different from the original) lands a group of teens in a nightmarish maze that throws a mutilated man who wields a giant chainsaw in their path. Not to mention the "crazy" family that turns out to be just as vicious and murderous. For these teens, a safe place is nowhere in their short and painful future.
As I said in the beginning, this is not a remake. Nor is this a sequel. So what is it? Well, I like to think of it as an "updated" version of the original--in fact, I consider it more of a tribute to the classic that redefined the horror genera as we know it. This movie, while much more darker, sinister, and sicker, is not trying to live up to the original, nor is it trying to outdo it. I had to smile, as this was not a step-by-step remake, such as the newer "Psycho" was. There are new elements, characters, and plot twists thrown into the mix. And to be honest… it works.
I must confess, I had an unquestionably hard time trying to watch this movie. There were a bunch of moments that made me want to shut it off, and yet--I continued to watch the debauchery. There is a sick and twisted fascination that this movie exploits from us, knowing that we're going continue to watch no matter what. The original was choppy and had a very low-budget, so while it was undeniably violent and brutal it wasn't as hard to take. This new version is in no way a Grade-B movie. It's extremely realistic in its absolute brutality. This shouldn't even be considered as a choice for people who have a hard time watching violence, gore and torture. This movie takes it to the limit and is unapologetic.
Even though this was a hard movie to watch, I have to confess that I liked it. It is great to finally see a horror movie that isn't overly goofy. This is a straight-up and serious slasher movie that does what it's supposed to do--TERRIFY US. An element sadly forgotten by most of the horror flops that come out now. Maybe they can take a page from this movie and perhaps learn something. The acting is surprisingly good, the script is quite believable and is rarely cheesy or lame, and the film looks fantastic. Not a bad job for director Marcus Nispel.
The DVD set has some tasty extras. As I said, the film looks and sounds great. You even have the choice of watching it in DTS if your little heart desires to do so. Special features include documentaries, deleted scenes, commentary, trailers, TV spots and a whole lot more. The star of the special features is an exclusive documentary on the notorious killer, Ed Gein, who inspired the original film. It's a really interesting feature and is the main reason to purchase this edition of the movie. The behind-the-scenes documentary (over an hour long) is also worth the money, as well.
"The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" is an unforgiving bloodbath that sends you to the butcher's with bloody front-row seats. It's not better than the original, and it is not trying to be. This film is more of a tribute to an undeniable classic. It's an entertaining new vision and interpretation of the original. If you're looking for a straight-up horror movie that isn't trying to be cutesy or isn't striving for pop status, then this is the one for you. Just remember one thing… once you open the door, there's no going back. A disturbing, and yet involving horror film that will stay in your head for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cult Shocker, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
C. L. Oswell "Rock jockey" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film, although no-where near as nasty as some might think, is still a brutally scary shockfest of a movie that hasn't lost it's atmospheric edge over the years. Scared the Bejezus outta me when i first saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quality re-make, 2 July 2004
By 
A S Lowe (leicester ,England) - See all my reviews
I will keep this short and sweet,I`ve read the reviews here and to be fair they are quite mixed,However thats probably down to some people just cant stand re-makes. But taking this film on its own merit forgetting the original I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed the film. Its 90minutes of tension,Gore and action. Lets face it ,It wasnt going to win an oscar but I purchased it after renting it to watch again and still love it now - Oh and Jessica Biel looks great in that vest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: Director's Cut [Blu-ray]
£6.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews