Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed greatness
I'm a firm believer that you should not go watching sequels before you have seen the first movie, sadly this was not an option available to me when I watched District 13: Ultimatum (Banlieue 13 - Ultimatum). Luckily for me the movie was so cleverly pieced together that if you had not caught the first its not going to be an issue, no catching up on story, no hidden...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by S. Hawken

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Dub...NOT!
Not the worst sequal I've seen. There's a lot more plot and less action than the first movie, it's still breathtaking what those guys get up to though.
But, the English dub!? Did they just use some English speaking mates and offer them a tenner? It's really poor all round. Your probably better listening to the French and reading subtitles than the dodgy dub. It...
Published on 2 Jan 2010 by Chris Morse


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Dub...NOT!, 2 Jan 2010
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Not the worst sequal I've seen. There's a lot more plot and less action than the first movie, it's still breathtaking what those guys get up to though.
But, the English dub!? Did they just use some English speaking mates and offer them a tenner? It's really poor all round. Your probably better listening to the French and reading subtitles than the dodgy dub. It sounds like all the voices were performed by 4 college students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed greatness, 21 Oct 2009
By 
S. Hawken "Spencer Hawken" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a firm believer that you should not go watching sequels before you have seen the first movie, sadly this was not an option available to me when I watched District 13: Ultimatum (Banlieue 13 - Ultimatum). Luckily for me the movie was so cleverly pieced together that if you had not caught the first its not going to be an issue, no catching up on story, no hidden riddles; Ultimatum sits happily as a stand alone movie.

D13: Ultimatum mixes the action movie with the wonder of Parkour, creating an enticing visual spectacle that continuously finds you asking, "How the hell did they do that?" The fight scenes and stunts are quite simply some of the best I have seen, working against an alien Parisian background, the film takes what could be viewed as a potentially normal looking action movie to a whole different level. The action is incredibly well choreographed whether jumping from roof to roof, to fighting with an almost priceless Van Gogh painting which turns from being unpleasant looking work of art to the ultimate weapon.

Story wise it's simplistic story telling, which to someone who does not speak French is possibly not a bad thing. This is not a criticism of the movie but plain straightforward good sense. Thrillers, comedies, and horror movies all work very well in another language with onscreen subtitles, but an action movie does not always have the same effect; lines are often spouted out in quick succession in action movies not always allowing you to enjoy the visual spectacle unfolding on screen. D13 allows you to enjoy the action without bogging you down with unnecessary dialogue. Thankfully the DVD takes care of those that do not like their movies in a pure form, and has a dubbed English version, this allows the movie to be enjoyed by the biggest possible audience, an option not so commonly used now days.

There is a lot of humour in the movie, a little cheesy in places but in a cheeky fashion. Director Patrick Alessandrin (and of course screenwriter Luc Besson) seem keen to show their comic side, when you first meet Damien he is disguised (fairly badly) as a geisha girl, while his head is clearly masculine a lot of time is spent focussing on his waxed feminine flesh; it's a prime example of one of those situations that is so wrong, but incredibly amusing.

The performances are good David Belle, and Cyril Raffaelli both prove you can be physically well trained and deliver a convincing acting performance. Supporting performers such as Elodie Yung who plays the movies action woman add real sparkle, while MC Jean Gab'1 who plays gang boss Molko offers a real feeling of menace and fairness

You could say the French movie industry is a little overlooked, and to be fair the French are not known for their action movies, however D13: Ultimatum is a rare exception to the rule. It's easily as addictive as Luc Besson's Nikita, not quite so deep but incredibly compelling to watch. The inclusion of Parkour means that with the original movie an obvious exception there is nothing that quite looks like this, it's an instant, identifiable, unique looking movie that while not gaining Blockbuster status will ultimately enjoy a somewhat cult following. One thing is for sure, having seen this I immediately hopped online to order the original movie, and I'm sure countless others will to; for fans of the original this will be the must have purchase of the year. D13 is one of the most interesting action movies of the year, its just a shame that it never got a little more limelight while not being completely perfect it's a most enjoyable way to spend 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
Pure entertainment, nothing more and nothing less. Good action, see how the French do it. Nothing else to say. X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lived up to its write up, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
i look after quite a few teenagers and the film was enjoyed by them and asked me to get more like this film good story and action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AWESOME ACTION SEQUEL..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
District 13 was a Brilliant French action movie, and the long awaited sequel D13: ULTIMATUM is just as awesome!! Loads of mega cool over the top stunts and fighting! Cool mean and nasty characters fighting it out with the police! If you're an action junkie then it's a must, must own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
I am dead chuffed with this film, heard so much about it with it being David Belle n all. Amazing film, would certainly recommend this to anyone who practices the art of movement (Parkour/Freerunning) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Corny but still great, 16 Nov 2009
This review is from: District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
I'm glad I read all the bad reviews of this film before seeing it, as I had very low expectations and was consequently pleasantly surprised. Like others, I loved the original and this is certainly not as good a film as that. However it looks fantastic - the camera work and the stunts are wicked. It certainly has a rather cheesier plot, and bits of it get pretty contrived, but that's in comparison to the original. If you watched this one first, I reckon you'd have a hard time not enjoying it. Of course it's not a highbrow arthouse movie, but the two leads are on fine form again and if you accept it as merely an entertaining and diverting couple of hours' fun, you won't be disappointed. High octane fun with some spectacular moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars District 13: Ultimatum ~ The sequel to the fantastic first film, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good sequel though not quite as punchy as the first. Would recommend watching it in the original French and using subtitles as the English over dub's are a little poor. Still a great film to watch, Anyone who saw the French guy who did the jump out of the helicopter in Die Hard 4.0 will recognise the French policeman ... I would recommend watching the first one first though so you understand the casts dynamics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good action sequences, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Paul Townsend (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like your action comic-book style, with the emphasis more on slapstick than on blood and gore, this silly but slick sequel is a great way to get your fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars John Carpenter can get away with making the same film twice!, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
The boys are back in a shameless recreation of a far superior original but who cares, they seem to be having fun! The stunts and sets are a little bit bigger this time. The plot is thinner than posh spice and the ending is a steaming pile of nonsense but I don't give a flying tomato because this is pulled off with such bare faced cheek that I can't help but like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

District 13: Ultimatum [DVD]
District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] by Patrick Alessandrin (DVD - 2009)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews