Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars n/a
The Max Mini Bike Pump is actually a white label product, also known as the Airwave Surge amongst others. They seem to generally sell for about Amazon prices, but it's an extra chance to shop around and read a greater variety of reviews if nothing else.

What a marvellous little product this is, how often do you buy something for a budget price without any...
Published on 30 Mar 2012 by A. Reviewer

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cap jammed! Need a replacment
The pump has a grey cap which has to be unscrewed to change between inflating Presta and Schrader valves. However on the pump I got its looks like the robot that assembled it must have had a meltdown as its jammed so tight no man (or woman) would stand a chance of undoing it. So its useless and needs to go back. If it worked as it should it would be 5 Star as its small...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. S. M. Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars n/a, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
The Max Mini Bike Pump is actually a white label product, also known as the Airwave Surge amongst others. They seem to generally sell for about Amazon prices, but it's an extra chance to shop around and read a greater variety of reviews if nothing else.

What a marvellous little product this is, how often do you buy something for a budget price without any indication you've done so? It works perfectly, feels tough, looks good, and is almost comically small and lightweight. Pumping is obviously no thirty-second job, but it seems to make surprisingly efficient work of the task and is easy to use even if the wheel is still on the bike, unlike some. I don't have a PSI gauge, the exception of which may be an issue to some, but on a mountain bike I had no issue using it to get the tyres as solid as I'm happy with. While it may be labelled, and sold, as a mini bike pump, it's absolutely worthy as an all-rounder and those who don't place themselves in the upper end of cycling may find this services all your needs just fine.

The instructions could have been dashed out on the back of a napkin by someone who'd never seen the pump before, but if you're reading this then it's not a problem. I've added a photo to clarify the information given, which concerns how to switch to a Presta valve pump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably good!, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
It's difficult to add much to the reviews here. The pump is light, small and very effective indeed.

I bought it to use on my mountain bike; the pump easily achieved the 35psi needed and very quickly too. The default connecter arrangement was for Schrader valves so I can't speak for high-pressure road tyres Presta valve.

I didn't bother with the bracket as the pump easily fitted into my TACTUFF Toolkit Saddle Bag (see separate review).

A great piece of essential kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, neat and full of air!, 28 Aug 2009
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
I bought a whole load of kit from Maxgear - took a chance because I don't know an awful lot about them - but I have been blown away by the quality and price of everything they do. This pump is no exception - works really well up to 120psi - and fits neatly in the seat pack that I also bought. It is tiny and I can't believe it actually works!! Nice.

MAX Slick Bike Seat Pack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
This pump is small and easily fits into my crossbar bag. It is very light but feels well constructed. So far I have only pumped up a child's bike tyre and was impressed how little time it took.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Max Alloy 7 mini bike pump, 1 Sep 2012
By 
R. Styles (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
A quality item and works very well. The instructions for the different valve (Schrader & Presta) fittings could be clearer but other than that its a great little pump. One reviewer said that it doesn't do Presta valves, but when the fittings are assembled correctly I can assure you that it does. The black section of the valve attachment is in 2 parts, both of which need to be turned around within the removable grey boss to allow use on Presta valves. The drawing included does not really show this very well. It would have got 5 stars had it included good instructions. Great pump .. rubbish instructions. It fits very well on the spare drink bottle bracket of my road bike, or with the longer bolts included will fit as well as a drink bottle of only one fixing is provided on the bike frame. Good pump .. good value. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pumped, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
Handily sized, this is an effective and well-designed bicycle pump that will fit easily into a small rucksack or bike pannier. With attachments to enable it to be clipped to your bike's frame if required, this is a versatile and reasonably-priced piece of essential bicycle kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars improbably small but effective, 11 April 2011
By 
Phillistein "eager reader" (Margate, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
If it wasn't expected, I wouldn't have believed the package contained a pump. Instructions rather misleading - initially lost all pressure and had to dash to Halfords for surly young man to take it to pieces and tell me how it worked. You have to unscrew the grey connector cover, switch around the inner piece, put it to the loosened presta valve and flick up the tab to seal onto the valve. Does that make sense?? Once attached, it worked very well. So five stars for quality and one less for rubbish instructions. Maybe a pressure gauge would have added the icing but still worked well. I'm pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little pump!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
I was concerned when I saw how small this pump was and worried it would take ages to pump up my tyres but I am happy to report that I was wrong to be concerned. This pump is very small but very well designed and didn't take long at all to pump up my tyres. It was easy to use (literally just clip on to valve and go!). It's size is definitely a bonus for me now as it is nicely attached to my bike frame without adding much weight or getting in my way when cycling.

A fantastic product and extremely good value for money! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cap jammed! Need a replacment, 17 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
The pump has a grey cap which has to be unscrewed to change between inflating Presta and Schrader valves. However on the pump I got its looks like the robot that assembled it must have had a meltdown as its jammed so tight no man (or woman) would stand a chance of undoing it. So its useless and needs to go back. If it worked as it should it would be 5 Star as its small and cute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little pump, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black (Misc.)
Unfortunately had to use the pump for a flat earlier today and it performed well above my expectations. For a small pump my tire was pumped up to a great pressure pretty quickly, without my arm being too tired. That accompanied with its fitting to the bike makes it the perfect little pump for on the go cyclist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

VeloChampion Alloy 7 Mini Bike Pump Silver/Black
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews