Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lila Downs PURE GOLD
If this is the first of her albums you listen to and it does not get you hooked you are a lost case, if you have all of her albums you may create this compilation yourself, but you won't do a better job. I find the selection of titles and their arrangement excellent and it truly takes you to the soul of Lila Downs' music, which is beautiful, sad and passionate, joyful and...
Published on 26 Aug 2009 by maple tree

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor mans Lhasa de Sela by any other name
It's an OK if overrated album from yet another Latin American chanteuse (is that appropriate for a Latin singer?)

It's OK but this is the last time I buy anything musical based upon the reviews of others, music is a completely subjective like or dislike. In my case it's more approaching indifference or perhaps ambivalence not enough good stuff to be...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by Elle et belle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lila Downs PURE GOLD, 26 Aug 2009
By 
maple tree (Somerset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Very Best of Lila Downs (Audio CD)
If this is the first of her albums you listen to and it does not get you hooked you are a lost case, if you have all of her albums you may create this compilation yourself, but you won't do a better job. I find the selection of titles and their arrangement excellent and it truly takes you to the soul of Lila Downs' music, which is beautiful, sad and passionate, joyful and dark, always full of life and surprises. The more I listen to her music the more I love it. The pieces feel very familiar to me but always retain an edge to them that keeps them alive and interesting, something I just cannot quite grasp/catch and brings me back to them, apart from the sheer liveliness and beauty of her voice and expression. If you are happy and content with life, this music will deepen and enrich your experience and joy, if you're in the dumps you will feel understood, embraced and possibly pulled out by an invisible (but audible) force. Something like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 16 Oct 2009
By 
M. Czarkowska "misia" (UK/Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (MP3 Download)
This is a superb collection of the (although arbitrarily chosen) best songs of Lila Downs, a vocalist and musician of mixed Mexican-American origin, with a wonderful voice and mastery of the vocal technique. Also, the downloading "bit" at Amazon was flawless. Both recommended - definitely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious and beautiful , strong and rich., 8 Jun 2010
By 
P Knitty "P Knitty" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of Lila Downs (Audio CD)
Wonderful, wonderful!! this is my first CD of Lila Downs and I can't listen enough!! So glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of Lila Downs (Audio CD)
This is an easy listening album, with a wide variety of styles.
While some of it probably is the best of Lila Downs, I'm not sure that every track qualifies.
That's not to say that there are any 'bad' tracks, just that some aren't quite as good as others.
There are some real gems, like the haunting 'Llorona', and the superb 'Naila', while the bilingual 'Perhaps' wouldn't be out of place in a 1950's Havana nightclub.
Less spectacular are 'El Venadito' which has a bouncy tune, but is sung in a voice that sounds like an Anime cartoon character.
Lila uses a similar voice in 'Canción Mixteca' which is also bilingual, but includes verses in one of the indigenous Mexican dialects.
'La Cucaracha' is a hippy, trippy kind of song, appropriate to its subject, Marijuana.
The other high spot is 'La Cumbia de Mole', which praises a traditional Mexican dish, in a style which mixes traditional and modern.
I don't think anyone would be disappointed with this album but, if you're not sure, do a search on YouTube and listen to some tracks first or, for the price, do what I did, take a chance and just buy it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moody Latino music, 20 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of Lila Downs (Audio CD)
If you like moody latino music and have a knowledge of Spanish then this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor mans Lhasa de Sela by any other name, 26 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (MP3 Download)
It's an OK if overrated album from yet another Latin American chanteuse (is that appropriate for a Latin singer?)

It's OK but this is the last time I buy anything musical based upon the reviews of others, music is a completely subjective like or dislike. In my case it's more approaching indifference or perhaps ambivalence not enough good stuff to be enthusiastic about and not enough bad to hate. Although Lhasa was probably a lot younger when she died in my view she achieved more genuine feeling and emotion in her singing than this señora manages to. So, because this is a "Best OF" she ranks a paltry 3/10 from me.

04/10/2011
I like it more after extended listening but the reviews overrate her ability and talent in my inexpert opinion but I will uprate the stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by Lila Downs
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews