Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star music. Beware of repackaging
This album is a repackaging of "Showbiz Kids" which was a compilation released in 2005.

The track listings are identical and cover the period from 1972 to 1980.

The music however is nothing short of 5 stars, nicely priced and a good place for someone to dip their toe into The Dan's music.

As most of their albums are available at a bargain...
Published on 30 Jun. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't get me wrong, the music content of this CD is 100% superb but...
...another "Greatest Hits" album? Why? Surely after six long years, Walter and Donald should have put another feast of new material on record - I've only had "Morph The Cat" to keep me going during the drought! There is just no need for it after the "Remastered," "The Best of 2 CD." "Showbiz Kids" AND the 4 CD box set.

I can't believe that Becker and Fagen...
Published on 19 Sept. 2009 by Mr. J. H. Cook


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star music. Beware of repackaging, 30 Jun. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Livingston Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
This album is a repackaging of "Showbiz Kids" which was a compilation released in 2005.

The track listings are identical and cover the period from 1972 to 1980.

The music however is nothing short of 5 stars, nicely priced and a good place for someone to dip their toe into The Dan's music.

As most of their albums are available at a bargain price I would also recommend checking those out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reeling in the car, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
Perhaps Settly Dans best album was in retrospect "The Royal Scam" but here you have the best of all that and more "Reeling in the years" is my favourite closeley followed by "Haitian divorce" and dittys like "Ricky Don't Lose That Number" and "Kid Charlemagne" is another gem, no brainer this buy it and enjoy theres loads more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of my favourite American bands, 12 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just about everything you could want of Steely is included in this collection including some material I didn't know. I cannot get the lyric of 'Don't Take Me Alive' out of my head. What a great song. Undoubtably one of the greatest bands ever to come out of America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benchmark jazz-rock pop of yore, 16 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is great stuff - funky songs of amazing structure with blistering guitar solos. I guess in 300 years time Steely Dan will be rated alongside Bach & Vivaldi: rock on! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't get me wrong, the music content of this CD is 100% superb but..., 19 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. J. H. Cook (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
...another "Greatest Hits" album? Why? Surely after six long years, Walter and Donald should have put another feast of new material on record - I've only had "Morph The Cat" to keep me going during the drought! There is just no need for it after the "Remastered," "The Best of 2 CD." "Showbiz Kids" AND the 4 CD box set.

I can't believe that Becker and Fagen were keen on releasing yet another "Greatest Hits" compilation, it must've been the record company's idea - to make more money presumably.

Look folks, just take my word for it, don't bother with the "Greatest Hits" stuff, if you want to get into Steely Dan, buy ALL of their studio albums first and also purchase the live album "Alive In America.". Why? Quite simply, every single one of their albums sets a musical precedent which is so advanced, slick, well arranged and incredibly fulfilling, that you'll never look back.

Steely Dan have been my favourite band for many years now, nothing touches their genius. All of their albums, particularly from 1972's "Can't Buy A Thrill" to 1980's "Gaucho" are nothing short of timeless classics. Whilst you're at it, pick up Donald Fagen's three solo albums: "The Nightfly," "Kamakiriad" and "Morph The Cat." Having listened to all of these, literally thousands of times, I still pick out certain musical arrangments that I haven't really been made aware of before. What other band in the history of music has had the ability to give their listener an experience like that?

If you're reading this thinking "I'm still not convinced," consider this: Walter Becker and Donald Fagen didn't necessarily set out to create perfection in music - even for them, that would've been almost certainly unobtainable, but what they have admitted to is attempting to compose songs and albums which their fans will want to listen to over and over again until the end of time. In my humble opinion, not only have they achieved this, they've also pretty much achieved musical perfection with their gorgeous, eclectic, unique blend of rock and jazz combined with insightful, often subtley comical lyrics.

"Can't Buy A Thrill?" How insanely ironic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album,great value ,all good, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
All the best of "The Dan" on 2 disks.Saves buying all their albums and deleting off the poor tracks or self indulgent tracks. Ripped and burned it and placed the original in the collection.Great value and service yet again from Amazon,love them.
The Dan has to be in the collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
At 41, I can't believe I have only just discovered Steely Dan. What an amazing group, and what an amazing album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
The music is as expected; I knew a lot of the tracks already so no surprises. Some weak tracks but overall pretty good. Although the box, inserts and CD2 are correct, CD1 is labelled "Retrospective - The best of Suzanne Vega"! It does, however, contain the correct Steely Dan tracks - a very odd anomaly. This is not really a complaint but I thought I should mention it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing musicianship, impenetrable lyrics, 5 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Very Best Of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
A lot of people don't really get Steely Dan. Then there are people like me who marvel at the musical content but are unable to penetrate the lyrics. A small minority, mainly Americans I suspect, actually understand what they are singing about. Anyway, this is one of countless compilations, in my opinion the best!

There are plenty of high points: my personal faves are Haitian Divorce and Deacon Blue, both of which are wonderfully atmospheric, and Boston Rag, the which has some particularly lairy guitar work. The only significant omission is Green Ear-rings! Chords, harmonies, instrumental solos, they are all exceptional, and the production is as pristine as you will ever hear.

For those who are unfamiliar, Steely dan are best described as funk/rock hybrid with a West Coast influence in their earlier albums, and a (modern) jazzier sound from the mid-seventies onwards. But their music defies easy categorisation. And as for the lyrics...unique and definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended if you are just discovering them as it's an ..., 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
I have all the Steely Dan vinyl albums and the CD was for car listening. As ever they are faultless and timeless. They make driving an absolute pleasure. Highly recommended if you are just discovering them as it's an excellent cross section of their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Steely Dan
The Very Best Of Steely Dan by Steely Dan (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews