Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-Ray
The Hughes Brothers film about civil unrest in the burbs of LA has often been slated for being too violent - and encouraging violence, but this has to be one of the best films about violence in LA and Western America.

Caine is the storyteller here, and racontes the story of his life, from a dangerous childhood, to a fully armed killer in his later years. He's...
Published on 2 April 2010 by DL Productions UK

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hard-hitting drama to remember for a long time to come!
Originally released in 1993, Menace to society was, i am led to believe, nearly banned for it's brutal portrail of growing up in a bad area and around bad people. A film which pulls no punches, and over-flowing with guns, drugs and a general bad attitude, it centres around a guy called Cain who is born into this world and how he copes with it, along with his group of...
Published on 3 July 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-Ray, 2 April 2010
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Hughes Brothers film about civil unrest in the burbs of LA has often been slated for being too violent - and encouraging violence, but this has to be one of the best films about violence in LA and Western America.

Caine is the storyteller here, and racontes the story of his life, from a dangerous childhood, to a fully armed killer in his later years. He's not really helped by the fact his parents were into the game too, his mum a drug user, his father a gangster. It doesn't stop there; Caine is hanging out with a nasty piece of work - O-Dog, who's insane and doesn't really care about human life. This is their ups and downs in society, and after killing a Korean shopkeeper, the boys have to decide whether it's all good, or whether they should leave the game.

This is an excellent portrayal from the Hughes siblings, with the help of Tyger Williams. Both Tyrin Turner and Larenz Tate were really good in this, even though they were freshmen to cinema. Samuel L Jackson was superb in this too as Caine's father - and made a direct impact. The film is violent, but stays relevant to it's plight; uncovering LA gang violence - and is nothing like Colors and New Jack City, but rather more concise and harder hitting. It's quite amazing that two music video producers did such good work, the camera work is professional and like a pro's work. They have cited Scorsese as their influence, and Goodfellas, and you can see why - this is an interesting and relevant piece of work.

This Blu doesn't let the side down either, the picture and sound are glorious - lovely bass on the soundtrack as the beats kick in. The colours are vivid and make the best of the footage, it actually felt like I was in a cinema watching this. The extras are good too, the making of not too boring, with plenty of discussion from the brothers and some snippits from both Turner and Tate. The interview with Allen and Albert is interesting too, I was amazed to hear they didn't like going out much after they made Menace II Society. This Blu-Ray has just enough extras to make it worth the time upgrading to, and the quality is present too, which is a big boost to this item.

Worth a look, especially if you like Goodfellas, Colors and New Jack City.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting - mixed messages, 13 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Menace II Society [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Like 'Reservoir Dogs', this film had a UK video certificate withheld for several years because of concerns that it celebrates violence. It's the story of two friends, Caine and O-Dog, who impulsively shoot dead a Korean couple running a grocery-store and steal the security video of the event to protect themselves. They harbour dreams of escaping the dead-end LA suburb they live in, but they're doomed from the start by the endemic local problems of crack-dealing and gun violence. In the end there's a morality to the film in that both 'heroes', having committed brutal murders, should themselves be doomed to die in just as brutal a fashion, but along the way the pumping Gangsta rap soundtrack celebrates violence as a way of life, meaning the film's message ends up being pretty ambivalent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class!, 26 May 2003
This review is from: Menace II Society [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an unmissable story of the life of two lads in South Central LA, creating a vivid dipiction of what I, having never been there, would imagine life in the ghetto to be like. I throughly enjoyed this film which kept me enthralled throughout. The story centres around the lives of two african american boys, Caine and O-Dog, who have grown up fast in a world where they had to look out for each other, and where guns, crack dealing and violence were a way of life. The story concentrates on the life of Caine who is drawn in to a world of drugs and murder from an early age and is influenced later by his friend O-Dog, who has no fears about the life he leads. This film was magnificent and in my opinion is one of the all time classics. Great Stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see movie and one of my favourites!, 22 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Menace II Society [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This video is about a gang of black teenagers in the ghetto where they have been brought up in drugs, murders and other crimes. There are 2 main characters Caine and O'dog who at the start rob a corner store where you see O'dog kill his first person, murder scenes go on throughout the film as you get sort of a life story on Caine. It is a must see movie and certainly one of my all time favourite movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought killing those fools would make me feel good, but it really didn't make me feel anything., 13 July 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menace II Society [DVD] (DVD)
The directorial debut of twin brothers Albert and Allen Hughes, Menace II Society is a tough, no nonsense look at youthful black life in the Watts section of Los Angeles. The Hughes Brother's movie charts the hapless life of Caine (Tyrin Turner) as he seeks to escape the ghetto. The son of both a drug dealer (Samuel L. Jackson in a potent appearance) and an addict, Tyrin, surrounded by guns and a machismo culture, is tied to his friends and the way of life afforded him. Even as love and a chance of a way out arises with Jada Pinkett's (terrific) pretty Ronnie, it's doubtful if Tyrin will escape from the revolving door of death.

Menace II Society had a troubled beginning, refused a video certificate on the grounds of its profane language and brutally violent scenes, it has since gone on to be viewed as one of the finer exponents of anti-violence involving Black Americans. That wasn't always the case though, many critics in the 90s were prone to calling it a film that glamorises the lifestyle of "Hood" gangsters, but offered a saver of sorts by correctly saying it had realism in amongst the harshness. Certainly the dialogue and regional slang was refreshing to hear, thus affording "Menace" and its makers praise for keeping it real, so to speak.

Ineviatbly comparisons were (are) drawn with John Singleton's 1991 film, Boyz n the Hood. But although "Menace" is rawer, uncompromising and more visceral with impact, it lacks the intelligence of Singleton's film. Where "Boyz" had fully rounded characters, character with which to hang your hat on to, "Menace" is just a social group of youths we neither know or care about outside of the group, ego driven dynamic. When lead protagonist Tyrin is trying to deal with his inner conflict, we the audience are treated to standard run of the mill melodrama. The streetwise edginess that the Hughes' began their film with (the opening is nigh on horrific) has long since gone as they try to make a film that touches all the bases of Black Americana.

Easily the most realistic of all the ghetto films made, in fact the film at times feels like we are on a documentary drive around downtown Watts. Menace II Society, however brutal it clearly is, has loaded the gun and shot the bullet, only to see it narrowly miss the whole target it was aiming for. Still it's one hell of an experience though. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's right there in the Bible, Exodus 20:13: '"Thou shall not kill.", 27 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Menace II Society [DVD] (DVD)
Pop this movie just the other night and it turns out this is still an incredible movie. Larenz Tate is indeed a fine actor. I've seen this movie numerously over the years and it still get to me. "Menace II Society" is a film that is so violent, depressing and real it seriously looks and feels like a documentary. Inside the first 20 minutes there are a few scenes that would be the climatic in the latter (Boyz n The Hood) purely because they contain outrageous violence, sadness and that feeling that you are watching something brilliant & depressing. It shows what a tenacious, vicious film this is- the normal, brutal ending to another film of misguided youth is purely an introductory, walk in the park for this.

The film follows the venture of a young man, "Caine" (Tyrin Turner) in the hood. He is a part time drug-dealer, but even though the portrayal of his character isn't sympathetic, that emotion is still evoked at the same time as watching him and his friends manoeuvre through the 'hood. Caine's best friend, O- Dog (Larenz Tate) was never any hope. Seen "Trainspotting"? O-Dog is a GD-up version of the psychotic, violent character "Begbie". He shoots people for fun, treats women in a degrading fashion and constantly annoys and makes fun of his friends. Other characters include Jada Pinkett-Smith, Bill Duke, and Samuel L Jackson, the last two only holding small roles in this movie.

I'm not going to go into great depths into this film. It cannot do it justice. Every actor is superb, the script is impeccable and the violence is raw, uncut but informative. Watching this is like a documentary- you feel as if you are there, and by the end you won't be able to process what eventually happens. For me, it made me go numb. I'm never able to leave my seat for a few minutes. My advice: watch this for yourself. And don't feel bad about crying- even the hardened will have trouble holding back in this amazing, cinematically beautiful masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never A Dull Moment, 30 May 2006
By 
Jay-P "Jay-P" (Birkenhead, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Menace II Society [DVD] (DVD)
Possibly my favourite movie of all time.. or at least one of them definitley.. I would never hesitate to reccommend this move to anyone looking for an action packed movie that never fails to deliver.. although harsh at times.. the movie captures a dangerous society discarded by America left to run with its own world and rules like a small LEDC country.. The performance from Larenz Tate really caught my eye as O-Dogg as he is every bit as explosive as his character is designed.. great role from a great actor.. pick up this movie I promise you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Mar 2005
This review is from: Menace II Society [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this film was brilliant. I had seen Boyz in the Hood and was a bit disappointed with it, someone recommended this one and it was great. The characters are all so real, and it's surprisingly realistic. You see the main character Cain struggling over what's right and wrong, and the ending really makes you think that life doesn't always turn out okay in the end. I would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menace II Society [DVD] (DVD)
great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Menace II Society [DVD] (DVD)
Very good price, came in excellent time and in excellent condition. Would use this seller again. Look around on amazon as some people want silly prices for the same products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Menace II Society [Blu-ray] [2009]  [US Import]
Menace II Society [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import] by Anthony Johnson (Blu-ray - 2009)
9.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews