Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars35
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I love WrestleMania. Always have. So many timeless, classic memories, so many legends born and defined, so many unforgettable matches and feuds created and ended at the Granddaddy of Them All. For wrestling fans, it is THE show. So naturally, whenever you sit down to watch WrestleMania, you know you're most likely set for the greatest pay-per-view of the year.

What a disappointment it is then, that the 25th Anniversary (no less!) of this spectacular show mostly fails to deliver, after such promise on paper. Don't get me wrong, there's plenty of fond memories to behold, events that would lead to much greatness down the road and - obviously - a certain match that saves the show from being a complete flop but we wrestling fans have come to expect a lot from WrestleMania after everything its given us so for the overall consistency here to be mediocre is a huge letdown.

Money in the Bank Ladder Match
CM Punk vs. Kofi Kingston vs. MVP vs. Shelton Benjamin vs. Kane vs. Mark Henry vs. Finlay vs. Christian
That time of year to enjoy what has become a great WrestleMania tradition. WrestleManias 21 and 24 were the best MITB efforts and this one doesn't come close. Still, it's a fun-filled opener with plenty of `Holy S**t!" moments. Kofi and Shelton (again!) are the pioneers and stars of this bout, breathing such innovation and originality into this environment. In the long-term, the outcome made perfect sense, as it would give rise to one of the greatest feuds we've ever seen. (8/10)

25-Diva Battle Royal to determine First-Ever Miss WrestleMania
Oh, my sweet saviour. Originally, I was looking forward to this, because I actually believed that it could've rebuilt WWE's damaged women's division. But it all just goes horribly wrong. There's no Lita, Trish, Jazz, Ivory, Jacqueline, Wendi Richter etc...Sunny, Molly Holly, Torrie Wilson and Victoria are all reduced to 'blink and you miss them' roles, Candice Michelle was injured, there's no proper Diva entrances (thankfully that whole Kid Rock mess has been cut from this release)...and the outcome was just outrageous. Skip it and never talk about it ever again. (1/10)

3-on-1 Handicap Elimination Match
Roddy Piper, Jimmy Snuka & Ricky Steamboat (w/Ric Flair) vs. Chris Jericho
I originally had fingers crossed for Jericho taking on Mickey Rourke. That would've been great to see, yet we had to settle for this instead. Overall...it's very good compensation. Jericho is Jericho, Piper is entertaining and Snuka (bless him) SHOULDN'T be in the ring anymore. But the real star here is unquestionably the Dragon, who wrestles like its 1989 all over again. He moves with such grace that you'd think he'd never left the ring at all. A true WrestleMania moment. Roll on Backlash! (7/10)

Extreme Rules Match
Jeff Hardy vs. Matt Hardy.
Terrific build-up, the background and it being Jeff vs. Matt naturally makes this one to watch. Alas, compared to Bret vs. Owen or Undertaker vs. Kane, this bout falls short. It's still a quality battle that makes good use of the stipulation, but better days were meant to follow (i.e. the "I Quit" battle the next month). Still good, though. And a smart outcome. (8/10)

Intercontinental Championship Match
JBL (Champion) vs. Rey Mysterio
Another bout I had such high hopes for. The IC belt being contested at WrestleMania for the first time in seven years, JBL promising a big announcement, a surefire David and Goliath affair...all swept aside in just thirty seconds. Thankfully, Rey would restore the Intercontinental title back to greatness with his reigns (and his Heath Ledger Joker outfit is just SO wicked!) but this is memorable for all the wrong reasons. Thanks for the great memories, JBL. (3/10)

Undertaker vs. Shawn Michaels.
Where do I start? THIS more than makes up for all the disappointment the show has given us. You want to know why Taker and HBK are the two greatest stars Vince has ever had? THIS is why. The age that both these guys are, they give arguably the greatest match in their careers, which is testament to what amazing athletes they both are. For thirty minutes they tear the house down in one of the most unbelievable stories of all time. THIS - IS - AWESOME. Undisputed match of the night, undisputed match of 2009...match of the DECADE. (10/10)

Triple Threat World Heavyweight Championship Match
Edge (Champion) vs. John Cena vs. Big Show
Well, the storyline heading into this thing was kind of stupid and it seemed just about the most unlikely title bout to put on WrestleMania. Still, it's surprisingly very good, with all three chaps putting on a rather decent, action-filled melee. Taker/Michaels was truly the hardest act to follow, and to these guys' credit, they all did a good job. The outcome is okay, and again it would lead to a classic rematch at Backlash (8/10)

WWE Championship Match
Triple H (Champion) vs. Randy Orton
Sigh...to me this is the biggest personal disappointment of the show. The intense build-up, history and components were all there, we were set for the best WrestleMania main event since Rock and Austin at WM17. And instead, we just got a straight-up wrestling bout, boxing-style intros and booking that sucked all the white-hot intensity right out of the showdown. This should have been no-DQ. And although Hunter and Orton make the bout passable, this is NOT what a WrestleMania main event should be. A great, great shame. (6/10)

Extras-wise, there's the entire Hall of Fame 2009 ceremony, various WrestleMania highlights, a fantastic Unified Tag Title bout (why wasn't THIS on the actual show?!) and a wonderful little WWE Encyclopedia complimentary copy focusing on WrestleMania.

But really, this package is not essential...when WrestleMania should ALWAYS be essential. Of course, you can expect just about the greatest match of all time in Taker vs. HBK and its truly a match for the ages. Just don't expect the same of every other bout if you choose to buy this DVD set.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Well first & foremost i thought this has been one of the best Mania's in the last 5 years (that wouldn't be hard)

MITB
As always the MITB match provided some great spots mainly the Shelton Benjamin one. I would have liked the match to go on beyond the time it got & owuld have preferred it at 20+, also i was disapointed with the winner, although his cash in later in the year was excellent.
4*

Divas Battle Royale
Fast forward
1*

Chris Jericho V Roddy Piper, Jimmy Snuka & Ricky Steamboat
I enjoyed the build up to this match, the whole Jericho/Flair thing was good with the film the wrestler being the reason for this match. Anyway onto the match, if it wasn't for Steamboat this would have been a train wreck, piper/snuka are so past it it was hard to watch. Jericho/Steamboat worked very well together.
2.5*

Matt Hardy V Jeff Hardy - Extreme Rules
This feud was just awful IMO, pointless & how many times can WWE do a brother v brother feud to get viewers? The match itself was OK however relied on big spots to get through it. Disapointed with the whole feud, th wmatch & the time it got.
2*

Mysterio V JBL - IC Title Match
Waste of time
1*

The Undertaker V Shawn Michaels
The single most amazing wrestling match i have ever seen. It never looked like it was finishing, great spots from botht men including Undertaker's annual leap over the top rope. Shawn had us all believeing that he could genuinley do it. Was better than there match the following year IMO. Shpuld have closed the show.
5*

John Cena V Edge V Big Show - World Title
Well this match was exactly what could be expected, near falls for all men, about 15 minuted given to it & probably the right winner. Nothing extraordinary however done well to follow Shawn/Taker
3*

HHH V Randy Orton - WWE Title
I liked the build up to this match, Orton attackign the McMahons, HHH storming Orton's "house" & beign arrested. However the match was a pure let down. Had the chance to put Orton well over by allowing him to win, however Wrestlemania always has to end with a face so this match was obvious. Eithe way despite being disapointed i would still give it a 3*.

A very good Wrestlemania overall IMO.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Coming after the glorious Wrestlemania XXIV in 2008 this card came as a major disappointment; most of the matches are reruns and there were a glut of pointless, idiotic stipulations, asinine storylines and missed opportunities. Time management was also a problem throughout the show and can anyone explain why WWE kept referring to this as the 25th anniversary of Wrestlemania when it was in fact the 24th anniversary of first Wrestlemania?

Money in the Bank ladder match 7/10
This is one of the weaker MITB matches but it's still very respectable thanks mainly to some dazzling moments courtesy of Kofi Kingston and MITB mainstay Shelton Benjamin. Why the ageing Finlay, the lumbering Kane and the bumbling un-athletic blob Mark Henry were booked in a match like this is beyond me especially when there were plenty of young, athletic wrestlers who were excluded from the card.

Divas Battle Royal 0/10
This was pathetic. None of the women involved got a chance to shine and it was won by a man in drag, 'nuff said.

Chris Jericho vs Ricky Steamboat, Roddy Piper and Jimmy Snuka 4/10
The feud leading into this was a bit of a mess and the match itself seemed cobbled together. Snuka was an embarrassment, Piper looked decent but Steamboat actually looked rather good during his exchanges with Jericho. A Jericho/Steamboat singles match would have been preferable to this. Afterwards Ric Flair did a run in (in order to make himself the centre of attention) and was beaten down by Jericho before non worker Mickey Rourke floored Jericho.

Extreme Rules match: Matt Hardy vs Jeff Hardy 7/10
This was exhilarating but it felt rushed. It was enjoyable but could have been much better with a little more time.

Intercontinental title: JBL vs Rey Mysterio 0/10
Why did WWE bother promoting this if it was only going to last 21 seconds? This devalued the Intercontinental title yet further (something I wouldn't have imagined possible at the time).

The Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels 10/10
Virtually flawless, this is the match of the night by a very wide margin and very possibly the finest ever 'Mania match. 'Taker and HBK may have both been long past their athletic primes but the psychology and timing of everything was perfect.

World Heavyweight title: Edge vs John Cena vs Big Show 5/10
Far better than expected, this one could have been a catastrophe (as demonstrated by some of Cena and Show's woeful singles matches) but mercifully Edge was on fine form and he dragged this match up to respectable. The match had also been saddled with a ridiculous Edge/Show/Vickie Guerrero love triangle (yes we were meant to believe that Guerrero was infatuated with Big Show).

WWE title: Triple H vs Randy Orton 4/10
At this stage HHH and Orton had already wrestled each other six times in pay per view singles matches, did anyone wish to see yet another one? Judging by the crowd reaction the answer was no. The match, while not terrible, was fairly uninspiring and it lasted too long. With hindsight Undertaker and Shawn Michaels' towering performance should have gone on last.

The scheduled Tag team unification match between The Miz and John Morrison and Carlito and Primo was unexpectedly (and annoyingly) relegated to the dark match spot so that Kid Rock could do his mini concert which was an injustice. For some reason WWE didn't consider the possibility that wrestling fans might prefer to see a wrestling match on a wrestling show rather than a lame mini concert from a third rate rock star. Interestingly the mini concert is not included on the DVD but the tag title unification match is. The unification match is a very good back and forth tag team match.

The 2009 Hall of fame induction ceremony is also included as an extra and is worth a look.

This card did certainly have it's moments and any card with a classic like Undertaker vs Michaels on it must be judged to be at least partially successful. Also, most of the matches provided at least some entertainment value.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
WWE Championship Match ****
Triple H vs. Randy Orton

A great main event between Orton and HHH, it was a very personal match that these two had at WrestleMania 25. Loved the the finish where HHH kicked Randy Orton in the head and hit the Pedigree to retain the WWE Title.

Triple Threat Match for the World Heavyweight Championship ***
Edge vs. John Cena vs. Big Show

Average Triple Threat match between Cena, Big Show and Edge, I was really mixed about this match but it did have a kinda predictable winner. Would have to say that I was really impressed with the finish where Cena hoisted Show and Edge onto his shoulders where Cena hit the Attitude Adjustment on both men for the victory.

Intercontinental Championship Match *
JBL vs. Rey Mysterio

A match that would have been great to see as Mysterio and JBL always put on a good match, but this match was a waste. It was good to see Mysterio capturing the Intercontinental Championship, with JBL quitting the WWE.

Extreme Rules Match ****
Jeff Hardy vs. Matt Hardy

It was good to see brother vs brother in perhaps their best one on one match with the stipulation of extreme rules. Both of the Hardy Boyz were constantly using weapons to disown one and other, with Jeff putting Matt through a set of tables which was awesome. Kinda hated the ending where Jeff leapt off a ladder and missed his brother Matt, to where Matt took the opportunity to use a steel chair and perform the Twist of Fate with the steel chair on his brother Jeff, to where Matt picked up the victory in a very extreme match up.

Lumberjack Match to Unify the Tag Team Championship ***
Carlito & Primo vs. The Miz & John Morrison

Really enjoyed this tag team match which should of been on the match card for WrestleMania 25. We did have some very good tag team action where Carlito&Primo became the first ever Unified Tag Team Champions.

Shawn Michaels vs. Undertaker *****

Match of the night and the reason for watching this WrestleMania. Both Shawn Michaels and Undertaker put on a match that nearly everyone is talking about as it was just unbelieveable. Shawn Michaels performance in this match was very impressive and he did kick out of a tombstone which shocked the audience, but he couldn't avoid the second tombstone which led the Undertaker to going 17-0 at WrestleMania.

Money in the Bank Ladder Match ***
Finlay vs. Christian vs. CM Punk vs. Kane vs. Mark Henry vs. Shelton Benjamin vs. Kofi Kingston vs. Montel Vontavious Porter

Not the best Money in the Bank Ladder Match but it did have some good spots, especially Shelton Benjamin doing a huge dive off a tall ladder onto the Money in the Bank competitors. The finish was alright I guess which led to CM Punk winning his second Money in the Bank Ladder Match.

25-Diva Battle Royal *

A really bad divas match with no entrances performed, and the match just got quickly underway, with Santina winning this battle royal and its a match that can be easily forgotten, but it was great to see the divas as always.

Handicap Match ***
Chris Jericho vs. "Rowdy" Roddy Piper, Ricky "The Dragon" Steamboat & Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka (w/ Ric Flair)

A pretty decent match with Chris Jericho having a great fight with Ricky Steamboat, Snuka and Piper were the weaker links in this match. Jericho and Steamboat did put on a great fight with Jericho picking up the victory, but Jericho was knocked out by Mickey Rourke.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Wrestlemania 25, the twenty fifth anniversary of wrestlemania. This was a night full of excitement and a well structured PPV.

Dark Match - Lumberjack Match for the WWE Unified Tag Team Championship

(WWE TTC) The Colons (Carlito and Primo) vs (WTTC) John Morrison and the Miz

This was a nice start to the PPV by making history and combining both of the tag titles together for the first time.
Good match to kick off the event for sure, worth the watch.

4/5

1. Money in the Bank Ladder Match for WHC/WWE Title Contract

CM Punk vs. Finlay w/ Hornswoggle vs. Mark Henry w/Tony Atlas vs. Montel Vontavious Porter (MVP) vs. Shelton Benjamin vs. Kane vs. Christian vs. Kofi Kingston

This is where this match type should of not moved to a separate PPV. This was an awesome, non skippable and intense bout with a range of wrestling abilities that made this match as ONE OF the best bouts of the event.

5/5

2. 25 Diva Over the Top-Rope Battle Royal - For the Miss Wrestlemania Crown.

This match was surprisingly good for the record books regarding the Divas Division. There was a lot of face punches at the start
which got the crowd going. Overall good match, with an ending you don't want to miss ;)

4/5

3. Legends 3 on 1 Handicap Match

Chris Jericho vs. Ricky 'The Dragon' Steamboat & Jimmy 'Superfly' Snuka & 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper w/ 'The Nature Boy' Ric Flair

This bout was great from start to finish. Even with it being a little predictable towards the end, the end of the match was awesome but you will have to buy it to see what happens ;)

4/5

4. Extreme Rules Match - Matt Hardy vs. Jeff Hardy

Truly ONE OF the best matches on the card with alot of intense and hardcore moments...WOW!

5/5

5. Singles Match for the WWE Intercontinental Championship - (c) John Bradshaw Layfield (JBL) vs. Rey Mysterio

WWE tried their best to bring the title to the biggest stage of them all, but a predictable ending.

3/5

6. Singles Match - The Undertaker vs. Shawn Michaels

This bout...well just the BEST bout of the night. I always love the undertaker brawling in the ring and the storyline was a fantastic build up towards the event.

5/5

7. Triple Threat Match for the World Heavyweight Championship - (c) Edge vs. The Big Show vs. John Cena

Even with Cena consisted in this bout, he wasn't that irritating with his cheesy taunts. Alot of strength and charisma shown by all
competitors in the match.

4.5/5

8. Singles Match for the WWE Championship - (c) Triple H vs. Randy Orton

Finally to the main event which was a highly anticipated match to come upon us. Phenomenal main event with it perfectly fitted on the card. Good Job WWE!

5/5

I hope this review helps towards all amazon customers and wrestling fans :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This PPV was the 25th Anniversary of Wrestlemania so here are the ratings

Money In the Bank Ladder Match
CM Punk vs Kane vs MVP vs Shelton Benjamin vs Christian vs Kofi Kingston vs Finlay W/ Hornswoggle vs Mark Henry W/ Tony Atlas - 7/10

A great money in the bank ladder match really enjoyed it!

25 Diva Battle Royal, To crown Miss Wrestlemania
Winner - Santino Marella - 5/10

Okay not gonna lie LOVED the match I mean it was great! The only reason it got a very low rating because a SUPERSTAR won the match I mean come on WWE nobody wanted a transvestite to win the match I mean how stupid of WWE... Although it was nice to see some legends like Joy Giovanni back but still. (I have never ever liked Santino after this personally because he eliminated Melina)

Participants In the Battle Royal -
RAW:
Alicia Fox
Brie Bella
Eve Torres
Gail Kim
Jillian Hall
Katie Lea Burchill
Kelly Kelly
Maryse
Natalya
Nikki Bella
SMACKDOWN:
Beth Phoenix
Layla
Maria
Melina
Michelle McCool
Mickie James
Rosa Mendes
Tiffany
LEGENDS:
Jackie Gayda-Haas
Joy Giovanni
Molly Holly
Sunny
Torrie Wilson
Victoria

Three on One Gauntlet Handicap Match
Chris Jericho vs Rowdy Roddy Piper, Jimmy Snuka & Rick The Dragon Steamboat W/ Ric Flair - 2/10

Boring boring boring boring boring BORING match with only a few good spots!

Extreme Rules Match
Matt Hardy vs Jeff Hardy - 7/10

A real good match they should have got them to rival a while back it was a great match!

Singles Match For Intercontinental Championship
Rey Mysterio vs JBL - 4/10

A short match which sucked it would of got a greater mark it they had a proper match.

Singles Match
The Undertaker vs Shawn Michael's - 9/10

Probably the greatest Undertaker wrestlemania match ever I loved it the crowd loved it as-well they were going nuts the action was amazing and it was the best match of the night.

Triple Threat Match For World Heavyweight Championship
Edge vs John Cena vs Big Show - 6/10

Okay this match was OKAY I guess it did have a OMG moment in there but I wish Edge had won then I'd give it a seven....

Singles For WWE Championship Match (If HHH was counted out or DQ'ed Orton would win title)
Triple H vs Randy Orton - 8/10

A good match I enjoyed as-well did the fans/crowd.

Overall - 8/10
A good mania they could of had made JBL's match last longer and also DEFFINATLEY had a female win the battle royal apart form that it was a good PPV,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Wrestlemania 25 does have some really good matches. The. Money in the Bank is a really good match though not the best I've seen, Jeff Hardy vs Matt Hardy was a pretty good match, though way too short and Shawn Michaels vs. the Undertaker was fantastic, though I don't consider it the best match in Wrestlemania history (in my opinion that goes to Bret Hart vs Stone Cold Steve Austin from Wrestlemania 13). However, Triple H vs. Randy Orton was one of the most disappointing main events in Wrestlemania history and the Triple Threat match for the World Heavyweight championship would have been better if it had just been Cena vs Edge, though the spot where Cena got Edge and Big Show up for the Attitude Adjustment was really impressive. Also the less said about the Divas Battle Royal the better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Excellent Wrestlemania, with classic matches including The Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels. Great special features with Austin being inducted into The Hall of Fame.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
One of the best Wrestlemania's of all time, not just because of the Shawn Michaels vs. Undertaker match, and not just because of the Money In The Bank match and not even because of the ridiculous 25 diva battle royal... But because if nothing else, it was the year Stone Cold Steve Austin was inducted into the Hall Of Fame. Cementing him as the greatest wrestler of all time.
Making this a must own for any true fan of wrestling, young or old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
So, it's come to this: Wrestlemania 25! The event opens with Nicole Scherzinger singing 'America The Beautiful' in what I would consider an OK performance - not the best I've ever seen, frankly.

Anyhow, the event begins with the Money In The Bank Ladder Match... this is certainly something new! Anyhow, witness CM Punk, MVP, Mark Henry, Finlay, Shelton Benjamin, Kofi Kingston, Christian and Kane battle it out for the coveted contract above the ring. Frankly, this is a great match, a great start to the event (best in a while, in fact!) and just one to witness! The winner this year is the first man to win two in a row... well done! However, for me, I would have loved to have seen Christian win. Oh, well.

Next, we have a 25 Diva Battle Royal. Frankly, there's not much to write home about here... the winner is noone I've heard of, anyhow.

Chris Jericho takes on the Legends in a 3 on 1 Handicap Elimination Match. He faces off against Ricky 'The Dragon' Steamboat, Jimmy 'Superfly' Snuka and 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper, with Ric Flair in their corner. All round, this is a pretty good match. It's lovely to see the Legends fight again... except that Jericho defeats/humiliates them all too easily for me! He even gets the best of Flair, which is no easy task! Suffice to say, Mickey Rourke (of all people) shuts him up in the end, ensuring a great Wrestlemania Moment here!

Matt and Jeff Hardy fight to the death in an Exteme Rules Match. This is a very good to excellent match - a real throwback to distant times, better times for the WWE Company, in my view. Sadly, Jeff takes a chance too many and pays the price.

John 'Bradshaw' Layfield faces Rey Mysterio (in his first Wrestlemania match in 3 years) for the Intercontinental Title. Loved Mysterio's mask here: he pays tribute to Heath Ledger/The Joker and it really works well, what a Legend! The match then - well, it's just one of 'those' Wrestlemania matches. Amazing stuff here!

Shawn Michaels takes on The Streak by challenging The Undertaker next. Just like the previous bout, this match is an absolute Classic!!!! Both men really give it their all, while the crowd and the commentators pick up on this. What a moment here! 17-0 to The Undertaker at Wrestlemania 25.

Next, John Cena, The Big Show and Edge face off for the World Heavyweight Title. This is a good match all round. I was much happier than I thought I'd be in seeing John Cena win, nice victory for him.

Prior to the Main Event, the WWE Hall of Fame Class of 2009 are celebrated. In my view, there is a Classic selection of greats this year - and one very special one, especially to my generation. Get ready for a 'vintage' Wrestlemania moment here!!

In the Main Event, Triple H defends his WWE Title against Randy Orton in what was a 'bitter' rivalry, you may recall. Anyhow, you really do learn something new every day: both men execute their Signature Moves on each other in the very early-going. That is totally new to me, I'd never seen that before! Anyhow, the match is not the best for a Wrestlemania Main Event really. I have seen much better than this one.

Nevertheless, Wrestlemania 25 is a very good event - much, much, much better than I had expected prior to watching it. I would watch this again without hesitation.

All things considered, Buy it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)