Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way beyond my expectations
Black and White it may be, and vintage 1952, and seldom if ever, on TV, this is a cracker of "Western", tho not set in the west. Mccrea is excellent as is De Carlo, who in my opinion has seldom looked better even if she isn't technicoloured. The script is witty, and the action splendid (afficiandos will be pleased to see an unbilled Fred Graham, and the inevitable full on...
Published on 6 Mar 2011 by A. W. Wilson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pedestrian western
Routine, rather unimaginative western directed by Robert Parrish is set in 1856 San Francisco. A miner (Joel McCrea, looking tired and showing his age) rides into town for some fun and gets involved with shady lady (Yvonne De Carlo) who's working with corrupt politician (Sidney Blackmer, ROSEMARY'S BABY). Unremarkable but with a few touches that temporarily lift it out of...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by The CinemaScope Cat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way beyond my expectations, 6 Mar 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: San Francisco Story [DVD] [1952] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Black and White it may be, and vintage 1952, and seldom if ever, on TV, this is a cracker of "Western", tho not set in the west. Mccrea is excellent as is De Carlo, who in my opinion has seldom looked better even if she isn't technicoloured. The script is witty, and the action splendid (afficiandos will be pleased to see an unbilled Fred Graham, and the inevitable full on brawl he instigates is just typical of the film). I must mention Florence Bates who is frighteningly wonderful, Tor Johnson as the worlds most fearsome bouncer, John Doucette and unbilled Mickey Simpson, who all add to the greatness (too strong a word perhaps) of this film- I can't recomend this highly enough. The print is as good as can be found (from different scources apparently) and the sound is fine. Definitely one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pedestrian western, 22 Mar 2012
By 
The CinemaScope Cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: San Francisco Story [DVD] [1952] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Routine, rather unimaginative western directed by Robert Parrish is set in 1856 San Francisco. A miner (Joel McCrea, looking tired and showing his age) rides into town for some fun and gets involved with shady lady (Yvonne De Carlo) who's working with corrupt politician (Sidney Blackmer, ROSEMARY'S BABY). Unremarkable but with a few touches that temporarily lift it out of the ordinary like a showdown on a beach with the gunfighters on horseback and a waterfront atmosphere that rings authentic. Two performances stand out too. Blackmer makes a cold hearted villain with an acid wit and Florence Bates as a one eyed white slaver (she shanghais drunks and sells them) has the film's best line.

The DVD from the Timeless Media Group is an unexceptional transfer. A bit on the soft side with weak contrast. Still, it's eminently watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Joel McCrea, 13 May 2014
By 
MAC (Consett, Co. Durham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: San Francisco Story [DVD] [1952] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
After 7 days arrived in good condition. Another one for my collection although not the best one from Joel McCrea. (am looking for "CATTLE EMPIRE" and "THE GUNFIGHT AT DODGE CITY". This DVD however actually plays on my normal DVD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars San Francisco Story, 6 Feb 2014
By 
J STEED - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: San Francisco Story [DVD] [1952] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Semi cowboy film. Good supporting cast, but a bit disappointing. Joel Mcrea slightly miscast although a half hearted cowboy film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: San Francisco Story [DVD] [1952] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The disc was region free not region 1 as advertised which was handy, but the picture could have been sharper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars san francisco story, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. William Lester "william lester" (tadworth surrey uk england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: San Francisco Story [DVD] [1952] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
very good condition,one of my favourite all round stars is joel mcrea ,his sullivans travels was an epic.i have noticed,j,mcrea released more movies in the usa, that were not released in the uk,and i have noticed that with several top stars,probably think they were not good enough for the world market.w lester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

San Francisco Story [DVD] [1952] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£2.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews