Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Dickens's England
This is a wonderful DVD. Sir Derek Jacobi takes a tour around England, explaining where Dickens lived/worked and places where he set his books. Although, in the documentary, Sir Derek Jacobi is modest about his knowledge, it certainly doesn't show. He shows great enthusiasm and relish for his subject and it is simply a delight to watch and his voice is lovely to listen...
Published on 7 Aug. 2010 by S Riaz

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jacobi going through the motions?
For such a great actor, I found Derek Jacobi's presentation lacklustre. The Dickens experts that he engages with from time to time are far more enthusiastic and interesting in their delivery. There is much to cover but this makes the production rather staccato at times and some of the interviews are too contrived for my liking. On balance was worth getting but just a bit...
Published on 1 Nov. 2012 by Mr C J Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Dickens's England, 7 Aug. 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a wonderful DVD. Sir Derek Jacobi takes a tour around England, explaining where Dickens lived/worked and places where he set his books. Although, in the documentary, Sir Derek Jacobi is modest about his knowledge, it certainly doesn't show. He shows great enthusiasm and relish for his subject and it is simply a delight to watch and his voice is lovely to listen to. Relax and enjoy - it is certainly worth buying for anyone who enjoys the works of the great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be better!, 10 July 2010
By 
Big Joe (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD. The extras are brilliant-almost as good as the main feature. Watching this dvd has made me want to re visit my favourite Dickens novels, and read the ones i haven't yet been acquainted with. This dvd will be of great delight to anyone who loves Dickens abut also anyone just setting out on the discovery of his novels and world. Derek Jacobi is the perfect guide to Dickens's England and the pace of the film is comfortable and appropriate. Buy, sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Dickens Fans, 15 Dec. 2009
By 
Andy Chew - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A great series that showed where Charles Dickens had lived and the kind of England that shaped his creativity in all his works. Encouraged to purchase with the book which provided extra information that was not shown on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 15 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Essential if you are a Dickens or Jacobi fan.

My wife, who is (mainly) a Jacobi fan but also like Dickens, loved it.

I, who am (mainly) a Dickens fan, also enjoyed it.

The only complaint was that is seemed to be over all too quickly and that more time could have been spent at some of the locations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 150 years in the making, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
Trevor Willis (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It took something of a radical visionary to document, through his novels, the life and times of ordinary, mid-19th century men, women and children. Equally talented, early 21st century visionaries have captured, for the first time, the true essence of Charles Dickens' England, presenting, through print and picture, a veritable feast to be devoured, scoffed or savoured, according to taste.

In a sense, the book and film have been more than 150 years in the making. Combined, they deliver a timeless, "gold standard", Dickensian travelogue for generations to come.

It's very easy to read a book, look at pictures, watch a film and pass judgement without considering the sheer effort that so many people have put into the project. To each and every one of them - well done. Without YOU (and Charles Dickens of course) none of this could have happened. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous DVD, 7 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Buy it for yourself and give it as a gift - this is a wonderful production with much material I've never seen before and I'm from Portsmouth where Dickens was born! Sir Derek is superb as the walk-through narrator and the whole thing is just riveting. Order it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jacobi going through the motions?, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
For such a great actor, I found Derek Jacobi's presentation lacklustre. The Dickens experts that he engages with from time to time are far more enthusiastic and interesting in their delivery. There is much to cover but this makes the production rather staccato at times and some of the interviews are too contrived for my liking. On balance was worth getting but just a bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey about Charles, 12 May 2011
By 
Pieter Stok (Geelong, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
If you like gentle, well told stories then this documentary is for you. Sir Derek Jacobi takes us to the sites that inspired and shaped Charles Dickens. Sir Derek does it with that subtle expression, the raised eyebrow, the look and demeanour that is so familiar. The journey is informative and interspersed with appropriate readings. The readings in themselves are worth the price of the DVD. The disk of extras is just extra cream on the cake. It is a no nonsense, well told story that leaves us with a sense of understanding and empathy for Dickens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to meet you, Mr. Dickens!, 14 Mar. 2010
By 
Judith Balari "jude" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I really loved this DVD about Dickens' life, and his works. It was like meeting him for the first time through a different perspective and by the hand of a great British actor, Sir Derek Jacobi! The characters seem alive when he reads some of lines of the Dickens's masterpieces... great job! congrats!
Jude
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very informative documentary, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
While I sometimes wished the documentary would give evidence for some of the statements it makes, Jacobi's enthusiasm for Dickens is very clear. The real highlights of the documentary are the readings Jacobi gives in various locations, with my favourite being the scene from "Great Expectations" that Jacobi reads in the cemetery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charles Dickens's England - extended version [DVD] [2009]
£12.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews