Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrash-tastic
The first offering from this album was the mind blowing 'Head Crusher' and from this great things were expected. I am happy to say that this album delivers exactly the type of high quality metal you'd expect from the living legends that are Megadeth. A fast-paced, riff-filled metal masterpiece from the 'Deth. You'll want to listen to it again and again - but mind your...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by Ms. CR Dix

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
There are (at least) two other reviews on here that I think have it right, by A Antero and Trybot. This album is 'okay' but in 'recent' years System and Hero were far better. This one is similar to UA, which was also mediocre.
I was somewhat bemused by all the hype around this one with Dave and the boys being so excited by it all and it being the best since Rust etc...
Published on 17 Nov 2009 by Dozza


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrash-tastic, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. CR Dix "sugasphinx" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
The first offering from this album was the mind blowing 'Head Crusher' and from this great things were expected. I am happy to say that this album delivers exactly the type of high quality metal you'd expect from the living legends that are Megadeth. A fast-paced, riff-filled metal masterpiece from the 'Deth. You'll want to listen to it again and again - but mind your neck as you'll want to mosh HARD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The more you listen to it, the more you appreciate it!, 18 Sep 2009
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
Dave's voice is unique as always, but seems a little less hoarse this time round. Some have commented that Dave sounds angry in this album, and yes the music is very fast and heavy, but in my opinion lacks some of the raw emotion of the more in your face United Abominations. Endgame is more about pure heavy metal / thrash with less synths, instruments and samples compared to the 2007 album, although saying that Endgame does go very nicely from one track to another with mostly no gaps in between the songs on the CD. As a whole album it works very well, with no obvious flaws or mismatches in the track list, and it is an extremely polished album (unlike The System Has Failed, which had one or two seemingly odd / mismatched tracks). It could seem like there is little variation from song to song in style, which to an extent is true, but it's when you listen to each individual track that you begin to notice the differences in rythm and style.

Lots of very good tracks, and some standout awesome tracks, but this time it's because of the technical brilliance of the way the musicians and singer(s) come together, with excellent solos playing over great riffs, and lots of tempo changes, and variations in each track. The lyrics are not necessarily as raw as United Abominations, and there's not as much political energy this time round, but it seems as though they've moved more towards musical excellence in Heavy Metal / Thrash with this album, and that's got to be a good thing. Dave Mustaine and Chris Brodericks solos very smoothly roll into each other, and it's clear they work VERY well together, bringing a fresh sound to Megadeth. (Particularly with "Endgame" which also has some very clear nods to classic Megadeth riffs)

I've heard it said that you've got to listen to the guitar solo on such and such a track, or that the drummer is excellent on this track, and I think that this is perhaps one of the most impressive things you'll notice when listening to this ablum. No matter what your favourite instrument or player, you can really hear the excellence of each player, be it the excellent guitar solos in 44 Minutes, or the excellent drumming in Head Crusher, or the pounding bass lines in The Right to Go Insane, or the snarling growl of Dave Mustaine's voice in Endgame, it all comes together in each track, and throughout the album the sheer excellence of each musician is clear. A Definite MUST BUY! 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real return to form, 8 Oct 2009
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
A new Megadeth album - all the pre-release talk of it being a return to the style of their earlier albums; been here before, obviously, and didn't hold out much hope .

A few listens in now and I can safely say it is pretty much a return to classic form! Yes, really!

First things first; it's definitely a much thrashier album than the band has released in quite some time, which, for me at least, is a good thing. As with 'Death Magnetic' by Metallica and 'Christ Illusion' by Slayer this sounds like a band rediscovering it's roots. Mustaine has obviously been revisiting his classic albums from the Eighties and early Nineties (as well as the influences that shaped those albums - the opener is pure 'Powerslave' era Maiden whilst 'Headcrusher' recalls Judas Priest).

The musicianship is, it goes without saying, fantastic; with crunching riffs and dazzling solos. Even Mustaine's vocals are OK (always a bit weak IMHO)!

So, all-in-all a surprising return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Metal's Greatest!, 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
After already having released 11 albums previous to this some people may have decided that they are past it but I think that this album will prove them wrong. This shows that bands can last many years and still create awesome music! They are one of Metal's finest bands and this album shows how far they have come and grown as a band. It has catchy lyrics, great riffs, classic drumming and will appeal to all Megadeth fans and music fans alike! Well worth buying and with Christmas coming up why not get it on your lists ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endgame - not for Megadeth, 20 Oct 2009
By 
J. W. Craig - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
Some reviewers are a bit harsh on Megadath with this album.
It is a very strong and consistant piece of work.
It reminds me a lot of early Megadeth - So Far So Good and Rust In Peace era.
I too have all their albums and I can honestly say that I enjoy this album more than some of their others.
Maybe some of the critics have not listened to the album enough - its a grower and its good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Megadeth return, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Piotto Luca - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
I don't really know Mustaine new found religion is the key, but definitely this guy is playing some great heavy metal here. The previous two disc were ok but nerver really got me. This one is one of those you'll find yourself playing over and over again till you can wistle the riffs and sing the songs.
Some really well done riffs, heavy but still Medageth-ish.
Definitely a disc to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth-Endgame, 4 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
I got Endgame the first day it was out and i was expecting big things.Ive lost count on how many times ive listened to it but it has totally blown me away. Dave has reallu upped his game in terms of fast playing and snarling vocals, he really is the founding father of thrash.Endgame in my opinion is the modern day Rust In Peace, Fast-paced playing and lyrically great.It sets the bar for the modern thrash era and i say good luck as Megadeth have proven once again why they are top!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished Steel, 25 Sep 2009
By 
G. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
Megadeth 2009 is exactly the way good metal should be - fast, polished and tight. Album opener 'Dialectic Chaos' sees the 'deth boys hit the ground running with some stunning guitar work that runs throughout the entire record like wild, electric fire. I have played Endgame every single day since its release and I certainly agree with some of the other reviews I have read, this is an album that gets better the more you play it, so persevere, give it a little time to bed in and you will be rewarded. 44 Minutes starts with some beautiful layered harmonies and ends with a lightning fast guitar solo that makes you want to listen to the whole track as soon as you reach its blistering conclusion. If you want state of the art metal with some of the most intricate, tight and fluid guitar work you could ever wish to hear, then Engame is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth - Endgame, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Michael (Hastings, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
Megadeth's Endgame is simply amazng. Heavy and fast, but fresh at the same time, just what we've come to expect from Dave and his recruits. From the first track to the last, only softening up for the beginning of "The Hardest Part Of Letting Go... Sealed With A Kiss". This is a relentless thrash album which shows no mercy, with intelligent lyrics and musician skills to die for. Much, much better than United Abominations (I found that quite boring to be honest). I can't stop listening to this album, it's pure metal and my favourite album I've bought this year. I don't see how they'll top this one on future releases but we'll see. Highly recommended! 1,320 / 1,320.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth - Endgame, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endgame (Audio CD)
After reading all the hype in the music press about this album I was quite excited, when it arrived through my mailbox.

Listening to it, however, proved to be a bit of a letdown.

Sure, its intense, with furious drumming, riffing and soloing, but its the lyrics that are where this album falls down for me.

It seems in his quest to be topical and relevant, Mustaine has forgoten how to write punchy, memorable lyrics, with the lines in many of the songs coming out awkwardly, more like a news bulletin than something to be sung.

If you want to know what I'm getting at - go back and listen to Rust In Peace.

The only track that instantly grabbed me was the fabulous, frenzied instrumental opener Dialectic Chaos. The rest, as I've said are earnestly topical, typically ferocious and musically brilliant, but their impact is lessened by the cumbersome lyrics.

That said, with repeated plays, they do generally grow on you.

Other highlights for me were This Day We Fight, Bodies, Endgame, How the Story Ends and Right to go Insane.

I guess 6 out of 11 tracks isn't a bad hit rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Endgame
Endgame by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews