Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replace your hostas with cabages!
Having loved the television series this book was a great read. It's not just a cook book but full of advice on how to be more selective about the quality of food you put on your table. After the introduction I was ready to dig up my hostas and plant cabages and maybe even invest in a chicken or two. The book doesn't preach about organic foods and vegetarianism but...
Published on 27 Jan 2001 by r.c.kirk@durham.ac.uk

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smallholding
If you want help setting up a smallholding this is perfect. If you are looking for recipes only, is I was, the farming information takes up too much of the book, leaving too little for actual recipes.
Published on 5 Mar 2009 by Jeanette


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replace your hostas with cabages!, 27 Jan 2001
Having loved the television series this book was a great read. It's not just a cook book but full of advice on how to be more selective about the quality of food you put on your table. After the introduction I was ready to dig up my hostas and plant cabages and maybe even invest in a chicken or two. The book doesn't preach about organic foods and vegetarianism but instead offers advice to those who object to the way farm animals are reared and tells them to get their own or buy from reputable butchers or farmers markets. The stories are amusing, he admits his faliures as well as sucesses. It's enough to make you want to move to Dorset, if it weren't for the fact that he and Harbour Lights have caused it to become a desirable county for more than just the retired, and house prices have rocketed. I think that we can all, with the help of this book, aim for a slightly better way of living. Oh and the recipies are excellent, if sometimes a little strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb down-to-earth guide to your food life, 29 Dec 2001
a fantastic book describing all the best (and some of the worst) parts of natural food production. hugh's passion for natural food flies from every page of this book. hugh does a magnificent job of explaining why people hunt,shoot and fish, and gives great recipes for how to deal with the products of these sports. a truly great cookbook, and a highly practical guide to most things!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for the gardening gastronome, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This book is set to become a classic.Only two other books, in my opinion, rank in the same catogry. John Seymour`s "complete book of self suffciency" and Monty Don`s "Fork to Fork". Hugh Fernly Whittingstall provides the often overlooked conection between the food on our plates and its origins and process. His opinions reflect the reality of the production process, casting aside the blinkered view of the average supermarket shopper. He also opens up and explores the endless possibilities that lie, freely avialable, on our own doorstep. From cultivation to cookery Hugh`s enthusiasim leaps from the page. So, when is the sequel ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book you will always refer to for years to come, 23 April 2001
I bought this book for my husbands birthday, but as yet he hasn't been able to get near it, as I am still reading it. Within a short space of time this book has encouraged me to do the things I have only dreamed of doing, I have now started my vegetable garden and am planning to get my first pair of pigs to rear and fatten up for the table. As well as giving you a feel good factor and explaining how you too can do the various tasks needed to provide food on the table, all practical areas are covered to help you, as well as Hugh's funny stories of problems he has had along the way. The only problem with this book is that I truely can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars have not been able to put it down, 13 Aug 2001
Already having a pasion for growing and collecting food from the countryside, I have found this book to be not only a great source of information but a fantastic read too! Putting down only to go looking for food in the hedge row or to create one of the many excellent receipes. Well worth buying at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Expensive Book In The World, 11 Sep 2002
I was given this book. It cost me nothing.
And since then, I've bought chickens, a cow, pigs, a polytunnel, crayfish traps, built Feather Hamlets, eaten better than ever before, understood where my food comes from, been able to rationalise my dislike of supermarkets, got drunk on homemade wine and still been able to eat a Saturday night kebab without fretting.
Whereever you stand on food and it's production, this book can offer you something. Down to earth advice, a handful of recipes, a sense of fun, and lots of practical help and enthusiasm.
It doesn't tell you how to make a perfect beef casserole, but it will tell you how to choose a perfect cow, keep her happy, breed from her, cross her, milk her, and butcher her in the run up to a dozen pretty fine dishes.
Has to be better than buying a clingfilm wrapped package, surely?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, inspiring, totally unpretentious, 10 May 2002
As a supermarket-shopping, restaurant loving, born and bred Londoner, I did not buy this book out of any mis-placed romantic notions about self-sufficiency and country living, but because of Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall who is the best TV presenter on the subjects of food and people I've ever seen, and who turns out to be just as good a writer. His complete lack of pretension,his intelligence, his personal passion for his subject and his immunity to crowd-pleasing or 'style' make him inspiring, trustworthy and hugely likeable. This book will not persuade me to abandon urban life, but it has made me think deeply about the food chain, and motivated me to shop better, cook more and relish real food. This is a practical and sensual treat, and an absorbing and rewarding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gastronomically, Hugh could sell snow to Eskimos !!, 31 July 2002
An avid watcher of all the 'River Cottage' series and a fan of the book, I have come to the conclusion that Hugh could indeed sell snow to Eskimos. Mr FW can make anything seem appetising (although I have to admit to probablly rather prefering his calfs testicles on toast than to the inky cuttlefish which he lovingly prepared and disected in the 'River cottage' bath.....these gastronomic delights do not appear in the cookbook!).
The book accompanies the first two series of 'River Cottage' and is a fascinating insight to the whole process of growing your own food (meat & veg), preparing it and eating it. 'Food for free' features throughout as well as useful guidance for anyone considering keeping livestock or poultry for the first time. The book is BIG.....full of colour photos....full of recipes and above all a glimpse into the mind of very likeable, cast iron stomached, Hugh FW himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cookbook Ever, 15 Dec 2002
This book really has it all. It describes in detail how to not only make incredible food but the way to 'rear' it. I love my career but I would give it up tomorrow to live the life Hugh describes! You will never own a more interesting cookjery book. I give this book frequently as a present at Christmas and Birthdays etc. - it is that good! the book left me with such a warm feeling that I wished Hugh was a personal friend,if he ever revisits his earlier series 'TV Dinners' I will certainly invite him and thank him for writing such fantastic books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tome to be reckoned with!, 17 Oct 2006
By 
If you're even remotely entertaining the idea of purchasing this book for yourself, your friend or your granny, then just go ahead and click the button.

Fantastic cookbook, yes, but also so much more than that. Here is someone who finally seems to love eating as much as cooking, and the whole process honestly excites him. You can't help but get swept up in his enthusiasm.

Recipes are broken down into easy to follow pieces, which work for budding cooks as well as those with more experience. Fantastically, he also does this without being condescending in the slightest.

If there were a version of Desert Island Books, this would most certainly be on my top 5 list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River Cottage Cookbook
The River Cottage Cookbook by Fearnley-Whittingstall (Hugh). (Paperback - 2001)
Used & New from: 1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews