Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider-man 2.1.
Spider-man 2 was great but is it really worth buying the movie again for 8 minutes of new footage when you can easily watch it on youtube? For 5 pounds I'd say it is worth it. The new scenes are:

-Extended conversation with Peter and MJ in the backyard
-Extended part of Peter delivering the pizzas to that woman.
-Extended conversation between Peter...
Published on 10 Oct 2007 by Faye

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality film, rubbish features!
Not having Spiderman 2 on DVD but having the 1st one I was eager to get this to complete my collection (especially with the new film coming out)...however this new version is basically all about Spiderman 3. I'm more than a little disappointed, especially as I paid a little more for this version, and wish I had opted for the original release instead. There's no denying...
Published on 15 May 2007 by Average Joe


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider-man 2.1., 10 Oct 2007
This review is from: Spider-Man 2.1 [DVD] (DVD)
Spider-man 2 was great but is it really worth buying the movie again for 8 minutes of new footage when you can easily watch it on youtube? For 5 pounds I'd say it is worth it. The new scenes are:

-Extended conversation with Peter and MJ in the backyard
-Extended part of Peter delivering the pizzas to that woman.
-Extended conversation between Peter and Otto Octavius
-Elevator sequence is different
-Doc Ock and Spidey crash into an office while fighting on the side of the building
-Scene with MJ and her friend, where MJ explains why she's marrying John
-Scene which shows Jonah Jameson trying on the Spider-Man suit
-Added stuff to the train fight like Ock holding Spidey down the side of the train, making him smack his head off sign posts.

There's more but those were just some examples. Spider-man 2 is a very good film and I would definitely get Spider-man 2.1. This used to be about 12 pounds and now it's only 5! Grab yourself a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As It Gets, 17 Oct 2004
By 
Jason Hart "Polymathic" (Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Before Spider-Man was created in the early 60's, super heroes tended to be a step down from gods (and some actually WERE gods). They were powerful, morally upright, and unwaivering in their convictions. In other words, it was fun to follow their adventures, but they were a bit hard to relate to.
Stan Lee changed all of that when he created Spider-Man. He decided to make a hero who was an unpopular, nerdy kid who just happened to get stuck with powers he wasn't even sure he wanted. He had everyday problems like dealing with bullies, being uncomfortable around that cute girl he likes, and feeling left out in general. And who hasn't had experiences like these at some point in their life?
I've seen some great comic book adaptations that really got down to the core of a character (Batman), and I've seen movies that simply made me cringe and wonder how they could have been so far off the mark (Daredevil, anyone?). As far as capturing the true essence of it's title character, this movie tops them all.
In a lot of ways, this is THE Spider-Man story. This is Peter Parker's struggle to decide just who he is and what his resposibility is to the world, his family, and himself. And it's not an easy decision to make.
It's been beaten to death a bit by now, but it all boils down to what Uncle Ben told Peter: "With great power comes great responsibility." And Peter rages against this logic for the entire movie. Should he live for himself, enjoy his life, and ignore the powers he's been given? Or should he put the needs of others before his own, essentially sacrificing his personal happiness in lieu of the satisfaction and knowledge that he's made a difference in the world? This is the conflict that is at the very core of this character, and this movie captured that in ways that I'm sure made Stan Lee proud.
To be totally truthful, this movie should probably be called "Peter Parker." If you're looking for mindless action, go buy Terminator 3. This is a movie about a young man trying to find himself--it just so happens that this particular young man has some extraordinary powers.
Don't get me wrong; there are some absolutely amazing action sequences. Doctor Octopus is a visually dynamic (as well as tragic) villain, and he makes for a lot of exciting scenes. And I must say, he's played to perfection by Alfred Molina; I don't have a bad thing to say about his performance. And special effects? I get goosebumps every time I see Spidey swingin' through the concrete jungle. Spectacular!
But at heart, this is a movie about character development. I can't express how grateful I am to Sam Raimi for turning out such a quality film that stays so true to the character. He did an amazing job, mixing drama, action, humor, and just a dash of Evil Dead-like horror into a final product that left me emotionally drained and wanting more. It's gonna be tough to top this one. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avenge me...., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Parker cannot seem to catch any kind of break. Being Spider-Man has brought him nothing but problems as far as his personal life is concerned.

Mary Jane Watson is engaged to astronaut John Jameson, and Peter may lose her forever. Things are so bad for him that he is pushed past his breaking point, so he decides that he doesn't want to be Spider-Man anymore, until a freak accident transforms Dr. Otto Octavius into Dr. Octopus, a super-villain with four metal tentacles protruding from his torso.

Peter realises that only Spider-Man can stop him but, of course, problems arise.

Mary Jane gets caught in the middle, and Harry Osborn, who still blames the web-slinger for the death of his father Norman Osborn, also the Green Goblin, wants him dead.

Spider-Man will have to push himself past his limits if he's going to survive....

Easily the best of the franchise, Spider-Man 2 also raises the benchmark in Marvel movies, this being the character driven and empathetic. What make it work is the way Raimi harnesses all of the characters stories, and how he doesn't let them spiral out of control, is amazing.

There is so much going on in this film, that it demands to be seen at least two times. Once as the blockbuster action-fest you want, and the other as a character study.

It's a lot of fun too. From Raimis trademark POV use of camera-work when Octavius first kills, to the obligatory Campbell Cameo, the film works on many levels.

Maguire is much better this time around, having less of the rabbit in the headlight face, and just getting on with it.

But Franco is really the main draw out of the regular cast. His dark side emanates evil whenever something goes wrong, and you can see that he will be a foe who causes great difficulty to Parker.

It's one of the best sequels to a summer movie, and it's a great film to boot also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality film, rubbish features!, 15 May 2007
This review is from: Spider-Man 2.1 [DVD] (DVD)
Not having Spiderman 2 on DVD but having the 1st one I was eager to get this to complete my collection (especially with the new film coming out)...however this new version is basically all about Spiderman 3. I'm more than a little disappointed, especially as I paid a little more for this version, and wish I had opted for the original release instead. There's no denying the quality of the film. It is amazing, however the new scenes are barely recognisable and simply make what was already a fairly long film seem even longer. The artwork for the original release I personally feel is nicer, but that's just a personal choice. My main grievance with this 'new' version is the special features, or lack of. I was incredibly disappointed to find that this doesn't contain any of the special features that were on the original Spiderman 2 DVD and to be honest it looks like those ones are far better. Most of the special features on this release are about Spiderman 3, it doesn't have any of the music videos, blooper reels or featurettes about Spiderman 2 from the original DVD. It seems that this is just a shameless way to exploit more money out of people who bought the original version, making them fork out again. Surely it would have made more sense to re-release this as a special 3 disc edition as they did with Spiderman 1. The first disc doesnt even have any special features and the 2nd disc only has 6 which are mainly trailers and featurettes about Spiderman 3. This is just marketing from the compay with the new film coming out to urge completists to pay more money, it's a shame cos this otherwise could have been a nice collection. As such I'm actually considering selling this version and buying a copy of the original Spiderman 2 release which my brother has and I know for a fact has significantly better special features. If you're the type of person who doesn't watch the special features then this will be great for you cos you get the (slightly) extended film, if however you like to learn about the film this definately isn't for you. If you don't already own a copy of the film I would suggest getting a copy of the original release. Pity, it had the potential to be so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greater Power, Great Responsibility!, 13 May 2014
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This movie is one of my fondest highlights during the summer of 2004.

I enjoyed the first 'Spider-Man' movie so much during Christmas 2002, that I just couldn't wait to see `Spider-Man 2'. And I couldn't wait to actually watch it in the cinemas when it came out in July 2004. I wanted to know what would happen to Peter as he takes on his responsibilities as Spider-Man, and what would happen with Mary Jane, Harry and Aunt May. I was really excited when I found out who was going to be big villain of the second movie - Doctor Octopus (better known as `Doc Ock'). It was a period of two years I had to endure before getting to the cinema to see Spidey back in full form on the big screen. Again this movie stars Tobey Maguire in the top role as Spider-Man, as well as Kirsten Dunst, James Franco and Alfred Molina playing the tentacle menace, Doc Ock.

In the week leading up to seeing `Spider-Man 2', I was on a work experience placement in Cardiff at a computer shop. It was my first work experience, and I have to say it wasn't a pleasant and good one. It was the first time for me in a working environment, and I didn't like my employer and the atmosphere I was in, making it bad and depressing for the whole week. I felt like Peter Parker who had to endure problems with work and life in general. It was like getting told off and dismissed by Mr Aziz the pizza store owner of Joe's Pizza at the beginning of this movie. The work experience put me in perspective of what `Spider-Man 2' was about. I was eager to get the week of work over and done with to watch `Spidey 2' in the cinemas, and thankfully I had the pleasure of cheering up myself with all the media and marketing campaigns for the movie. I heard news and songs on the work's radio about the movie, reading through the move magazine previews, and also purchased the CD album of `Spider-Man' which I enjoyed listening to and the songs and music from the movie were amazing! I got through that week, and on the Saturday I went to see the movie at the cinema with my parents. When I came out, I was really happy with watching the movie. `Spider-Man 2' is a true masterpiece!

This again like the first movie is a 2-disc special edition DVD.

`Spider-Man 2''s story is based on a comic book issue #50 from the `Amazing Spider-Man' series, bearing the title `Spider-Man, No More' (which coincidentally featured the first appearance of Kingpin). The story is about Peter Parker having enough of being Spider-Man as his life is crammed packed with his dual roles as a young man and a crime-fighting superhero. He's had enough of his web-slinging and the gifts he's been given, that he decides `enough is enough'. He wants a life for himself. A life of his own. With that, he decides to give up being Spider-Man. `I'm Spider-Man, No More!' So he throws his costume and mask away in the `trash' can, and leaves his life as Spider-Man forever. That is the basis of the story that was made for `Spider-Man 2', and is a classic approach thought up originally by Stan Lee.

Two years have passed since the first `Spider-Man' movie, and Peter Parker has been the web-slinging superhero for quite some time now. But it's not an easy ride. For one thing, Peter is struggling to balance his two lives together with everything he does in terms of work and personal life. He has two jobs, one is a freelance photographer for taking pictures of himself as Spider-Man at the Daily Bugle; and the other is working as a pizza delivery boy at Joe's Pizza which he gets fired for immediately at the beginning of the movie. He also is going to college studying science at Dr Connor's class. But he's always turning up late and messes things up because of his responsibilities as Spider-Man. He also has the difficult challenge of keeping a secret of what happened to Harry's father at the end of the first movie, and there's a bitterness between the two of them. And of course, there's Peter's love life as he's reunited with Mary Jane, the girl of his dreams, but finds it hard to keep his feelings to himself since he can't tell anything to her about how he feels for her since he doesn't want MJ to get hurt because of Spider-Man. Peter also has trouble with his obligations to his Aunt May since she's behind with the bills and she's still suffering from the loss of Uncle Ben and wants to know who was responsible for his death. It's all too much for Peter, and he decides to give up his responsibilities as Spider-Man and live a normal life as he wants to.

Tobey Maguire returns to play Peter Parker/Spider-Man. He's really into the role of Peter, understanding the character and what he goes through in this movie. Tobey gives a honest and true performance as Peter. I can really relate to Peter when Tobey's playing him. Peter in this story is torn between two lives and is unhappy with how he's keeping to his responsibilities as Spider-Man, but failing miserably with other things that are important to him such as Aunt May, Mary Jane, Harry, school and life in general. I like how Tobey portrays Peter's story on screen, as it's so believable and you real feel for him through what he's going through with getting fired, missing classes and having to let down the ones he loves like MJ. He becomes unreliable despite being heroic as Spider-Man, since he keeps missing MJ's performances in the theatre and he's distraught when he's losing MJ to another man who she intends to marry. Peter's distraught with this news of MJ getting married, and is the factor that prompts him to give up being Spider-Man since he wants to be with MJ so much. I wanted Peter to get MJ back and stop being Spider-Man for that, but knowing he has this obligation to Uncle Ben who died because of his irresponsibility. Tobey gives a fine performance as Peter/Spidey, and makes him likeable and relatable throughout.

I was delighted to see Kirsten Dunst playing Mary Jane Watson again in this movie. I'm sure it's the first time I'd seen Kirsten (and Tobey) on the big screen together as it was the first time I'd seen a Spider-Man movie in the cinema. Kirsten plays MJ on a new level. It's two years since MJ and Peter last saw each other. MJ's grown up and become more independent in her life as an actress, taking parts in plays like `The Importance of Being Earnest' (which is weird because I'd seen the movie of that play). When she sees Peter again, she's happy to see him but wants him to say something to her about how he feels. When he's reluctant to say anything, MJ finds him a mystery. Unable to take anymore of Peter's excuses, MJ decides to move on with her life and ends up getting engaged to an astronaut named John Jameson, son of J. Jonah Jameson. Kirsten's lovely as MJ in this movie, and I enjoyed watching her and how she interacts with Peter during scenes. Will Peter ever reveal to MJ how much he loves her, and will she learn who Peter Parker really is? There's a moment when MJ asks him `Do you love me or not?' and Peter's reluctant to say anything. MJ however gets kidnapped by Doc Ock during a café scene, and it's up to Peter to save her as he becomes Spider-Man again.

It was good to see James Franco as Harry Osborn again, although this time he plays a completely darker side to his character. Harry blames Spider-Man for the death of his father, Norman Osborn, and wants his head. Peter's reluctant to tell Harry anything about what happened to his father when he became the Green Goblin and how he died. Harry still can't believe Peter's defending Spider-Man and taking pictures of him. He believes Peter knows who and where Spider-Man is and is asking `How can you still take pictures of this man?' Peter wants Harry to trust him and be friends with him, but Harry can't see why Peter isn't being honest with him. During a moment at a party scene, Harry gets drunk and is utterly bitter towards Peter who accuses him for everything that has gone on in his life and refusing to tell him where Spider-Man is. Eventually he makes a deal with Doc Ock who captures him and brings Spider-Man to his father's house which now belongs to him. Harry is about kill Spidey, before he is about to take off the mask and find out who his true identity is. Will Harry learn the true identity of `Spider-Man' in the end.

Tne newest cast member to the Spider-Man series is Alfred Molina playing Dr. Otto Octavius aka Doctor Octopus aka Doc Ock. Alfred does a really good and believable interpretation of the character of Doc Ock. Octavius is a brilliant scientist working on a project involving nuclear fusion. He gets to meet Peter who's a fan of his work, and is married to his beautiful wife named Rosie. Octavius demonstrates to the public his fusion project, and he has the assistance of four mechanical arms. During the demonstration, something goes horribly wrong and Octavius gets caught up in an accident resulting in the mechanical arms fused to his body. He's taken to the hospital, but during a horror where nurses and doctors get killed during an operation, Octavius manages to get out and is soon on a spree to get his project working again, walking around like an octopus with his mechanical arms. I love Doc Ock in this movie, and I love how they did the visual effects and costume design in terms of merging the mechanical arms with a live actor playing the character. Ock's got this sense of humour which Alfred portrays very well, and is so amazing in his fights with Spider-Man, up a building or during an intense train sequence in the second half of the movie. Doc Ock's a popular Spider-Man villain and is so visual being brought to the screen, which the visual effects team, director Sam Raimi and Alfred Molina pull off very well.

Aunt May returns, played by Rosemary Harris. Rosemary does a wonderfully marvellous performance as Aunt May, who loves Peter very much and is coping with being a widow and living without Uncle Ben. I like Peter's scenes with Aunt May in the house when he's concerned about her, and there's a moment when she breaks down during one point in a scene because she misses Uncle Ben. Aunt May gets to be saved by Spider-Man when she's captured by Doc Ock during a bank robbery, and she's soon swinging with Spidey when rescued which is a brilliantly classic and lovely moment. Peter eventually reveals to Aunt May about what happened to Uncle Ben after he's given up being Spider-Man. I didn't know how she was going to take the news, but eventually the following day in the story she forgives Peter and considers him brave in telling the truth. She gives Peter words of wisdom about what it means being a hero and `giving up the things we want the most, even our dreams. Aunt May is the person who gives Peter strength and to reconsider taking his responsibilities of Spider-Man again.

Another new cast member in this movie is Donna Murphy playing Rosie Octavius, Doc Ock's wife at the beginning of the movie. This is the first time I'd seen Donna in a movie, before I went on to finally discover her in a Star Trek film called `Star Trek: Insurrection'. Rosie Octavius is this sweet and loving wife of Dr Otto Octavius, who supports and helps her husband in the things he does a scientist. When Peter has lunch with both Dr Octavius and his wife, he really like them and how they have this loving relationship as it something he aspires to with MJ. Sadly during the demonstration Octavius performs with his mechanical arms, Rosie dies as a consequence and is a such a shock and horrific thing for Octavius to see before he gets electrocuted and the four arms weld onto him from the accident.

J. Jonah Jameson returns to the movie, played again wonderfully by J.K. Simmons who's got the character absolutely spot on! His first line to Peter is, `You're fired! Parker, hello! You're fired!'. Jameson always seems to be firing Peter Parker at the Daily Bugle, but is always rehiring him since he does really good pictures of Spider-Man (even though he says they `stink') and is always needing him for something urgent like a gala ball or party scene. J.K. Simmons is really funny as Jameson and I always enjoy scenes when he appears throughout the movie, whether it's interacting with Parker or members of his staff at the Bugle. He keeps dismissing his secretary Miss Brant by saying `Not now!' and pretty soon afterwards `Still not now!' I love that scene when he and Hoffman are deciding what to call Dr. Octavius when he gets his extra four arms and Jameson comes up with Doctor Octopus before settling on 'Doc Ock' and he thinks he's a genius. They were at one point going to call him Dr. Strange which is pretty good. But guess what! It's taken! Jameson brings the comic relief to the movie of `Spider-Man' which is very reassuring and makes the movie a classic. I can't imagine anyone else playing Jameson than J.K. Simmons, and Stan Lee certainly loves the actor who plays him.

Jameson's son, John also appears in this movie, played by Daniel Giles. John in this movie, is the man who MJ is engaged to marry. John's a national hero and astronaut who journeys to the moon and plays `football' apparently. John is the man that Peter Parker isn't. He's successful and adorable and possibly the perfect man for MJ to marry. Perhaps too perfect. We don't know much about him, other than that he's engaged to Mary Jane. MJ has been going out with John for some time before getting engaged, since Peter isn't around. But MJ isn't sure whether to marry John or not, as she still has feelings for Peter.

Sam Raimi does it again with magnificent triumph as the director of this film. I'm really pleased with the way Raimi directs this film with such passion and thought. There's a balance of Spider-Man fandom as well as sense of real life throughout this film which I really like. He brings the action and comedy aspects to the film very well. He also gets to bring a sense of horror into the film as he does with that Doc Ock hospital scene where everyone's screaming their heads off. He also directs the Peter Parker/Mary Jane love story with such delicacy and it's told in a beautiful way that I'm pleased with.

The sets for this film are also spectacular. I love the Ock laboratory scene both on land and out on an island where the climatic battle between Spidey and Doc Ock takes place. Also it's great revisiting the Daily Bugle which has been redressed and redecorated i.e. Jameson's office since it was destroyed by the Green Goblin. The bank robbery set ups and the dinner party scene where MJ and John Jameson announce their engagement is pretty impressive, as well as returning to Aunt May's home bringing a sense of familiarity about it.

The special effects throughout including Doc Ock's tentacles are truly spectacular. John Dystra returns to his role as visual effects supervisor and again makes the fight scenes and web-slinging of Spidey truly spectacular that's better than before in the first movie. This movie features the use of the Spydercam that's used to film shots of Spider-Man swinging through the city between tower blocks and skyscrapers, and it's very impressive indeed.

The special features on this DVD include the following. On Disc 1, there are two commentaries. There's a cast and crew commentary, featuring Sam Raimi (director) and Tobey Maguire; and Avid Arad (producer) and Grant Curtis (co-producer). There's also a Technical Commentary that includes the special effects team. There's `Spidey Sense 2' which is an information commentary of factoids containing trivia and comments about the movie. There are four web-i-sodes that focus on certain aspects of the movie includes `Costume Design'; `Comic Con Q&A' on Doc Ock that took place during the San Diego Comic Con in 2003; `J. Jonah Jameson' and `Peter Parker and Mary Jane'. There's a music video of `Ordinary' by Train, that's a song from the CD album 'Music From and Inspired by Spider-Man 2', which I highly recommend. And of course there's a trailer for `Spider-Man 2'.

On Disc 2, there's more behind the scenes features. Firstly, there's a 12-part documentary of the making of `Spider-Man' called `Making the Amazing...' and it includes sub-documentaries such as `Greater Power; Greater Responsibility'; `Story and Character'; `Stunts'; `Visual Effects' and `Lessons Learned'. There are also three `Featurettes' focusing on aspects of Spider-Man in broader detail including `Hero in Crisis' focusing on Peter/Spidey's story in `Spider-Man 2'; `Ock-Umentary: Eight Arms to Hold You' focusing on Doc Ock; and `Interwoven: The Loves of Spider-Man' focusing on the women in Peter Parker's life including Aunt May; Mary Jane; Betty Brant; Gwen Stacey and Ursula (the daughter of Mr Ditkovitch in the movie). There's also `Enter the Web' focusing on the making of the Spidey/Doc Ock battle at the end of the movie with some Multi-Angle Shots. There's a `Photo Art Gallery' that contains the artwork of the first `Spider-Man' recap by Alex Ross which I found very impressive. There's also an `Interactive' section that features a trailer and making of the 'Spider-Man 2' video game from Activision as well as some DVD content. There's two amusing Easter Eggs to look out for concerning Doc Ock and Alfred Molina.

`Spider-Man 2' is a true sensation and a masterpiece of a superhero film. It's a true classic and brilliantly portrayed and directed by Sam Raimi. It features a good story about Peter Parker, an amazing villain in the form of Doc Ock and a wonderfully told story about the romance between Peter and Mary Jane that will reduce you to tears. It's a film that's close to my heart and one I'll never forget. If you're a fan of `Spider-Man', this film won't disappoint. I guarantee it!

The next adventure for Spider-Man is in 'Spider-Man 3'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Spider-Man Movie To Date Now Extended, 9 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 2.1 [DVD] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
Region 2.
Ratio.,16.9/2.35:1.
Running time 130 minutes approx.

Trivia.
1)This extended cut restores several additional scenes which are listed below.

1)A different elevator scene.
2)Longer scene when Peter delivers the Pizza to the woman.
3)A new scene showing J.Jonah Jameson dressed as Spider-Man.
4)An extended fight sequence with Spider-Man & Doctor Octopus as they crash into an office fighting one another during there first battle on the side of a building.
5)A longer conversation between Peter & Otto.
6)Mary Jane explaining to her friend why she has decided to marry J.Jonah Jamesons son John.
7)Longer backyard conversation scene with Peter & MJ.
8)Extended Spider-Man vs Doctor Octopus fight on top of the train.

2)The image of,Peter Parker dumping his Spider-Man costume is the exact image taken from the comic book Spider-Man No More!
3)Tobey Maguire participation was in doubt due to his recent severe back pain, Jake Gyllenhaal was lined up to over from Maguire, Eventually Maguire passed the medical to convince the studio he was fit enough to play the role & was cleared to reprise Spider-Man in it's sequel.
4)Alfred Molina is a huge Marvel comics fan & was overjoyed to play the part of Doctor Octopus.
5)Sam Neill, Chris Cooper & Robert De Niro were considered for the role of Doctor Octopus.
6)This film took $40 million on it's opening day
7)Bruce Campbell cameos as a theatre usher.
8)Filming began before an official script was completed
9)The finale took 8 day's to film
10)Approximately $54 million was spent on digital effects alone on this movie.
11)Spider-Man 2 made a total of $783,766,341 worldwide.

Plot Synopsis.
Peter Parker has been fighting crime as Spider-Man for two year's & is struggling with his personnel life from always being late for class to falling behind on his rent who hs to deal with his best friend's obsession for killing Spider-Man & not being able to tell Mary Jane how he truly feels about her.

This continuing burden takes it's toll on Peter who finds he's starting to lose his power's & gives up being Spider-Man.

When a new foe starts to wreck havoc in New York City who has recently become a new friend of Peter's, A scientist named Otto Octavius who now goes by the name of Doctor Octopus who has four metal arm's fused to his body in a experiment that's gone disastrously wrong.

Will Peter regain his powers & take up the mantle of being Spider-Man once again & battle against Doctor Octopus who's latest sinister experiment will cause the destruction of New York City?

Timelord Thoughts.
This is one of my favourite Spider-Man films as somehow the plot, Characters & action all gel together to making an entertaining comic book movie.

Tobey Maguire does well in dual roles of Peter Parker/Spider-Man showcasing the inner turmoil of Peter Parker & by humanizing Peter we as the audience can actually sympathize with this films main character.

Kristen Dunst is a,little sidelined in this sequel although Dunst still gives an excellent performance as Mary Jane who shows her conflicting emotions of should she love Peter who's constantly never there for her & tell him she knows he's Spider-Man or settle for a man who she doesn't truly love but is always there for her.

Jmes Franco play's Harry Osborn as a slightly darker character in the sequel than the previous movie fuelling his hatred & obsession of wanting to kill Spider-Man who he blames for the death of his father.

Alfred Molina is a great choice for the main villain Doctor Octopus & makes the character three dimensional as he starts the film by being a good husband & scientist who by a simple twist of fate during a scientific experiment has everything he loves taken away from him causing the character to be consumed by grief & anger who then becomes a dangerous advisory for Spider-Man to battle against.

Sam Raimi delivers some wonderful action set pieces the battle with Spidey & Doc Ock on top of the moving Train in particular is one of the movies standout scenes yet Raimi allows enough space inbetween the action to allow the characters to tell there story.

This superb sequel is an action spectacular that tells a great story with heart & for me it is the best of the Spider-Man movies to date to have been made.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Sequels Ever..., 30 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 (2004) [DVD] (DVD)
...And still one of the best comic adaptations of all time.
Sam Raimi went all out for 2004s Spiderman 2 giving us a memorable villain, improved dialogue, action scenes yet to be topped(The train scene....Wow) and expert direction.
Very few sequels are this good, and even to this day Spiderman 2 is one of the finest Marvel movies ever.
Raimi is so much more confident and improves upon the first in almost every way, without ever pushing things too far, and using CGI much better this time round - to improve the film, never distract you from the film. A more than worthy sequel and the one to raise the bar for the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Go get 'em, tiger.", 8 May 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Sam Raimi's sequel doesn't need to bother with introductions, the initial film set everything up nicely and now we can simply watch Peter Parker two years afters the events from the first film...

It's hard trying to make ends meet when you're a superhero, your alter-ego maybe be revered by many but your actual identity is viewed with less prestige and trying to maintain a decent work/life balance is near impossible when there always seems to be people in peril. It's easy to find yourself shattered from late night rescues and academic studies are a definite challenge. But perhaps worse of all, you know that those whom you love could be in danger and you feel you have to distance yourself from them. It's such moments which give Spiderman 2 a level of intensity which brings home the extent of his personal sacrifices, his heartbreaking rebutals towards long-time sweetheart Mary Jane aren't cold turn downs, they are an incredibly painful surrender of his own happiness.

The pressure of a dual life starts to rake it's toll and Spiderman suffers a power dysfunction, it's nothing to be embarrassed about - it happens to all superheroes at some point. It's an inconvenient time to have problems with powers however, physics genius Doctor Octavius' experiment has gone horribly wrong and his mechanical arms have a mind of their own. His incredible mind isn't in full control of itself and any attempt to re-run the experiment could destroy the city, New York needs a superhero but Peter Parker has some difficult decisions to make and some unpleasant realities to face.

In the first Spiderman film the visual effects were incredibly ambitious but the end result sometimes looked too fake, but in Spiderman 2 the CGI is much more convincing which allows you to become more absorbed in the action rather than simply seeing it as a special effect. Raimi clearly has the right vision when it comes to action and we get to see Spiderman's graceful mid-air acrobatics from all angles. This isn't all about retina-bleeding action scenes though and the 'will-they-won't-they?' relationship between Peter and Mary Jane is compelling and as angst-ridden as any you'd find in a decent teenage drama. We get a feel of what real life feels like for a superhero, from seeing his spider-suit hanging next to his regular clothes in the wardrobe, to seeing his frustration when the colours run in the washing machine - the film isn't without humour!

A superhero is defined by the baddies he defeats, "Doc Ock" is a worthy adversary and not because he's the epitome of evil, but because he's actually quite likable. He's not a manic fanatic, he's very much a victim himself and you appreciate that he isn't entirely aware of is action. To simply destroy "Doc Ock" wouldn't have been right and instead he is dealt with in a dignified fashion.

Some of the dialogue in Spiderman 2 is on the cheesy side and there are some definitely corny moments, but the film grounds itself with 2 great characters in Peter Parker and Octavius. Both Tobey Maguire and Alfred Molino's give their roles a depth you really believe in, which is more than can be said for James Franco who only seems to have two facial expressions in this film.

The Blu-Ray transfer here is impressive (as with the first film). There are a couple of scenes with very obvious graining but that is no doubt due to the source video. The colours and level of detail will show your fancy TV at its best and the clarity of the action scenes adds to their breathtaking nature. This disk contains two different versions of the film (the extended version is called Spiderman 2.1), this longer version adds just under ten minutes - the extra material adds a bit more humour to the film without being ridiculous. There aren't any extras on this disk, which is disappointing - this is the sort of film where you expect at least one behind-the-scenes documentary.

In a nutshell: This is one of the best comic-film translations, it still panders to Hollywood expectations by including a bit of synthetic sentimentality - but it skilfully combines frenetic action with deep soul-searching to deliver a well crafted and rounded film. Spiderman 2 isn't scared to develop the characters, it invests time in them and it ultimately pays off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent superhero sequel, 20 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
In one of the best superhero sequels ever made, Tobey McGuire reprises his role as Peter Parker who is struggling with life's challenges, money, love and living and what's more he is losing his powers. And with more crime arising, Parker faces difficult choices concerning his personal life.

Breaking the opening weekend Box Office record, the Spider-man franchise grew wider and this 2004 sequel has been described as one of the best superhero sequels ever made, and I couldn't agree more.

With a much better opening to the first film, we are thrust straight into Parker's life as he tries to balance his job, his money and his university classes. Having many issues gives the film depth and is intriguing to watch each situation develop.

This film is similar to the first, with a focus upon dramatic issues such as his love for Mary Jane and the loss of his Uncle Ben. There is a slight feeling of repetition but in context it is understandable and gives the characters more emotion and understanding.

There is more action in this sequel, watch out for one of the best fantasy fight scenes in motion picture history, which so happens to be on a train. Excellent direction and nail biting close scenarios. There is always a question of realism but nevertheless that situation was simply outstanding.

The effects are great, as you would expect and much better than the first. I'm personally not a big fan of CGI but regardless this was special and was made so by Raimi's direction.

There are plenty of twists and turns in store and with the added action and more deep situations it makes the plot even more special.

Though the love scenes are questionable they aren't as corny as the previous films and are enjoyable to watch. The green Goblin was a much better villain than Dr Octopus and J.K Simmons is brilliant as the newspaper boss and overall, Spiderman 2 is my favourite superhero film of all time.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great box set for any fan., 5 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. S. Brunskill (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i'm a huge fan of the spiderman movies and can't wait until spiderman 3 comes out in the spring, this dvd box is great, it hold the special two disc edition dvd, with a reprint of the july 1967 spiderman comic edition 50 called "spiderman no more" reading this comic it's clear to see there is some outlines of the film taken from this comic along with editions 53-55.
the gift set also has a concept to screen portfolio and a comic book artists portfolio which the artworks are amazing!
as well as 6 marvel/columbia pictures artwork postcards from the poster designs of the film, these are great framed!
the film is great and better than the first.
this is a collector dvd gift set and anyone who likes the film will love this very neat black box set, it looks good and if your getting this as a gift it better.[...]

a must for any fan!!! enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2009]
Spider-Man 2 [DVD] [2009] by Sam Raimi (DVD - 2009)
2.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews