Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and action packed
I like this Action/War film. I like the action scenes and story. Starring the charismatic Peter Hooten and Fred Williamson. I think those plays their roles nicely. Surprisingly not so violent, for a Italian Action film. I was suprised by how little squibs the used. I guess they wanted to save the small precious money they had and decided to use it only when necessary. I...
Published on 18 April 2012 by LoBo

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "It's absurd! Why do we keep on wiz this hopeless war?" "Bet you didn't talk like that when you invaded Poland."
Thanks to the odd impressive matte shot and a skilful marshalling of its limited resources, Enzo Castellari's Inglorious Bastards doesn't look cheap even if the same extras keep on getting killed in every action scene, but despite Quentin Tarantino's slavish devotion it's more Garrison's Guerrillas than the Dirty Half-Dozen. Castellari's heroes are a standard issue group...
Published on 28 Nov. 2008 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "It's absurd! Why do we keep on wiz this hopeless war?" "Bet you didn't talk like that when you invaded Poland.", 28 Nov. 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Thanks to the odd impressive matte shot and a skilful marshalling of its limited resources, Enzo Castellari's Inglorious Bastards doesn't look cheap even if the same extras keep on getting killed in every action scene, but despite Quentin Tarantino's slavish devotion it's more Garrison's Guerrillas than the Dirty Half-Dozen. Castellari's heroes are a standard issue group of American military prisoners: black marketer (Michael Pergolani), would-be mobster (Peter Hooten), coward (Jackie Basehart), proud black man who got tired of taking s*** (Fred Williamson), mildly sympathetic disillusioned German deserter to avoid offending the lucrative German market (Raimund Harmstorf) and the obligatory cocky but heroic one who got busted for using his fighter plane as a taxi for dates across the English Channel in his downtime (Bo Svenson). Naturally their plan to make a break for the border when they're waylaid en route to the stockade by some Nazi planes naturally ends up with them embarking on a mission vital to the success of the war (admittedly only after inadvertently killing some of their own side), but then this is a film that exists purely to do only what's expected of it rather than offer any unwelcome surprise. Sure, there's the odd spin on some of the old favorites, but there aren't nearly enough naked women with machine guns to truly lift it above the formulaic.

Dialogue isn't exactly sparkling - "All Americans are mongrels... and your women are whores!" - and half the cast are dubbed anyway (Ian Bannen's Scottish tones are replaced by an American actor and Hooten by what sounds like John Dall), but the film does its job even if it's more supporting feature than main event. Castellari is the best kind of hack, one with a good eye for framing and who knows how to shoot action (although the sight of one German soldier being lifted up, Peter Pan-style, on a visible wire in an explosion is worthy of one of the sight gags in Top Secret! It's a minor film and one it's best not to expect too much from, but there a lot worse exploitation films out there.

Unlie the extras-free UK DVD, the three disc US Region 1 NTSC DVD comes with a decent array of extras, including Easter Egg alternate title sequences for a couple of the film's many video reissues as Deadly Mission and G.I. Bro (it's also known as Counterfeit Commandos, Hell's Heroes and Commando Bastards) a cheap-and-cheerful hour long making of, brief then and-now tour of the locations with Castellari and a CD (not included on the 2-disc set) of what little remains of the score - the composer recorded his son's school play over most of the masters! By far the most curious of the extras is an interview with Quentin Tarantino and Castellari, with the chin treating it as part confessional, part therapy, unburdening himself on the engaging director as if an unworthy disciple at the feet of a true master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and action packed, 18 April 2012
By 
LoBo (Bodø, Norway) - See all my reviews
I like this Action/War film. I like the action scenes and story. Starring the charismatic Peter Hooten and Fred Williamson. I think those plays their roles nicely. Surprisingly not so violent, for a Italian Action film. I was suprised by how little squibs the used. I guess they wanted to save the small precious money they had and decided to use it only when necessary. I like this kind of film. I will for sure watch it many times.

Picture quality: 4/5

I find the actual picture quality pretty good for thi low budget film. In my opinion, there was a bit too much DNR used in this film. The contrast looks a bit boosted compared to the DVD. Not the best quality i have ever watched, but could have looked better with no DNR.

Audio quality: 4/5

Yes, the English dub in LPCM 2.0 dual Mono had surprisingly good quality. Yes, gunshot effects doesn`t have any bass at all, but at least it did sound reasonable clear and loud. I remember the music also sounded nice. The American Blu-ray only have DD: 5.1 and DD: 2.0. So, this is the best edition on Blu-ray market. It`s the best it has sounded and looked on home video, that`s for sure.

Film: 4/5
Overall: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action!! Action!!, Action!!, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. P. Bush - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the greatest war films of the seventies. Ok it owes one hell of a lot to Robert Aldrich's "The Dirty Dozen" but for sheer outrageous shoot outs, stunts and all out action this beats any other seventies war film into a cocked hat. The story is your typical war time yarn. A bunch of super tough soldiers who have been arrested for various crimes, escape only to find themselves caught up in a mission to attack a german train.
Bo Svenson (looking super cool) leads the men, with blaxploitation god Fred Williamson as his second in command. The transfer on offer here ain't the best but it is quite good, also extras are thin on the ground. But buy this just for the sheer scope and bravado of the production. If you love war films it's a must see. There is also a rumour going round that Tarantino loves this films and might even remake it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70s Spaghetti Western styled WWII movie, 14 Aug. 2009
By 
P. N. Hussey "pnh77" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inglorious Bastards [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say I did only buy this as I saw it on sale quite cheaply but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a proper low budget shoot 'em up set during World War II, a kind of low rent version of the Dirty Dozen. The plot is a little bit messy but there's plenty of things going on so you never get bored. There is a real sense of fun about this which sets it apart from the current trend of war movies to be very 'war is hell' and I found that quite refreshing. It gets four stars from me because I thoroughly enjoyed it. The extra feature with Tarantino interviewing the director of this is quite fun too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daft but fun., 10 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Inglorious Bastards [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this recently-what a hoot, truly a spaghetti war film. Absolutely nowt to do with the QT version apart from the title and the fact that it's set in WW2. No period feel whatsoever and at times it's hilariously bad, with great big plotholes and one of the most unconvincing planes in cinema history. It rattles along at a cracking pace, is never dull and interestingly has an anti war message.Also the character you least expect to survive, does.If you like ridiculous war films that make Kelly's Heroes look like Das Boot then check this out-it's ridiculously cheap to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Dozen(ish) Italian Style, 2 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Inglorious Bastards [DVD] (DVD)
WW2.Five U.S Army personnel(Bo Svenson and Fred Williamson among them)due for the stockade take advantage of a german attack to escape.They survive several skirmishes until they accidentally kill an elite squad posing as german officers whose mission is to hijack a train and remove a vital component from a Nazi rocket.Needless to say they take that squad's place and under the command of Colonel Buckner(Ian Bannen)they attempt to carry out the mission.
Surprisingly enjoyable,time has been kind to this b-movie war picture.Sure the dubbing is obvious but it is not that intrusive,the acting is variable(Williamson gives it that neat 'ploitation selling point and the hammy Svenson is pleasingly dignified as the flyer with an attitude)and the pace fairly rattles along.Castellari allows for little in the way of story lulls and the action sequences are plentiful and very well staged.Okay there are one too many machine gun sprays that kill six nazi's in a line but after a while that becomes a kind of running gag and call me old fashioned but watching actors(and some enterprising stuntmen) falling off fast moving trains and doing other hair raising stuff is a lot of fun.
Hopefully more people will find this forgotten low budgeter in the wake of Tarantino's "remake" and you can be sure of one thing,Catellari's version will be a lot shorter and probably more fun.
Decent print with the only extra a conversation between Castalleri and Tarantino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't get confused as to what you are buying...., 24 Nov. 2013
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inglorious Bastards [DVD] (DVD)
Inglorious Basterds (2009) with Brad Pitt et all this ain't, but what it is stands up to scrutiny as an enjoyable and well paced war film.
This film, from 1978, directed by not Tarantino but Enzo Castellari, features some more obscure actors, both American and European.
A group of soldiers are on route to courtmartial when an air attack gives them their freedom.
They then find themselves tasked with some "behind the enemy lines" tasking to capture some Nazi hardware while on route to Switzerland.
It is as I say a good film and doesn't disappoint in any way.
But to reiterate, no comparison with Tarantino's film can be made.
You also get a pretty convoluted extra of a chat between Tarantino and Castellari. I got bored after 30 minutes and went to bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I bought the wrong dvd - a mistake I ended up NOT regretting! *THIS IS NOT THE MODERN FILM BY TARANTINO*, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inglorious Bastards [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this believing it was the modern adaptation by Tarantino. I was severely wrong. Furthering my delusion was the advert for an interview with Tarantino on the front of the dvd case! I had no idea there was an original of Inglorious Bastards! It only actually hit me when I started watching it. I was not too impressed with myself - a lesson was learnt not to impulse buy just because its pay day! However, I persevered and ended up really enjoying this cheesy old school army movie. I have kept it and intend to watch it many more times! The banter between the members for the gang and the general retro nature of the action scenes really made me smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall Review, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inglorious Bastards [DVD] (DVD)
Overall i was happy with the film, there was a knick on the front of the case which wasnt mentioned but its so small i dont really mind....afterall its just a dvd case. would recommend the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant dvd/cd, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
B. Rigg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this really is what dvd is about great quality dvd of the film same for extras dvd plus cd of soundtrack great package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inglorious Bastards [DVD]
Inglorious Bastards [DVD] by Enzo G Castellari (DVD - 2009)
£2.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews