Customer Reviews


23 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave it in the player, 3 Mar. 2006
By 
Bluesdriver (Solihull, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Had To Cry Today (Audio CD)
From the opening salvo of "Never Make Your Move Too Soon", Joe Bonamassa leaves you in no doubt what to expect from this album: race-tuned blues of the sort people used to play when "guitar hero" was a compliment rather than a put-down. Once again he leans heavily on the souped-up Marshall-type sounds of the seventies, but only in a good way. There are some classics in the making here: his re-working of "Reconsider Baby" into a minor key is a triumph, opening it up and creating a Stairway to Heaven vibe; "Revenge of the 10-Gallon Hat" (a tribute to the late Danny Gatton) is a jaw-dropping display of country-style picking at an almost impossible speed; the title track, written by Steve Winwood and originally recorded by Blind Faith, begins with the wonderfully sinuous riff and then builds layers of harmonic crunch until the two wailing solos leave you no alternative but to press the "repeat" button. For my money, the two slower tracks on offer, "Around the Bend" and "When She Dances", are, although listenable, less successful because they incline towards the sentimental, but elsewhere the beat goes on and whether it's his nifty line in slide guitar ("Travellin' South"), his furious acoustic picking ("Faux Mantini") or his screaming blues (everything else) you'll be hooked. Buy the album and spread the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe`s best yet, 26 Nov. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Had to Cry Today (Audio CD)
If you like your Blues/Rock to be more Rock than blues, then this is the one for you. Joe claims he wanted to explore the heavier side of the blues with this CD and he has certainly lived up to this. There are no traditionally played blues songs on here, and better still, few ballads. There is however some of the best heavy electric blues you`re ever likely to hear. Take your pick from Reconsider baby, Never Make Your Move Too Soon, The River ( which appears to be a *cough* homage to When The Levee Breaks, but such a good one you`ll have to forgive him), or the knuckle-busting Travellin` South. For variety there`s the equally knuckle-busting, but almost classical sounding Faux Martini, a country knees-up, Revenge Of The Ten Gallon Hat and a couple of slowies.
Look, this is just a great album, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic blues rock, 16 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Had to Cry Today (Audio CD)
If you like proper blues rock, you need this album! Brilliant guitar playing, great versions of classics like "Travellin' South" and "Reconsider Baby" and homages to Danny Gatton ("Revenge of the 10 Gallon Hat") and Led Zeppelin ("The River") are amongst the many highlights here.In fact,the whole album ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for original blues lovers like me, 21 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Had To Cry Today (Audio CD)
I wish I could rave about this album but I feel the need to hang back for a moment. A slightly southern (lots of slide) side of Joe, which takes some getting used to but is very good. Reconsider Baby, Had To Cry Today and The River are the main highlights of this album for me but saying that none of the songs are duds. I am fairly new to Bonamassa and despite this album being 10 years old, it doesn't feel at all dated. Not as good as Sloe Gin or Ballad of John Henry as an entity but still fantastic none the less; highly recommended. I think the only thing that brings this album down to 4/5 not 5/5 is his vocals. You can tell how far he's come after listening to his most recent records. It's as if the guitar work is the focal point of this album, which isn't a bad thing, but it means that the quality of his vocals suffer slightly. Despite that it's still a thoroughly enjoyable project of music and I can't help listening to it at least once a day at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bonamassa on form?, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Had To Cry Today (Audio CD)
I bought Joe Bonamassa's DVD of his Royal Albert Hall concert.
Very good.
However, although some think his singing voice is "very good" I personally rate it as "average". Yes, his guitar playing prowess is exceptional.
This is the first CD of his I have bought.
Same misgivings really. Some stand out tracks (track 4, Reconsider Baby being one such), some average, mainly due to his vocal style.
I have ordered his album set with Beth Hart as vocalist. It may change my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He does it again, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Had To Cry Today (Audio CD)
the master of riff continues to be addictive listening. He makes any budding guitarist want to pick up a guitar and learn how to play his often deceptively simple tunes. (that is without the supreme lead breaks which appear)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Had to cry today Joe Bonamassa, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Had To Cry Today (Audio CD)
Joe Bonamassa has become my all time favorite. Every time he picks up his guitar and sings, I want to here more. I haven't found a cd of his that I haven't loved yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Had To Cry Today (Audio CD)
I bought this for my husband, an avid Joe Bonamassa follower. He loved this CD but of course with music it is all a matter of taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Had To Cry Today (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant and cannot stop playing. Looking forward to seeing him live and feel sure it will live up to all expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome blues, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Gilles Casse "giz" (wimbledon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Had To Cry Today (Audio CD)
if you like the blues buy this album.Its a mixture of hard rock slow blues,emotional blues and fantastic guitar work.Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Had to Cry Today
Had to Cry Today by Joe Bonamassa
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews