Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are no words great enough
Two words:

SPINAL TAP

If you don't know what those words mean then where have you been for the last 40 years???? They have been total legends since they were named The Themesmen in the late 60s, just they may have lurked in the shadows for the majority of the time, but still are about as legendary as you can get!
SPINAL TAP have played an...
Published on 2 July 2009 by Mr. S. COURT

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars same old same old...
I consider myself a real fan of Spinal Tap: i got the VHS tapes, the cds, the Criterion DVD, etc... so naturally i pre-ordered when i heard the guy's had a new cd. But "Back from the dead" is disappointing: only 2 new songs really, the other tunes are re-recorded classics and some studio jams. The bonus DVD is 1 hour of the guy's talking about the songs, unrehearsed and...
Published on 17 July 2009 by mark the shark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars same old same old..., 17 July 2009
By 
I consider myself a real fan of Spinal Tap: i got the VHS tapes, the cds, the Criterion DVD, etc... so naturally i pre-ordered when i heard the guy's had a new cd. But "Back from the dead" is disappointing: only 2 new songs really, the other tunes are re-recorded classics and some studio jams. The bonus DVD is 1 hour of the guy's talking about the songs, unrehearsed and thus only sporadically funny. To make matters worse they're on an acoustic tour at the moment (???)
If you saw the band rock out on Conan O'Brien a few days ago and you want to hear more then i suggest you buy the amazing None more black album aka This is Spinal Tap and also the most excellent "Break like the wind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, shame about the packaging, 9 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll keep this er, 'Short & Sweet' and say that I have loved Tap since 1985 and think this CD is up there with the best of them. It loses a star though because of the awful CD packaging - what were they thinking? They have even released an instructional video clip of how to put the sleeve together, which leads to me think that some problems have been encountered by previous purchasers already. Oh how I wish I'd only waited for the standard CD of this to be released.

Never mind, as I said its the music that really counts and this is excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are no words great enough, 2 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. COURT (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two words:

SPINAL TAP

If you don't know what those words mean then where have you been for the last 40 years???? They have been total legends since they were named The Themesmen in the late 60s, just they may have lurked in the shadows for the majority of the time, but still are about as legendary as you can get!
SPINAL TAP have played an influence on all music since they began, and also influenced the bands which formed before them!

SPINAL TAP are the definition Heavy Rock.

This album include great re-recordings of some of their well known classics, plus a handful of new songs. It's totally all 100% pure Heavy Rock, all Rock, nothing but Hard Heavy Rock.......with some adventurous ventures into Jazz, Funk, Reggae and Celtic A Cappella!

If you like music of any form at all, you owe everything to SPINAL TAP. So pay them back just a little and BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!!

SPINAL TAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should've stayed dead!, 24 July 2009
By 
D. R. Reid (Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a Tap fanatic, I had to buy this CD but was left wondering what the point of it was since it's mostly reworkings of old material. Still, it was worth it to hear 'Jazz Oddysey' at last but will 'It's A Smalls World' ever see the light of day?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Spinal Tap I've Ever Owned!, 8 Jan 2010
From someone who claims to have been a rocker since the 80's, I'm ashamed to say I never really knew much Spinal Tap until watching Glastonbury - so, hubby bought me this and I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys Are Back, 12 Oct 2009
By 
For those of us who saw them at Wembley Spinal Tap's "Back From The Dead" CD will bring back treasured memories, such as the inflatable Stonehenge collapsing on one of the dwarves or the ladies in the audience that joined the boys on stage for a very special rendition of "Big Bottom".
For those of you who weren't there, this is the next best thing....make up the stage, turn the volume up.... this one goes up to 11 (that's one louder, right?) if it's too loud....you're too old!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh re-workings and some new stuff too!, 12 July 2009
By 
BlueCrayon (Bath, Avon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Glad I purchased this. The re-recorded versions of old favourites feel really fresh and lively, and the new additions are mostly good stuff. Good to have Warmer Than Hell on here which was written for their Live8 performance.
The DVD is excellent stuff, with David, Derek and Nigel talking us through each track on the album. They are on top bantering form, so for die-hard fans this is comedy gold. Newcomers may find the mostly static nature of their discussion a little boring, but hardcore fans will find loads of new hilarity in there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never Mind The Big Bottoms, Smell The Glove!, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The big question is... why bother? I can't recall any great demand or desire for a new Spinal Tap album, and there isn't any artistic reason for it. Every band, it seems has the whole reunion moment - including those that happen for no reason at all, apart from possibly boredom or ego or money. That said, with one member of Spinal Tap coining in $400,000 per episode of The Simpsons (400 episodes and counting), he must be fairly well off.

So... er, why? It's by no means a bad record, but it isn't very good. There are re-recordings of quarter-century old songs, last heard in faux-live form on the original, classic debut. These established songs are given fairly pedestrian funk and reggae tinges. "Funky Sex Farm" sounds like a 2000-era Prince out-take : servicable, possessed of great groove, but not necessarily designed to be listened to more than once. By the same token, the new recordings of the old classics are mostly redundant - a new guitar lick or drum roll here or there - but ultimately, if you know the original stuff, you've heard this all before.

There's a couple of 'new' songs : the ancient free-download of "Back From The Dead" and the ho-hum "Warmer than Hell". The legendary "Jazz Odyessy" is here : and it's dull. And where's "Saucy Jack"? That's a brilliant song.

Anyway, there's no reason for this record apart to shove out some more Spinal Tap pap for you to buy. It's pretty good, but it's not really essential listening - and a pointless record is a sin against every struggling artists there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tap have still got it!, 2 Aug 2009
By 
R Lough (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent release from Spinal Tap. The album is a collection of new songs and re-recordings of classics such as Hell Hole and Tonight I'm Gonna Rock You Tonight. The re-recordings offer a fresh take on the old hits and the new songs are great too.
The album also comes with a DVD featuring the band talking about each song individually and as usual they are absolutely hilarious.
Overall, a truly great release from Spinal Tap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hey its still spinal tap!, 21 Jun 2009
Back from the Dead's songs have been already been made available to be heard before its offcial release so having checked most of the songs out all i can say at first i questioned the re-mixes of their classic tracks from their semi-classic debut album in Sex Farm, Big Bottom, America, Flower People (twice), Cups and Cakes rather than em being re-made for the album to go flying off the shelves to cash in on their 80's cult fame they stand the test of times well (again in 21st century form) and will endure more rib tickling moments whilst Heavy Duty which features Steve Vai and Phil Collen lives up to its title with its blusey moments, and Back from The Dead is a superb song that would have come straight from Alice Cooper's Billion Dollar Babies.

Also you will need a patient ear and nerves of steel to withstand the 3 Jazz Oydessy songs which range from lounge to yes Jazz which may not appeal to Tap fans whilst the live earth song of Warmer Than Hell is downright daft and good in equal measure which shows why tap never take themselves to seriously like their more famous counterparts.

As for bonus contents i reckon the pop up artwork of the band predicted as super heroes standing on a stage (stonehenge style) minus yes the drummer will be better than the DVD which is basically the members running thru each song depending on how your attention levels cope.

Otherwise a welcome return from Tap but don't count on em releasing another album since its been like another 16 years since they made Break like the wind and if its goin to be another 16 years for the other one since they will either be singing with their zimmer frames or pushing up daisies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back From the Dead
Back From the Dead by Spinal Tap
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews