Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On top of his game
Rhod Gilbert has matured in the last couple of years to become one of the most uniquely funny comedians on the stand-up circuit.

This DVD is the result and shows him at the very top of his game. He's totally at ease on the stage and with his audience. During the show, he switches from observational rants to flights of pure fantasy with a relaxed ease that comes...
Published on 15 Nov 2009 by H. M. James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmm
not as funny as I hoped, but okay. Some good material including stuff I'd seen on tv, but also some fairly average. Down to personal taste
Published 13 months ago by Alan Green


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On top of his game, 15 Nov 2009
By 
H. M. James (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Rhod Gilbert has matured in the last couple of years to become one of the most uniquely funny comedians on the stand-up circuit.

This DVD is the result and shows him at the very top of his game. He's totally at ease on the stage and with his audience. During the show, he switches from observational rants to flights of pure fantasy with a relaxed ease that comes from a very well crafted basic story, highlighted by his ramblings into the realms of the ridiculous.

The material is all fresh, and the residents of his home town of Llanbobl must be so proud that by the end of the show, he has quite literally put the town on the map.

If you liked Rhod Gilbert before - you'll love him even more after seeing this.

(and don't worry ... the luggage story IS on the extras)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 11 Mar 2010
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I got this DVD for Xmas as a prelude to seeing Rhod on tour this year. That is not until November and I really cannot wait - The Award Winning Mince Pie is a fabulous anecdotal tale that allows Rhod to demonstrate an impassioned delivery about the absurdity of everyday life through a frustrated and angst ridden lens. The backdrop is a simple motorway journey that allows Rhod to spout off about everything from Robin Hood Airport, where the journey begins to the principal Service Station encounter where you can rate the toilet experience and buy incredible things like candles with the power of a million candles and of course mince pies on offer that have won an award!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the cure to my rainy day blues, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Charl H "Charl" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I bought this DVD on the day it was released because after watching Rhod Gilbert on the Royal Variety 2008 I was hungry for more of his sheer genius comedy! I was nor dissapointed. I put it on just because I was cooped up in the house on a rainy Tuesday afternoon, essay writing done and with a cup of coffee in hand I relished the next hour and a half. By the end I was decidedly in love with Rhod Gilbert and would quite happily share my million tog devet with him...so long as he brings his torch! The ending of the DVD, which I don't want to give away, is THE BEST comedy ending ever. Rhod is definately the best comedian of the nougties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the DVD!!, 20 Jun 2009
By 
L. Hamer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was in the audience of the DVD recording and it was awesome, he really is on top form at the moment, definately worth getting. He even filmed the extras there and then with some classics.
He is a naturally funny Llanbobblian :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhod- what a legend, 1 May 2010
By 
K. Hayes (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a fantastic dvd, Rhod is a very funny man. Although a little slow to start, this dvd had me in absolute stitches. Pure comedy genius!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rhod gilbert and the award winning mince pie, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Luke Thrower (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Rhod gilbert is a up and coming welsh comedian and this is his first stand up DVD release. filmed in 2009 at the bloomsbury theater , rhod and his award winning mince pie tell the story of his breakdown at knutsworth services and how he came to be in that state. although that sounds quite depressing for a stand up show , his anger, passion and his welsh accent make it very enjoyable.

===Rhod===
As i said he is a welsh comedian who has appeared on the royal variety show,mock the week,live at the appolo and comedy roadshow. Rhod has a act which is fast paced and you really do need to pay attention to keep up with the story links and jokes, there are sections when he does talk very fast in the heat of the moment and this is hilarious.

===Jokes===
Rhods stand up is quite strange, i feel he's one of those comedians you need to be in the mood to watch otherwise it doesnt have a true effect. The jokes arent laugh out loud funny (to me anyway) but they make you chuckle as he goes along aggreing with all his observations he makes. His jokes are realistic and based on his observations around the time leading up to knutsworth services, notable joke sections are the taliban phoning his mum, tog rating system , light of a million candles and the feedback at service stations. Noticing the 15 rating i should mention his jokes arent dirty, the rating is down to swears , this is down to the welsh accent and the act he puts up.

===DVD===
The dvd features a spinning waiters plate with a mince pie on top, the 4 options turn around this every few seconds so you have to be quick. The 4 sections are play,scenes,extras and support(subtitles and such).
The extras are his famous luggage section where he talks about how at the airport he found only his luggage handle and the following attempts to talk to customer services.
Back to llanbobl , this is a trip around a town he made up when he was a child.
And outtakes , this features a section before the show where he talks to the audience before the show, the hecklers during and the crowd after.
The subtitles come in english only and the show runs for about an hour and a half.

===Overall===
overall he is a very funny comedian but might not be to everyones taste, dont take this review as your opinion go and check out some of his stuff on youtube and see wether you like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Welsh man alive!!!, 14 Jun 2010
By 
Ms. K. Crawford (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Rhod Gilbert is just so funny, bought this for my boyfriend and ended up in tears of laughter when we watched it togther.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite comedian, 30 April 2010
By 
P. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I haven't laughed so much in ages! It was so much better than I was expecting and I wanted to watch it again immediately. I'd only seen Rhod on his work experience programme and in short slots on Live at the Apollo and Mock the Week etc., but now I can't wait to see him live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 23 April 2010
By 
J. Cross (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this DVD. I bought it as a Christmas present for my father, and having finally got round to watching it a couple of nights ago, was definitely not disappointed. I was laughing out loud for pretty much the entire performance, and the angry Welsh accent just adds to the humour. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasticio, 12 Mar 2010
By 
S. Trevor (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Well recommended to anyone whom finds the welsh ranting hilarious and he is pretty cute me thinks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb28fbd2c)

This product

Rhod Gilbert And The Award-Winning Mince Pie - Live [DVD] [2009]
6.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews