Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes...yes...YES!!!!
Wonderful! Beautiful! This is what Orbital are all about!
This is music that draws you right in. Where some of Orbital's later work makes you sit back and ponder it critically ("Hmm, it's quite good, but..."), this album just grabs hold of you!
Many of the tunes merge into each other, creating an ongoing tapestry of sound. It always feels totally organic,...
Published on 11 Jun 2003 by Koala

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
the original party boys
Published 4 months ago by kevin pledge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes...yes...YES!!!!, 11 Jun 2003
By 
Koala (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
Wonderful! Beautiful! This is what Orbital are all about!
This is music that draws you right in. Where some of Orbital's later work makes you sit back and ponder it critically ("Hmm, it's quite good, but..."), this album just grabs hold of you!
Many of the tunes merge into each other, creating an ongoing tapestry of sound. It always feels totally organic, never self-conscious or calculated, and powerful yet soothing at the same time.
Admittedly there are some stupid samples near the start of the album. What were they thinking? : ( But just try to ignore that. It can be quite easily detached from the rest of the album. Snivilisation is a far better example of the intelligent use of samples.
This album is a treasure! No nonsense, just giving the people what they want! Great beats, great melodies, it's all good!
For anyone who's heard The Altogether but hasn't heard this yet, listen to this and you'll understand why the Altogether met such a lukewarm reception!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the two great Orbital albums, 2 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
Orbital produced two great albums when they started their career, and although it has been up and down since then, this seems to be the album that everyone knows best.
Also known as 'The Brown Album', it continues where 'Orbital' left off, but the direction is probably a little more towards conventional techno, albeit with a much wider range of influence behind it. The rhythms aren't too conventional here, and it was the start of the break from pure dance music and a nod in the direction of experimental music.
'Lush 3-1' and 'Lush 3-2' are the standout tracks for me, but when you listen to this album, you don't really think about separate tracks too much, as the CD needs to be appreciated as a whole rather than concentrating on any of it's constituent tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really needs 5 stars, 1 April 2007
By 
Stephen Degnan (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
Been having a look through the amazon reviews of my fav and not so fav albums. Orbital II is definitely up in my top 20 ... and possibly top 10 when the mood takes. I'm doing this review both to throw in my tuppence, but also to get the overall rating pushing more towards the deserved result of 5/5. I ended up leaving listening to Orbital after "middle of nowhere". For me, the Brown Album marks the pinnacle of their career. It's cohesive and consistent. Genuinely ground breaking - both in how it pushed the dance/techno scene and demonstrating a maturity in the genre that could span an entire album and bring in new listeners. I can't emphasise enough - there is not one dud track on this album. It's 16 years old (eek!) and it just hasn't aged! If you don't own it BUY IT! NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply, the best., 4 May 2011
By 
Eoghan88 (Crowthorne, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
This album took me by surprise, not only because I hadnt really heard of Orbital before, but because no other album is quite as good as an "album" as this one. That is, one you listen to all the way through every time, not one you "liked this or that track" off. Quite simply put, if I want to listen to some Orbital, I never waste time debating which song to put on, just stick this on and get on with it!

I could go into each song and give individual ratings but to be honest the whole is greater than the sum of its parts, not only as an overall album but the way the tracks subtly blend from one to the next creating differences which aren't massive, but when you listen to say, the second track then skip forward a few, the change is quite large.

In summary then; get this album, whack it on and leave it on. Just listen to it. All the way through. More than once. I just wish there were other albums of similar quality by them, or maybe I haven't looked hard enough yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Techno album going, 25 April 2011
By 
Mr Johann Shepherd (Bradford, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
This album formed the backdrop to my teenage youth and for me is just Techno bliss. Orbital are simply the best, the pioneers of this kind of music, they are the "Beatles" of Techno! "Lush" is perfect, but for me "Remind" has the best build up, analogue waves intertwining you can virtually see this music as well as hear it, best listening through some really good headphones, close your eyes and you can see the sine waves bouncing off each other with lots of attack and release. This is by far the best Orbital album, followed by Snivilisation, Orbital I and Insides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Orbital Orbital, 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
I have never listened to this before even tho it was originally released quite a long time ago.Ive listened to this album a few times now and i'm quite impressed with it. Lovely and ethereal.Im sure it will become one of my frequently listened to CDs :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Orbital CD, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
Varied soundscapes and amazing samples make this a firm favourite of any music lovers CD collection. The stand out track for me would have to be Impact, such a groover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A phenominal dance album, 18 Mar 2001
By 
G. Dowell "gregga17" (amersham, bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
This is easily one of the best dance albums ever to be created. It combines pounding techno drum beats with hugely atmospheric and chilled out samples to create the best dance you'll ever hear. I'm not saying this is better than their other offerings, which are all brilliant, but I wouldn't really classify them as dance, more 'electronica'. There is only 1 bad track, which is 'walk now', so just skip that one. Tracks 3-6 are all mixed into each other, and are just absolutely incredible. There's also the mesmerisingly beautiful 'halcyon' which I think is the best dance song ever made. Basically, this album is fantastic, and you can always find it for cheap, so no-one should be without it, unless they have an absolute hatred of dance music. and even then they should at least borrow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It comes together on the second album for Orbital, 2 Nov 2003
By 
Jay M "jay_mc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
Songs sound better structured than before and have a much more lasting affect on the listener.
'Lush 3-1' is one of the best songs on the album, but for the real highlight listen to 'Halcyon'. This is one of my favourite Orbital tracks. Starting off with a solo sample of Kirsty Hawkshaw, the song builds into one of those memorable songs you will be humming for days.
A great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU WERE RIGHT STAN !!!, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Orbital (Audio CD)
BACK IN 93 I WATCHED GLASTONBURY ON C4 AND ORBITAL CAME ON . UP TIL THAT MOMENT TECHNO HAD NOT INTERESTED ME AT ALL, IN FACT IT WAS ALWAYS DELETED FROM MY JOHN PEEL, RIP ,SHOWS I USED TO RECORD. ANYWAY I LAY THERE THIS NIGHT WITH MY YEAR OLD SON WATCHING ORBITAL DO LUSH AND I DRIFTED . 3 YEARS LATER A FRIEND ,STAN, LENT ME THIS ALBUM AND ALL HE SAID WAS ,"ITS PROB THE BEST TECNO ALBUM SO FAR. HE WAS RIGHT AND LIKE FLOYDS , D S O T M , IF ONE TRACK OFF THIS ALBUM PLAYS THEN I HAVE TO LET THE WHOLE THING PLAY TIL END . MY ONLY REGRET IS I DIDNT MANAGE TO SEE ORBITAL DO THIS LIVE . ENJOY .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orbital 2
Orbital 2 by Orbital
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews